We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come by car”
Review of Hotel Villa Korda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Korda
Ranked #91 of 187 Budapest B&B and Inns
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Come by car”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Otherwise you'll find the public transport with its transfers a hassle, because Villa Korda is about three miles away from the centre of Budapest. Regardless of your choice, you'll find the hotel warm and peaceful. This is one of the cheapest accommodations in Budapest (at least according to TripAdvisor), with a double room for only €31 per night. It is situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood where scarcely a car passes through the street. The employees are nice and helpful. The breakfast is included in the price and is abundant, if a bit boring. The hotel has a garage, but I recommend avoiding their €6 fee and simply parking in the street, on the curb, where it's free and safe.

Out of 16-odd rooms they have there, we must have gotten the worst one. It's on the ground floor, facing the street, but an annex has been added to the front of the hotel building, blocking the windows with an improvised "salon", and now there is no natural lighting in the room as a result. The hotel boasts "antique" furniture, but it's just old, worn and desperate for some woodwork. The walls are stained, and the bathroom could use an overhaul. See pictures for a better idea. We stayed for only one night, so we didn't take issue with the looks of the room, except we were a little paranoid that someone might enter the adjacent "salon" while we're sleeping and peek through the window. The rooms on the upper floors must surely be more comfortable. Ask for them if you want security and a good view.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
14
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful and it was great value for mpney 39 euro's for a double room which included an adequate continental style breakfast. It was, we expected, quite away from Budapest City Centre. The Budapest transport system is second to none, no wating for transport for half an hour then 3 come at once. A good tip is, if you are over 65 carry your passport with you and all transport system is free! a real saving, otherwise buy a weekly transport pass which costs about £15 still great value but only covers transport within the environs of Budapest.

One down side to this Hotel is other guests who have no idea how to close a door without banging it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotell has a calm location with hedgehogs in the garden being the living proof of that. We had a rentel when we stayed here, but there is a busstop nearby. Walking to the hotel gives you great stamina since it is very uphill on the Buda side. The hotel has a garage, but parking in the street is no problem. Low price, clean hotel, calm away from the citystress but with a location not so far off has made us stay here several times.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alba Iulia, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

The place is magnificent for the low price (€39 for double room) by booking online. The only downside about this is that it's kind of far from the center of Budapest but personally, i see that as an advantage. It is so quiet you'll sleep like a baby. Add the old but classy furniture and you're set!

No food inside except the breakfast, you can find brochures at the reception and get tips from the receptionist.

Wireless is free and works great across the villa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This hotel is difficult to find, but well worth the trek if you're on the cheap and want to spend money on great dining in the city. From Batthyany ter (on the red metro line), take the HEV up to two stops to Kolosy Square. (Alternatively, you can take the 206 bus to Kolosy Square). Cross the street, walk up to the third traffic light, and the bus stop will be on the right. Take the 65 bus (the last platform at the bus stop) towards Palvogyi Barlang (the cave). Walk up the street that is behind the cave entrance and turn at left at the first street (it’s a residential neighborhood). Walk up this street for 2 minutes and the hotel will be on your right.

Breakfast was substantial, including a lot of good papaya juice, banana and vanilla yogurt, meat, cheese, bread, and cereal. The room was never cleaned once during our stay, but it was still a nice place when considering the view. The staff is usually helpful, especially the young man with short brown hair (I wish I could remember his name) who went out of his way to help us with directions as well as finding a laundromat. There is no elevator. A charming place for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strangebrew27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

I stayed at the Villa Korda Hotel in August 2008 during the Sziget Festival.
The rate offer was very attractive as well as location close to the Festival site.
On the check-in I got a room on the upper floor with no elevator and no air conditioner (no complaints - keep in mind the price).
The room was clean and quite spacious for one person. Along with no air condition there were no shampoo, no hair dryer, and no iron (the ironing costs 400Huf per piece).
But the phone and TV were OK. In particular I was impressed with the wooden chest of drawers and the writing desk =).
Nice thing about the cold breakfast was that you could have it inside or outside the buffet room (on the terrace). the breakfast was included in the price and was quite mediocre, however, they had the fresh bread delivered from the Kolosy Ter bakery, yummy!
The area has a nice attraction -the Pálvölgyi cave - just around the corner. Two bus routes (65, 29) go to Kolosy ter (HEV/Subway and bus station) from the hotel area. On foot it's a 15 min walk. it took me 25 minutes to get to Sziget, 30 min to downtown and 1.20 to airport by public transport. I've been told that the taxi is a common mean of transport but never used it. This area is great to see how the Hungarians live, very quite and safe (even in a night time). The hotel is a bit tricky to find - but strongly recommended.
The special thanks to the hotel stuff. I dealt with two young ladies and one guy at the reception - they all were very helpful and competent. Shame on me I can't remember their names...

  • Liked — safety anв nice stuff
  • Disliked — long way from airport
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Redclous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Vadvirag Panzio
#168 of 333 in Budapest
8 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#126 of 333 in Budapest
1,407 reviews
Beatrix Hotel - Budapest
#151 of 333 in Budapest
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#43 of 333 in Budapest
911 reviews
Villa Korall
#141 of 333 in Budapest
125 reviews
Hotel Molnar Budapest
#79 of 187 in Budapest
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Korda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Korda

Property: Hotel Villa Korda
Address: Szikla utca 9, Budapest 1025, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Korda 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Korda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korda Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing