We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cave Church

Cave Church
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly special experience”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great atmosphere and great history tied to this unique church. Amazing interior and wonderful people that work there. A true gem.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynneIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    191
    86
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pretty, but poorly guided”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The cave church, a very short, easy walk up the hill from Gellert square, is extremely beautiful, but is somewhat let down by its disappointing audio guide (included in the admission guide). This is linked to the introductory displays, the first and most relevant of which starts when someone keys in the number on their guide, a cunning trick, but unfortunately this means that if someone else comes in and presses their audio guide button, you are forced to start over. Elsewhere the guide is not subject to such problems, but is a bit too longwinded and the headsets are of fairly poor quality. If you can put up with these problems, the caves themselves are stunning, and the decisions beautiful - I highly recommend having a look round if you have the chance.

Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only if you are nearby is this worth a visit. ”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

When you hear about this church, it sounds really cool and interesting. It is not. It is very cheap to get in which is the only reason there wasn't extreme disappointed. We had walked over a very cold and windy Bridge purposely to go there, it wasn't worth it! (however the cold windy Bridge was an experience in itself!). The guide is odd, at one point she is just reading out what is on the TV screen! The rest of the guide is preachy and very religious in places... It tells you all about the statues but nothing about the history of the church, Christianity in Hungary etc which would be very interesting! It did give me favourite quote ever which I will use for when I go wrong ever... "despite precise measurements the end of the cave didn't end up in the right place by danube... This was deemed to be God's will"... If you are a devout Catholic you will love this place, the audio guide and the shop. I am not so it left me cold.

Helpful?
Thank luxielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Unusual”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

It's a quaint little church in a cave. Nice to see, not expensive but not that special either. If you happen to walk by and get curious, why not go in and have a peek.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm not usually one for churches but this one intrigued me. It is a lovely little church on the bank of the Danube and is definitely worth a visit. The history is fascinating and the entrance price is very cheap considering you also get an audio guide.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank doozer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Church also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cave Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing