We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chagall Cafe

Chagall Cafe
Ranked #392 of 3,092 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

OFten difficult to get a table but always friendly and obliging. Menu a bit limited but good anyway.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank R_V_travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    86
    21
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our favorite place to eat 4 star food at 2 star prices. The homemade lemonade is amazing. We ate there 4 times during our stay and never had a bad meal. The leak soup is a must try!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Located opposite the admirable Opera Garden Hotel, this bar/restaurant provides delicious Hungarian food at reasonable prices. The menu, albeit somewhat limited, offers soups, main courses and desserts to cater for most tastes and washed down with surprisingly good Hungarian red wine makes for a enjoyable experience. A combination of cold weather and laziness meant dining here on three occasions and the sustained friendliness and efficient service from the staff added to the pleasure. As a bonus, prints of Marc Chagall`s paintings adorn the walls in addition to a large screen image of the great man himself.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Location near the opera, place is pleasant, cozy and nicely designed, service excelent. Prices reasonable but you could find cheaper places in Budapest.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acookiemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food at a good price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

On our first night me and my partner stumbled across this place and were pleasently surprised. We had the hungarian platter between us as a starter which was lovely. My partner had the duck leg with fig marmalade and I had the chicken and bacon with goats cheese. Both meals were delicious and at a very good price. Would definately recommend.

Helpful?
Thank WLN
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Chagall Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Chagall Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing