We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and great service! It can difficult to find so read the rest of my posting :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budapest City Central
Ranked #104 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is my first stay at a "non-traditional" hotel and it exceeded my expectations. I wasn't expecting a lot out of a budget hotel but this place is really very decent with extremely helpful staff. Don't be put off by this non-conformist hotel's appearance. It's a great bang for your buck considering its location and the service. The hotel rooms are actually made of converted apartments in a 1900s building. That means that you actually have "neighbors" in the building. Because of that, it can be tricky to find this place since there are no huge signs to look out for. We certainly had difficulty finding it. Look for the corner building with the "Ford" signboard (as you can see in the picture above). The gate is on the right hand side if you are standing at the corner (you know that you are if you see the huge synagogue to the left across the street). Walk about 20 feet to the right and you will pass a dress shop/boutique then a small money changing place and then the gate. Do not look for huge signs. There is a plaque of the hotel by the intercom. If you arrive between 7am and 6 pm, the gate should be open. Otherwise it will be locked so you have to press the doorbell marked "Budapest City Central" so that the staff can let you in. You will enter a courtyard and to the left, there is an entrance with 2 small elevators with red doors. Take it to level 1. Take note, level 1 is actually the 3rd level. I believe there are 2 "F" floors then floor 1. Exit to the right of the elevator then enter the hallway to the left and close to the end of the hallway, you will find the reception desk.

The rooms are clean and well kept. There is a row of rooms in the interior facing the hallway and there is another row on the street side. I would have preferred the street side since I come from a big city and traffic noise hardly ever bothers me but we got an interior room. Ultimately, it didn't matter. The hotel was just a place to sleep in. Although we didn't use it, I believe that there also a common kitchen area. There's free wifi, just ask the reception staff for the password. Free breakfast is outside at a cafe (Bocadillo Cafe) halfway down the block on Karoly Korut towards the metro station. Ask for the breakfast voucher at the desk. You will need a new one every morning. We only had it once and it was okay. I'm not used to having baguettes for breakfast but the beverages were decent.

As far as the location, it was within walking distance of everything and the (Metro Astoria station) is half a block away. It is within a 10-minute walk from most places like the Market, Vaci Utca shops, Andrassy Utca, St. Stephen's Basilica, the Danube, etc. 3 bridges are also within walking distance and an easy walk to the hills on the Buda side.

It was a shaky start but ultimately, we loved this hotel for the price that we paid and will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarloDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 467 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

I have been there for 2 days and I love that. Such a great service, team, rooms, location, hospitality...perfect!
Thank a lot for your services!
Regards,
Bruno Marinho

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno_Marinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location. The young staff are very helpful. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable and modern. Always free coffee/tea/water and cookies in the lobby. The rooms are on an inside courtyard, so it is very quiet even though it is on a busy street. Don't be put off by the stairway going up which needs paint and cleaning -- it serves the whole building. The hotel is all refurbished. I'd stay there again any time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Excellent hotel. The staff there are wonderful. Very helpful and willing to help out with assistance and information. All of them spoke English very well making it very easy for us to communicate. It was my first time visiting Europe and I did not know what to expect. I delightfully surprised with the hotel. Great location in the city for sightseeing and using public transportation. The entrance is a little difficult to locate the first time but nothing unmanageable. Do not judge the hotel by the entrance way. it is a little dark and not so appealing as you make your way to the hotel. Once you get to the hotel it is well lit, clean and well taken care of. I would not hesitate to use this hotel again or recommend it to any of my friends, family or associates.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The (young girls) staff are very nice and helpfull, that helped us to explore the beautiful city. As we could not expand our stay in their hotel, they did all the efforts to find a budget hotel in the neighborhood. At the reception we had sweets, hot and cold drink (and smiling faces) for free! The location of the hotel was excellent for me and the room satisfied my needs. We'll recommend the hotel with all our heart!
Minor disadvantageous: The room was a little bit small for double occupancy. No internet station. Several stairs you must climb to reach the elevator (inconvenient for handicapped).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uzitassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed there a few days. Very friendly, helpfull (young) staff. They speak English very well. Clean rooms, with airco (comes in handy when it's 40 degrees outside)! Don't let the outside of the building scare you off because it's a really good price-quality deal. And the location is very 'central' as the name states :-) Greetings from Belgium.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

When I first arrived I almost turned around - it was getting late and the entrance is not at all appealing - flaking paint and crumbling stairs. BUT when you eventually find the hotel (it is on what the British would call the 2nd floor - i.e. up two flights of stairs) all of that will be forgotten.

The hotel is extremely clean and the decoration and fittings very modern. The beds were comfortable and the showers very hot and powerful. More importantly, the staff here are the most friendly I have encountered anywhere - nothing is too much trouble for them and they are always willing to help. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#72 of 335 in Budapest
2,375 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#108 of 335 in Budapest
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#77 of 335 in Budapest
1,885 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 335 in Budapest
3,123 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest City Central

Address: Karoly koerut 3/A | Doorbell: 102, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#79 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $41 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Central is located directly in the historical center of Budapest, less than a 5 minute walk from famous Vaci street, Andrassy Avenue, the Hungarian National Museum, St. Stephen’s Basilica and the Dohany Synagogue (Europe’s largest). Located in a 19th century historical ironbound building, the space is brand new, having opened in May 2008, and today delivers the height of comfort in classical surroundings.Visitors cannot find a more central location with all major transportation hubs only a few minutes walk away. The accommodation is situated only a 1 minute walk from the Astoria metro station on the M2 Redline. It is also only a 5 minute walk from both the Deák tér and Kálvin tér stations, both on the M3 Blueline.Our rooms combine famous Hungarian hospitality, modern facilities, a central location and affordable prices making it the perfect choice for both tourists and business travelers coming to Budapest.Every room has satellite television, telephone and high speed Internet access and work area. Every room also comes with air conditioning making it comfortable during any season. The ceilings are high and the colors of the rooms are light giving our guests a feeling of space and calm which is always good after a long day of sightseeing or work. The windows and rooms are also sound proof making the rooms quiet and relaxing.Because of its fantastic location, friendly English speaking staff and amenities, the City Central is the perfect place to stay to experience Budapest’s rich history and cultural heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Budapest City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest City Central Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing