We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but waiters turn bailiffs once the bill arrives”

Dunacorso Restaurant
Ranked #219 of 3,205 Restaurants in Budapest
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Our restaurant is located in the heart of the city centre, on Vigadó Square, looking on Duna-korzó. This wonderful walking path along the Danube on the Pest side has always been a favourite meeting and walking place for people and there has always been a coffe-house or a restaurant on the site of our venue ever since the 1870's. Duna Corso restaurant is run by the same family for more than 40 years. Now it is already the third generation working here, thinking over and recreating traditional recipes. The nostalgic old and the reformed new tastes of Hungarian cuisine combined with our own gastronomic traditions determine the selection on the menu. From early spring till late autumn we welcome our guests on one of the most wonderful, panoramic terraces whereas during winter time we await them with our classic and modern rooms. In the evenings the culinary experience is completed by live music. In 2015 we added a confectionary to our restaurant. We offer freshly made cakes and homemade ice-cream every day.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food but waiters turn bailiffs once the bill arrives”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The food here is great, the view is great, the atmosphere is great.... Then ask for your bill.... You will notice the waiter will stand at your table until you pay. He will remind you that service charge is not included should the tip you decide to pay be less than 15%

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSultanofSuntanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    379
    108
    25
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Worth the beaitiful view of danube. Food is nice but not so good service. Lots of tourists too. Be careful with tips theyre very persuasive

Helpful?
Thank Natashyenka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Dinner with a view”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Walked by Dunacorso one night after dinner and saw that it was so packed that I decided to try it the following night.

Again, it was packed both with locals and tourists.
Had bouillon soup with dumpling that was nice, my mother had veal stew with dumplings that was lovely though perhaps a little too salty and then the beef sirloin Dunacorso with fois gras that was quite delicious.

Throughout the dinner there was a group playing music that was nice and people started gathering and dancing right in front of the restaurant, it was entertaining.

I did not experience any slow service despite the place being packed but what bothered me is being told THREE times that service was not included in the bill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gmv80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Food but Avoid if You are in a Hurry”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Eight of us dined here recently on a Thursday night which coincidentally is the night they feature a Jazz/Swing group that attracts a large local following. Great fun watching the local aficionados dancing to the music in the adjacent square. The restaurant has huge outdoor seating and wonderful views of the chain bridge and castle hill at night but it gets very very busy.
Our waiter, while efficient and trying hard, just could not keep up with the tables he had to serve. Consequently all evening patrons were visibly trying to flag him down or search him out to order food, more drinks, get the bill etc. Some tables left because it look too long to get served. This is a management issue as there simply were not enough waiters. This would be very annoying if you were under some time constraints as our pre-dinner wine, appetizers, mains, dessert and palinka took almost three hours.
That said, the food was very good. The cabbage roll, chicken paprika, pork knuckle etc were well prepared and tasty. But we too had to flag down the waiter two or three times to get attention so be prepared, especially on the busy nights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food but the waiters were rushed off their feet”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This restaurant has lots of outside seating and much of this overlooks the river. A very pleasant location on a hot summer evening. The menu has a good selection of local dishes and more international fare too. Anything with dumplings is worth a try! The waiters are very polite and helpful but on the night we visited they were simply rushed off their feet. However recommended nevertheless

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Urbanfox93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunacorso Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Dunacorso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing