We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Mexican food in Europe goes, not bad.”
Review of Arriba Taqueria

Arriba Taqueria
Ranked #984 of 3,246 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Arriba Taqueria is Fresh Mexican Food served in a funky, friendly atmosphere.Arriba is a Hungarian company with an American approach to service and customer satisfaction. If you’re not satisfied with your meal, let us know so we can make it better. And if we can’t make it better, you can have your money back. Get the idea? We don’t like to see unsatisfied customers.At Arriba we take our job serving fresh Mexican food seriously, but we like to have fun. Life is too short and this is just a taco stand. Arriba food is fresh, healthy and delicious. We do not use artificial preservatives or additives. We don’t even know what that means. Our meats are marinated overnight and grilled fresh throughout the day. Our salsas and guacamole are made every day using only the freshest ingredients – tomatoes, onions, garlic, peppers and – don’t forget – cilantro!
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As Mexican food in Europe goes, not bad.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a late dinner tonight at the Buda location - carnitas burrito and chips with tomatillo salsa.

The concept is very familiar - Americans will recognize it from Chipotle, Qdoba, Moe's, or countless other establishments in that vein. It's build-to-order Tex-Mex. Start on one end and work your way toward the register.

The burrito was solid, if not spectacular. The carnitas was flavorful, although a touch dry and a bit salty. Then again, I was ordering at 10 p.m. so I'd guess the product had been sitting for a bit. The guacamole was a winner - chunky and with a nice brightness. Pico de gallo was also good.

Best thing I had was the tomatillo salsa with the chips.

In regard to comments on price, it might be a bit high for Budapest, but an American traveling over here isn't going to blink at dropping $9 on a burrito with a side of chips and salsa.

In all my travels in Europe (and there have been plenty), I'm more often disappointed by Mexican/Tex-Mex than any other type of international cuisine. The intensity of flavor present in this type of cuisine seems to be counterintuitive to much of what the continent typically prefers. I've had lots of badly underseasoned Mexican over here. However, Arriba does a solid job on this front.

It's nothing fancy, but it's mostly on the mark. Worth a visit if you're in the mood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    67
    37
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Arriba's burritos' - the only reason I need to get back to Budapest”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Yes, they're overpriced, quite a lot actually (so check back on Mondays for burrito discount!), but they're still the best around. Food is excellent both in quality and quantity, and the service I've received in their both establishments has been very good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“The fast mexican”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Lovely mexican fast food taqueria, now available in 2 spots ( Terez krt 25. and near Szell Kalman tér) serving classic mexican food.
The restaurant is a mexican self service buffet-like, with 2 levels and outdoor seating (both places). I really liked that there is a separated tub with soap and paper towels, so you can wash your hand before touching the food and you dont have to go to the restrooms to do that.
From taquitos to burrito through desserts and mexican beverages the choice is absolutely up to You; at the first visit it is advised to ask for help, because you have to "design" your course. First you choose your food (e.g: Taco), then choose a meat (chicken, beef, pork etc.) and then select the toppings and sauces. Ask for assistance at the first time, it could be a problem if you dont know well mexican cuisine, and maybe you wont get what you want.
Try the Carne Asada beef, loaded in tacos with the signature chipotle sauce. Every food is fresh, so you have to wait some minits, especially for quasadilla (5-10 ,mins) but it worth the waiting time. Really good ingredients and fresh vegetables, cold drinks and outdoor seating near Andrassy street, what more you want? :)
They also up to deliver food, but only in quite a small radius.
It is a little bit expensive, compared to other Budapest fast food restaurants, a meal for to is about 25-35 $, of course it depends on your choice.

If you are in Budapest and you like mexican food, you should go and get it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank riccsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mexican Fast Food”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Over priced fast food. The menu isn't very clear and the service was a bit inpatient. Would have made a different choice if we had a bit of an explanation before ordering.

Counter were the food was prepared looked messy. Burritos were good, really didn't like the salad dressing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“The Moe's grill of USA”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This place serves great Mexican food and if you ever have been to Moe's Grill you will immideately compare with it. Very nice place for vegetarians. The food is excellent and so is the quantity.
The atmosphere is soothing with wireless free for the guest.
The service was great too we had vegetable burrito and it was loaded with lot of vegetables, condiments, sauces, and cheese.
Also try their apple chimichanga as desert and they will melt in your mouth. It is quite close to Heros square. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gotofly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arriba Taqueria also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Arriba Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing