We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty traditional food with oldschool design”

Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo
Ranked #407 of 3,246 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty traditional food with oldschool design”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Very tasty food, oldschool design (traditional hungarian design from 80's). The service is little bit slow and you can't choose from too mutch food. Recommended if you want to try the traditional hungarian cousine. After your dinner recommended to go the "Music Fountain" at Margit-sziget.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeNtEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    202
    65
    29
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best in Budapest”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is by far the best and most authentic Hungarian restaurant I have ever been to. It is much better food than any of the touristy places. It is also priced for locals which means you can eat like a king here without spending too much. I like it so much I have eaten here more times than most places where I live. Everything I have tried on the menu is great. I especially love the cucumber salad and the beefsteak tartar. Their beers are also reasonably priced and a good selection. You have to trust a place to eat raw beef. The only negative that can be said is that smoking is allowed inside. There are smoking sections, but if someone lights up, you will probably smell it. I know some people are sensitive to that stuff, but you will soon learn that people smoke everywhere in Hungary so it is almost unavoidable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the third time we have visited this restaurant...We come to Sziget so we found this restaurant 3 years ago just by chance.We were lucky this time as we didn't have to wait for an outside table....in previous years we've had to wait.Always busy with both locals and tourists.I think it's worth the wait.....the service can be a little slow sometimes but the food is excellent and plentiful.the staff are friendly and like most restaurants their English is limited but so what my Hungarian is nil!!!! The menu has some english so give it a try!!Definitely worth a visit and you'll be happy with the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine for a cheap meal”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We sought out this traditional Hungarian restaurant favored by locals, but our Western palates were disappointed. The food was on the salty side and heavy and the portions were generous. I ordered a salad that was drowning in a dill cream dressing and topped with a smoked cheese. It was tasty, but heavy. My Hungarian fish soup I could not bear to eat--it smelled like a cross between dishwater and chicken broth and had a giant chunk of brown fish and bones floating on top--not to my taste, but perhaps authentic? My husband had a mixed grill of fish which was reasonably good, but salty. Our son had a bowl of bean and rib soup--smoky and good. The service was not friendly--no one greeted us when we came in so we simply stood and waited for a table to free up. It was very busy on a Friday night with tourists and locals both, so again I want to qualify that it just didn't appeal to us and perhaps others would enjoy it. It was a very good value--less than $30 for 3 people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Finally, really good Hungarian food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by our guide on a walking tour. After suffering through mediocre tourist "Hungarian" food, this was a fantastic find. We took Tram #2, then walked to Pozsonyi Street. You can also access it by metro, but it's about a 15 minute walk. We preferred to wait for a table outside on the terrace as the weather had cooled. We each had a large beer, goulash (the way its supposed to be!), a crepe stuffed with mince meat and a sauce for starters. The large portions told us that we really didn't need the main courses we had ordered!

I had pork with a paprika and sour cream mushroom sauce with noodles (like gnocci). My husband had a beautiful steak with browned mushrooms. Both these dishes did not disappoint and we felt very satisfied. We wanted dessert, but had no room! Our servers were very patient and quite pleasant, but couldn't really offer advice on the dishes as I think their English might have been limited and our Hungarian non-existent.

Definitely worth leaving Vaci Street or other tourist area for some real Hungarian food. Thanks, Emma, for the recommendation!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNtravelbugs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing