We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good and central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budapest City Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budapest City Central
Ranked #100 of 339 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good and central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended. I would definitely stay again. The hotel is well located for the centre and very near the Metro. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Our room was clean and comfortable. I struggle to think of anything negative except there was a bit of noise from the street on the Friday night.

Helpful?
2 Thank BirminghamJollyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    198
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
204
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Highly recommended. Friendly, helpful staff; big, comfortable rooms (cleaned daily) with facilities more akin to a hotel; free wi-fi; free hot drinks; and a complimentary bottle of wine to boot. Well located for the metro and surrounding bars and restaurants. And all for a very competitive price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GibbonArms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've just had a great 4 nights at the hotel. It is very small, only 7 rooms, within a residential apartment block. We had no problem finding the building & getting in, we just couldn't find reception. It turned out we were stood right outside the door - they came to find us! Our room faced into the central atrium of the building so unsurprisingly there were occasional comings & goings during the night, but it was never a real issue. The room had everything we needed, it was basic but certainly clean and comfortable, with enough storage space. The bathroom looked quite new, with a very hot & powerful shower. There was even a complimentary bottle of wine on the table when we arrived, and the free Wi-Fi was also a bonus.

It is definitely a 'budget' hotel so if extra facilities are important then it's not for you, but we would certainly stay here again - the location and value for money are hard to beat. Also, because of the residential aspect, there is an expectation that guests will also keep the noise to a minimum, so maybe not one to pick for a stag/hen do.

There's no breakfast but they do have an arrangement with a café across the street and there's also another nice little coffee shop a couple of doors away, near the Astoria Metro. The location was perfect, turning left out of the front door takes you towards the market, straight on(ish) is right into the heart of the shopping area, right heads towards the Basilica & Parliament, and the Grand Synagogue is right behind the building. Plus you can get the tram right outside, and the Metro is almost as close. Brilliant!

Room Tip: Only 7 to choose from but some face the internal atrium, so there is the normal comings & goings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was perfect!
Lovely, nice, kind staff. They give us a lot of good advice about what to do and where to go. They really care.
Big and comfortable rooms.
Great location. 1 minute walk to Astoria metro. Just behin the synagogue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Helpful?
Thank MaricaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

i spent holiday in Budapest and we stayed in the Budapest City Central simply its amazing hotel clean and has a very good price, breakfast was sooo coool in a very nice cafe close to the hotel, everyone was very warm and helpful, i highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YehiaFarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great Location ! Great People ! We have spent there our Anniversary. Budapest City Central welcomed us with a bottle of wine waiting in our room :) It is a little bit hard to find at the beginning , but it is so close to all main Budepst traveling points it is worth lookin for it ;) ! ! !

Thank You so much for great Budapest experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Przybylski_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is just to add my voice to the reviews by Frank M, JinkyLeeds and Amy H- I loved this place. My room was large, light and airy with a high ceiling, French windows and a balcony. I didn't notice any street noise and I slept as soudly as Rip Van Winkle.
Thanks to Zita and all the staff. Merry Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#79 of 339 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#53 of 339 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#105 of 339 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#52 of 339 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Central Hotel 21
#58 of 339 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest City Central

Property: Budapest City Central
Address: Karoly koerut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#66 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#79 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Central is located directly in the historical center of Budapest, less than a 5 minute walk from famous Vaci street, Andrassy Avenue, the Hungarian National Museum, St. Stephen’s Basilica and the Dohany Synagogue (Europe’s largest). Located in a 19th century historical ironbound building, the space is brand new, having opened in May 2008, and today delivers the height of comfort in classical surroundings.Visitors cannot find a more central location with all major transportation hubs only a few minutes walk away. The accommodation is situated only a 1 minute walk from the Astoria metro station on the M2 Redline. It is also only a 5 minute walk from both the Deák tér and Kálvin tér stations, both on the M3 Blueline.Our rooms combine famous Hungarian hospitality, modern facilities, a central location and affordable prices making it the perfect choice for both tourists and business travelers coming to Budapest.Every room has satellite television, telephone and high speed Internet access and work area. Every room also comes with air conditioning making it comfortable during any season. The ceilings are high and the colors of the rooms are light giving our guests a feeling of space and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. The windows and rooms are also sound proof making the rooms quiet and relaxing.Because of its fantastic location, friendly English speaking staff and amenities, the City Central is the perfect place to stay to experience Budapest’s rich history and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Budapest City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest City Central Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing