We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traditional Hungarian - worth the detour - easy by Tram 59”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ezust Ponty

Ezust Ponty
Ranked #1,224 of 3,092 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Soups, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
“Good traditional Hungarian - worth the detour - easy by Tram 59”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is not on the touristic path therefore not catering to tourists so if you wish good authentic Hungarian savory food this is the place to go. The name means the Silver Carp and true to the name there are many fish dish proposed but just as many in meat, soups, cold or warm starters. Their menu is large and prices very reasonable considering the quality and quantity.

On Thursdays, Fridays & Saturdays they offer live music of classic songs (40s to 70s), that adds charm to the place. It feels like you are in the countryside instead of 15mn from the parliament.

We loved the goose leg and the soups - I can't remember all the dishes we ordered but they were all good and copious.

In the summer they have a great garden to enjoy.

How to get there is easy: Tram 59, stop Vas Gereben, a bit after Apor Vilmos (where bus 105 or 112 arrive). You can grab the 59 in Szell Kallman or Deli Payaudvar or Apor Vilmos.
You can grab bus 105 all along Andrassy boulevard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good hungarian cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This restaurant is a bit far from the touristic center but worth a visit. You can reach it with tram 59.
Good place to eat authentic hungarian cuisine.
Deco is outdated but makes it more authentic.
Seating out on the terrace is appreciated in th esummer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Value, Good Service - What more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just a good local restaurant. When we're visiting Budapest we use this restaurant whenever we have guests. The food never disappoints, good value and nice staff.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wintitepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lovely setting, service was good! Great Caprese, in fact one of the best i have ever had. A Gypsy stag event also added to the atmosphere! The presentation is rustic and lacks style but the flavors in this case did the talking!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felipej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant garden in Buda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I love sitting in their garden, eating fish soup. It is not fancy, but excellent food, Hungarian spices, lot of paprika and garlic. I loved Rácponty also which is potatoes layered with fish and sour cream all cooked together in the oven.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drszasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ezust Ponty also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Ezust Ponty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing