We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid restaurant with great view”

Dunacorso Restaurant
Ranked #222 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Our restaurant is located in the heart of the city centre, on Vigadó Square, looking on Duna-korzó. This wonderful walking path along the Danube on the Pest side has always been a favourite meeting and walking place for people and there has always been a coffe-house or a restaurant on the site of our venue ever since the 1870's. Duna Corso restaurant is run by the same family for more than 40 years. Now it is already the third generation working here, thinking over and recreating traditional recipes. The nostalgic old and the reformed new tastes of Hungarian cuisine combined with our own gastronomic traditions determine the selection on the menu. From early spring till late autumn we welcome our guests on one of the most wonderful, panoramic terraces whereas during winter time we await them with our classic and modern rooms. In the evenings the culinary experience is completed by live music. In 2015 we added a confectionary to our restaurant. We offer freshly made cakes and homemade ice-cream every day.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Solid restaurant with great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

You are going to pay more for a meal when you sit with such a view of the Danube and so it is very nice when the food and service are solid. We have probably stopped here for a meal or beers every time we have visited and will return.

Delicious stuffed peppers, cold cherry soup and hortobágyi palacsinta.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rowandog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    359
    104
    22
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton
Level Contributor
235 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A great evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Six for dinner, 4 different entrees selected, ALL of them excellent! I had the "Chicken breast grilled with camembert,
with plum sauce and rice" - so delicious!! We arrived early for dinner and chose to sit at a table facing the river. By the time we left, all of the tables were filled. A duo (guitar and vocalist) performed in both English and Hungarian which added to our wonderful evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cleomissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Heart of Hungarian cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have been twice in this restaurant during my stay in Budapest and both times it was excellent up to every detail. If you stay inside the restaurant you can experience fantastic live gypsy music in the early 20th century decor atmosphere, while sitting outside there is beautiful view on Danube river with its amazing bridges and castle on a Pest side. Food highlights included duck liver, paprika chicken and pike-perch, all fully satisfying. Desserts are very good as well. As the place is busy and full, service can be at times little bit slow, but I think this restaurant is a must see for anyone who visits city of Budapest, which is in my opinion is a gem of Europe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went here as it was recommended by the hotel. Food was okay, nothing amazing. Service the typical Hungarian service. Price is moderate but you are paying for the view. Was a bit put off when it came time for the bill. Waited 25 minutes for the head waiter to come by with the credit card machine. Did not know that the tip was not included in the total. He waited there until we produced the tip for the meal. We wanted to give it directly to the guy that service us but he insisted he would give it to him. Hope he got it as I have been told that many times the head waiter keeps most for himself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annmebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went here with a friend on a holiday to Budapest in mid June, the location is perfect if you sit outside as you are literally right next to the Danube, with views of the hills and Parliament and the castle etc. There is live music too. The waiters were fine, one joked with us when we asked to have our photo taken and the rest were professional.

I am not an expert in Hungarian food by any means but the food was good. I has grilled chicken with goose liver and noodle dumplings which was great, especially the goose liver. This was also one of the few restaurants that served cold cherry soup that out tour guide recommended! The food is also quite cheap, wine is a bit more expensive but a meal for two (starters, main + two glasses of wine) came to £35.

Would definitely recommend the outdoor dining for the view and the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xinmei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunacorso Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Dunacorso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing