We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food for really small money”
Review of Paprika

Paprika
Ranked #69 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very tasty food for really small money”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited this place several times during our stay at Budapest on New Year holidays 2012 and 2013. Extremely delicious Hungarian dishes - Goulyash Soup - especially. Only regret - it's very popular with tourists, so usually you need either to wait at the hall for free place or you need to book the place the day before - we usually did like this during our stay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksanulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,550
    684
    190
    56
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well worthy of a visit, just book in advance”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was lucky to arrive without a reservation and immediately get seated, as when I stepped out there was already a queue of people waiting to make a reservation to enter.

The waitress was charming, the food felt authentically Hungarian and was a pleasure - both by the way it was server and by taste. Would definitely want to come back if I get to Budapest again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller_EZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food in a beautiful place and very nice staff”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We happens to see this place in our way back from Szechenyi thermal bath. Even though we thought we were not very hungry and just wanted soup , we ended up having soup and mixed grill for main course. The atmosphere is very warm and cost. Beautiful decoration and extremely polite and nice staff- something of a novelty in this part of Budapest.
If you don't like your starter to taste like dessert, maybe you shouldn't order sour cherry soup but I enjoyed it very much. The cream of garlics soup is absolutely gorgeous, we had tried this elsewhere before but the one served in Paprika kid by far the superior. The mixed grill dish is in pork section of the menu but contains beef.we shared one between two of us and there was some left in the plate at the end. Staff speak English and know how to make you feel welcome. Prices are ok, not cheap but very good value for money. It was worth every penny and some more. I simply loved this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mastoure M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Traditional atmosphere and cuisine makes you experience unforgettable. Waiters are friendly, multilingual, fast and helpful. In cold winter days the Chef will warm you up with a hot Hungarian soup, in summer he will cool you with cold fruit-flavoured beer or various kinds lemonades. The price-level is average and fair.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dar'ia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great food”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This restaurant had very nice meals and the lady serving us was very friendly speaking several languages. Overall full points!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSev13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paprika also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Paprika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing