We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but definitely overestimated!”
Review of Paprika

Paprika
Ranked #69 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good but definitely overestimated!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went there after we had read all the comments from Tripadvisor and we were rather disappointed from the cuisine and the prices. It is mostly a tourist place, with huge portions (which are impossible to be eaten by one person) at rather high prices. The inside is cosy with warm atmosphere but you'd better make a reservation since it is quite small inside. Also, it is far away from the city centre where there are much better choices to have dinner or lunch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,551
    685
    190
    56
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fantastick interior and great food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went here with friends from Budapest, and what a treat it was, its a very interesting place inside and feels very relaxed and traditional.
the food was good but too much for me to finish everything, good Palinka too!!!
well worth a visit, and a short walk from Hero's Square which is worth seeing at night,
but apparentely you need to book in advance, so book a table and enjoy !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordon911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A quite different restaurant”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked a table for the Monday night, as Sunday was fully booked, and once we arrived we knew why it was so popular. It is quite different to any restaurant I have been in, and looks like it should be in a Flintstones film with wooden carved tables and chairs. The waitress was very friendly and advised us that the portions were large and we may want to share. She was right, they are enormous! I had the chicken and avocado salad to start and it was lovely with a very tasty, but subtle dressing and Hungarian goulash which was lovely

Very good value

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Surrey 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paprika serves more than chicken”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by our hosts at the apartment from where we rented. These two guys have been living in Budapest for over 11 years and know where to eat. It's not a tourist place but more for the residents. Be sure to reserve a table early because we saw many people turned away because the restaurant was booked for the evening.

The food is excellent and the prices, like most places in Budapest, are very reasonable. Our hosts told me to order the goose leg with red cabbage because ,"It's the best of all Budapest." And it was. The goose leg was crispy and moist and the red cabbage not too sweet or sour. My friend had the rost bore and he found it outrageous in taste as well.

The restaurant is not in the tourist area but easily accessible by ether the #71 bus or a metro.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank regobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“No chicken paprika?”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you're going to order chicken paprika anywhere, isn't this the place to do so? Nope! Not on the menu.

Our friend enjoyed the cold raspberry cream soup with vanilla ice cream. An old childhood treat. I enjoyed the grilled chicken breast with plum sauce, served with potato croquettes.

However, three of us came here for the chicken paprika but it's not on the menu. The beef goulash here tasted like Chinese food which was gross. Service was ok, nothing great. Overrated.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EscapeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paprika also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Paprika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing