We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Paprika

Paprika
Ranked #154 of 4,017 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came across Paprika by accident but were delighted by the food - extremely tasty with excellent service The goulash soup in particular was lovely Overall an excellent meal and would highly recommend

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T7368SLpeterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 3,819 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant has a great rustic atmosphere. The food was good also. I loved the cold fruit soup with ice cream and whipped cream. It was delicious.
The price is also okay, staff members are nice and helpful. It was pretty busy so with a bigger group of people you probably need a reservation.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Melgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is busy with locals & tourists alike. They have good, tasty food - the cold goose liver pate was very authentic and huge. Very authentic like my grandmother used to make. The roasted goose leg main with red cabbage was tasty as was the veal paprikawith nokedli. The desserts were enjoyed by all too. We had a group of 4 adults. We tried to get in for lunch originally but attended at 3pm for an early dinner with baby. This place literally is full from lunch time through to dinner. You can eat at whatever time you like during the day if you book- they are seriously booked up. The only dish which was weird was the cold raspberry soup with cream- it was more like a dessert than an appetiser. Not to our taste.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Moment-of-truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Very busy restaurant close to Varosliget, that offers the Hungarian "classics". Friendly service that accommodated us even though we had no reservation. The food was tasty and they had good fruit sirup based lemonades.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 2412estherw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

We were lucky to walk in without a reservation on a Friday night, but while we were there a lot of tourists came in asking for a table and had to be turned away. Paprika serves traditional Hungarian food and doesn't seem to make any substitutions. We asked if it would be possible for the veal paprikash to be served with chicken and were kindly told no. No worries, however, because I have no regrets having the veal paprikash, and my husband LOVED his rosemary lamb with four pepper sauce and potato medallions! The food on every table looked delicious, and the tables all filled - which isn't surprising considering the place is very small. The decoration, ambiance and service was great - definitely go if you can get a table in advance!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveliz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paprika also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Paprika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing