We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in quiet location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buda Castle Fashion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Ranked #27 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really large, spacious rooms in quiet street on the Buda side . Hotel was modern clean and tidy . Breakfast was good but nothing exceptional. Staff polite. However felt there was a need for more information in the rooms on events / attractions in the area. When we were there , it was a weekend of A night at a museum. Where all the museums stayed open late. We knew nothing of this till after the event which was a shame. Location lovely if you like it quiet. Slightly disappointed that the few bars in this quarter seemed to close very early. Longish walk to Buda side but you can get bus / taxis fairly easy. Would recommend to friends if you are happy, that it is quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement039, General Manager at Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Linda,

thank you for taking the time to share your comment on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at the Buda Castle Fashion Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel.

I am sorry that you did not know about the Museum night. Our reception staff is always prepared with the newest programms in Budapest. I understand that you were disappointed but particularly during high season, there are so many programms on the city, it can be that they did not mention to you the night of the Museums. Please accept my apologies for having been unable to meet you expectations.

We hope that this will not deter you from choosing the Buda Castle Fashion Hotel on your next trip to Hungary and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    217
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
96
483
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tombowcock
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A lovely hotel that lives up to the majority of expectations. The service is excellent with friendly helpful staff. The Hotel is located on the Buda side of the city in the Castle District. It is only a few hundred meteres from the Fishermans Bastion, from which you can get a wonderful view of the city by day or night. During the day it is a very busy, very tourist orientated area, but at night it is quiet and peaceful.
We were a married couple travelling with our teenage son and all staying in the one room. This was not a problem as the room was very large with a seated area with a made up sofa bed and room for two chairs a table, TV etc. Plus a seperate room with the main bed. All in all spacious and clean. The only potential downside was we found the bed slightly too hard, but I appreciate that this is very subjective.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tombowcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement039, General Manager at Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Tombowcock,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tirpadvisor about the Buda Castle Fashion Hotel.
We are truly grateful for your positive words and particularly pleased to see that our spacious room made your stay even more special.
Should your travels bring you back to Budapest some time in the future we would be delighted to be able to welcome you back at the Buda Castle Fashion Hotel.

With Best Regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai. China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Neat and tidy rooms, clean and simple designs, great breakfast, and walkable distance to all major attractions in the castle hill area.

Try to ask for a street view room which have a better view, sunshine and orientation.

You can buy the budapest cards and spa admission tickets at the hotel as well. Very handy.

Helpful?
Thank Joku_en_route
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelManagement039, General Manager at Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Joku,

thank you for taking the time to share your comment on Tirpadvisor following your stay at the Buda Castle Fashion Hotel.
It is nice to hear that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and in Budapest.
We look forwared to welcoming you back sometime soon here at the Buda Caste Fashion Hotel.

King Regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
Genereal manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
langhorne, pa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel was booked for us by our travel service and many people said we should change to stay on the Pest side of the river. Wrong! The castle district is wonderful, quaint, historic, beautiful and a great location for touring Budapest. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were travelling with our adult daughter and had a jr suite. The space was nice to have some privacy, but both the King bed and the sofa bed were not the most comfortable. The biggest drawback to this hotel is the shower- there isn't one! There is a hand held shower head mounted very low on the side of the tub and you have to hold it over yourself in order to shower. For such a nice hotel otherwise, I don't know why they don't install normal showerheads. It is a boutique hotel with no real lobby but this wasn't a drawback The breakfast was small but adequate and they have drinks and snacks in the breakfast room/ bar later in the day. If the put in showers, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement039, General Manager at Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to tell us about your experience at the Buda Castle Fashion Hotel. The hand held shower problem comes from the construction. Of course our aim is to provide the best services and to improve the performance of the hotel.
Thank you very much in advance for your time and comments and hope to welcome you again in Budapest.

With Best Regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed with my wife at the Castle for few days. Overall, I was very impressed with this hotel.

Good:
Exceptionally good service. Not a lot of staff but everyone of them shines!
The location is convenient to bus stop, restaurants, cafe and national gallery, palace, etc. all within 5-10 walks.
Breakfast is simple but tasty.
The room is big, very clean and modern.

Bad:
The hall way lighting is motion sensored, so it can get a bit dark once you get out of the lift and not knowing there is manual switch to turn on the light. this is a bit too environmental to me personally.

Ugly:
Absolutely none.

I would definitely recommend my friend to stay in this hotel for their family vacation if they don't plan to spend too much time and money on the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eDUBShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement039, General Manager at Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Buda Castle Fashion Hotel. Our hotel try bo be environment freindly, ttherfore lights are not on all the time at the corridor.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in Budapest.

With Best Regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Buda castle is a relatively small but fabulous hotel in the Buda area of Budapest. It is in a quieter part of the town but close enough to all of the main attractions.

We stayed for four nights at the hotel in a superior room. The room was excellent , and was perfect for our stay. It was over two floors with the bedroom on a mezzanine floor and was very clean and well maintained.

It my not suit people who struggle to cope with stairs, particularly in the middle of the night , but it was perfect for us.

The reception team were excellent , really helpful and couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay.

The breakfast was ideal with a good choice of both local food and hot selection with nice , hassle free service in the small breakfast room.

There is a local bus service ( number 16) which takes you into the town square in the town in five minutes.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and it is really worthy of all the good reviews it gets on trip advisor.

Great choice for a super hotel in Budapest - enjoy !!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior double on The second floor (room 201) , really nice good sized , quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement039, General Manager at Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are always glad to hear that our guests enjoying the Buda Castle Fashion Hotel.
Now we are only looking forward to your next stay to repeat this excellent experience!

with Best Regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the end of June - beginning of July and it was a wonderful stay! The hotel is in a very nice location on the Buda side, my husband had a conference at the Hilton and Buda Castle Fashion Hotel was half the price and included breakfast, so it was a no-brainer. The hotel feels like B&B, it's small, the staff are very welcoming and are always ready to answer any questions. If you request something, it is done before you can even finish your sentence. I had an early morning flight, had to leave the hotel at 6 am and they turned on the coffee machine for me and put out some pastries so I can have something to eat. My husband was leaving at 3 am they made him some sandwiches to take with him! You'll never get such personal service from a big hotel.

The location is great, it's on a very quite street in the Castle District on the Buda side of the city. If during the day there are tourists in the Castle Districts, at night it's completely quite. We slept with our windows open and didn't hear a sound (and I am a very sensitive sleeper). The room is pretty spacious, it has a mini-bar that we used to store our water, the bathroom is big, with a nice big counter, the water pressure is great. The breakfast is very nice, there's a good selection of lunch meats and cheeses, eggs, pastries, delicious European breads etc. My only 2 small complaints are the hard mattresses and the low hung shower. The hotel put in mattress pads after we asked and that helped a little, but they were too firm for my taste.

Even if you don't stay in this hotel you have to visit Castle District during the day and at night. It's absolutely magical, the views of the Pest side are unbelievable, and when walking the narrow streets of the Castle District feels like you are inside a fairy tale, especially at night. The atmosphere is great and it's completely safe.

Room Tip: Room 108 was nice and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOHtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement039, General Manager at Buda Castle Fashion Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Buda Castle Fashion Hotel.
We are looking forwared welcoming you again in Budapest.

With Best Regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 Revay Hotel
#31 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest
Baltazar Budapest
#5 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buda Castle Fashion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buda Castle Fashion Hotel

Property: Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Address: Uri utca 39, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buda Castle Fashion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Buda Castle Fashion Hotel is located in the elegant Castle district of Budapest which offers plenty of cultural attractions, great restaurants and bars. The area is easily explored on foot and other attractions of the capital can also be reached in no time by public transport. The hotel has 25 large, elegantly furnished rooms and luxurious suites, featuring the most modern facilities in a historic setting, to please its guests whether on business or pleasure. The hotel bar and the small, intimate garden are excellent to unwind after a busy day seeing the sights of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Buda Castle Fashion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing