We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of interest”

Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo
Ranked #319 of 3,154 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lack of interest”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were looking forward to a meal here, we have an apartment in the area. We entered and no one seemed interested in offering us a table. At the outside tables a table for 6 was taken by two men just having a beer, sitting in the middle seats so no one could sit at the end ( we were three).

Having waited and been ignored three times we went elsewhere. It seems previous comments about service are correct.

We won't bother again - there are plenty of other places to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    196
    62
    22
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An over rated restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were led to this restaurant by a guide book. We ordered three dishes - roast pork bits, chicken salads and fried fish. The roast pork tasted like something just taken out of a freezer. It tasted weird and strange. The fried fish was soggy and the side dish mashed potatoes were raw. Any fish and chips in England would have tasted better. The salad was wet and heavy. The chicken fingers were tasteless (any chicken fingers from KFC were far superior). Yet tourists kept coming into the restaurant probably being led by the same guide book which recommends this restaurant as one of the best in local Hungarian cuisine. Well, we learnt a lesson - don't just trust your book blindly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Waihang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Traditional Food at Great Prices”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a fantastic eatery that we found on a recent trip to Budapest. Food was great, very good value for money. Service was fantastic and the beer good but not a huge amount of choice for draft beer drinkers.
They do not accept cards so go prepared with cash. We had two courses with beers, wines and soft drinks for a group of 8 people. Total bill was around HUF25,000 which works out to about £75 or less than £10 per head.
Portion sizes are large.
Has an outdoor area but we were limited to inside due to torrential rain storm!
Definitely worth going back to when we are next in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good service, some food nice, some aren't”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I eat jokai bableves as a starter and beefstew with galuska as a maincourse. My friend starter was a tarkonyos raguleves, and wiener schnitzel as a maincourse with rice and vegies. My soup was EXCELENT, never ate better before. My beefstew is the opposite, it was fatty and uneatable. My friends soup was ok, but very small portion and weak with sour cream. He's maincourse was excellent. The staff is excellent, well down ladies!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nyarstomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were told about this restaurant by someone who lives in Budapest and as we like places frequented by the locals, we knew we had to try it.
The food was well cooked and the portions were large. The only problem we really had was choosing which dish to eat, as there were so many. We found the waitress to be quite friendly and although the service was very fast on the first night, the 2nd time we visited the restaurant was packed so we did have to wait a little, but it was not a problem at all. The red wine was very cheap and although we had quite a walk from our hotel in the centre, to this restaurant, it was well worth it !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzyWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pozsonyi Kisvendeglo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing