We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel. Suggestions for dining and housekeeping.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Balatonfured
Nacogdoches
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel. Suggestions for dining and housekeeping.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our family of four (all adults) had two rooms at the Anna Grand Hotel on a Monday and a Friday while on a WONDERFUL self-guided bike tour of the Lake Balaton wine region in Hungary (www.vinociped.hu).

The great points about this hotel are its beautiful location near the lake, its "wellness" center with extremely clean saunas, pools and jaccuzis, and its professional gracious reception staff. The bowling alley in the basement, staffed by friendly and helpful Tomas--was great fun. Lanes can be rented by the hour for a reasonable price. Our thanks, Tomas! The building is a stately old one--someone said it was a hospital at one time, but this may not be accurate. We asked the young man at the reception desk about the building's history, but he didn't know many details. It would be good to monopolize on any romance in the building's history so information could be shared with guests, enhancing their experience.

Rooms were nicely furnished and well appointed, although it was obviously a wine-friendly hotel judging from the little spots of what looked to be red wine on the pale green carpet. (OK--that's my fetish. I went around scrubbing off other peoples little carpet spots with shout wipes and a wash cloth. The carpet was good quality, though, and spots came right out.) Housekeeping could be trained to notice those little details when preparing for the next guest. Otherwise the room and bath was spotless. Energy is expensive in Europe, so the air conditioning was not quite as cold as U.S. travelers are accustomed to. We solved this by taking the comforters out of their sheet casings and just using the sheets. The windows also open--a great feeling on our second night which was nice and cool.

The dining room had a buffet on both nights we stayed there--a Monday and a Friday night in September 2012. The food was very good, but the bright lighting was a little garish and didn't do the elegant room justice. There seems to be no really fine dining in the area. The Anna Grand could offer something really unique by dimming the lighting in its elegant dining room/ballroom, adding candles, and seating parties of 4 at small intimate tables instead of the 8-top banquet tables we were directed to. Servers would likely enjoy their jobs a little more if providing this kind of elegant atmosphere.

In all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    208
    134
    62
    19
See reviews for
247
315
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe room and then the Ipoly Residence in June this year. The Ipoly is spacious, quiet and recommended as it has been recently renovated. The Anna Grand Deluxe room was nice but small, inclduign the shower. As a converted Villa the journey to the fantastic wellness was a bit of a maze but still only 30 or 40 metres walkign so no big deal.

Breakfast was great, good selection plus fizz available, beautiful grounds and an ideal location next to the lake and mineral water fountain in the square.

Room Tip: the classic rooms look bigger in Anna Grand, but Ipoly is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncLondontown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. Your kind compliments are really valuable for our future guests, since you stayed in both part of our hotel. Your recommendation may inspire more visitors to decide for our Ipoly wing however it is some steps away from the main building. Our goal is to ensure a memorable stay for all of our guests in all part of our hotel. See you soon in your favourite Ipoly wing! p.s. Thank you for mentioning the "mineral fountain" on the square in front of the hotel, which is a unique symbol of this beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalocsa, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked originally ten days in Anna Grand Hotel, but the charming atmosphere all around lead us to extend our stay with an extra day. The hotel is located in a beautiful setting; we stayed in a "classic" room which was absolutely comfortable and clean. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast was rich. We loved the Anna Grand cafe, where they offered special traditional Hungarian cakes. A business corner has just been installed, so we could use a PC for free. The staff always took care for us, and our favourite place was the wellness which is really great. We feel it was the ideal choise for our holiday and will return in February with our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had an excellent stay at this very well sited Hotel, close enough for access to the lake but away from any noise. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food varied and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dainye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your brief and kind compliments. Special thanks for the ingenious headline, what I like very much! Your absolutely positive feedback might inspire more and more Tripadvisor's readers to choose our Anna Grand Hotel on the "Hungarian Riviera" in Balatonfüred. Thank you again and please do not forget:everybody is kindly invited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in Anna Grand for a weekend in August. We also stayed here in 2009… We thought we would give another chance them, hoping that 3 years before it was just a weak day of them.
I do not bother all readers with my personal problems with the hotel because of misleading me with a room type.
But some remarks which can be useful for anybody: after building the new wing (!) of the hotel in 2009, they still do not have on the new wing rooms’ balcony any furniture… No lighting on the terrace. Broken glasses on the terrace. Dirty rug in the room. No cosmetic products in a 4* hotel, even the basic ones… (no shampoo, no body lotion). Tight shower cabin. Air conditioning not worked properly (on highest level, we could have 27 celsius in the room).
We did not have HB, only breakfast, but the food was all OK and nice.
The whole hotel is like a labirinth. Lots of walk, with stairs even on the same etage (not favourable with suitcase)…
Also it was like 3 mins to find the sauna and the pool area (not open air).
Some rooms may be close to the big iron-made fire door (which closes itself with huge noise like a gun shot) – so ask before you make reservations not to be close…
Hint: ask for a room in the old wing, we could see its furniture and whole interieur is better. However not good for smokers as these rooms has no terrace.
One advantage: settling.
All in all, this hotel is not like 4* standard (even if you think it is before you walk in). We will not return again. Not again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Limlom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest, I was a bit astonished to read your comment. As a hotelier it is sad to understand that one of our guests is so disappointed with almost everything. Referring to your intro I must admit “misleading” our guests is not our policy. We are intending to finalize furnishing all of our rooms with balcony; at the same time I agree with your objections regarding missing bathroom amenities and bad service of cleaning staff. Please accept our apologies for all of that. However I am glad that you found at least the breakfast and the location good. Since the weather is still nice, the surrounding is wonderful, and our hotel was voted “best wellness” in 2011 I would still recommend all Tripadvisor readers to try out our services and kind hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunaharaszti, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I visited this hotel with my family (2 children) for two nights in August during the „Wine weeks of Balatonfüred”. I have to say it is worth to stay at least one week. The hotel located just next to the promenade with a charming view to Lake Balaton. They offer lot of programmes not only for families like open-air theatre, wine tasting etc. I have read some negative opinions about the bed mattresses and cleanliness. I disagree. We had good rest and the room was spotlessly clean. I have to mention the very good breakfast and the perfect spa zone which were convenient also for my children. All in all we hade a great time in Balatonfüred. Thank you for the very friendly and professional staff. We can’t wait to visit Anna Grand Hotel again! Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pa_pdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest, I thank you very much for sharing your full satisfaction regarding your recent visit at our Anna Grand Hotel in Balatonfüred. I was pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the hotel’s facilities, the services and our special programs as well. Your highlights on our breakfast selection, the spa zone and the friendly staff are highly appreciated.
Once again, thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back for a longer and beautiful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

POSITIVES:
The breakfast was very good - a lovely spread of hot and cold food.
Delicious!
Also really close to the lake, an easy walk :-)

NEGATIVES:
There was NO DOUBLE BED even though the website says there is a 1 double bed option. We were disappointed to find the double bed was simply two beds pushed together - NOT 1 mattress, as is normal (especially in a 4 star hotel). When I asked reception for another room with a proper 1 mattress double bed, the staff said there were only 2 beds pushed together throughout the entire hotel. As a couple we prefer a standard 1 mattress double bed and would not have stayed at the Anna Grand had we known we would be on two mattresses pushed together - very uncomfortable and unsuitable for us.

ALSO on our second night the hotel had organised a play which was open to the general public for profit. The pay was held in the hotel courtyard which our room overlooked. The play finished at 11 and then the play staff continued to dismantle the stage etc till late at night with a noisy radio on. This was noise (theatre and workmen) organised with full approval by the hotel staff. Why the dismantling of the stage could not happen the next day during normal working hours is strange. The loud noise from workmen and their radio continued till 1 o'clock in the morning. This was noise the hotel condoned by allowing workmen to disrupt guests till late at night. Unacceptable.

Finally, cleaning staff chatted loudly in the corridors at 7 in the morning, gossiping for long periods of time. I had to go out to ask them to be quiet!

NOT a place to stay for a good bed and a quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos G, General Manager at Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind compliments on our breakfast, and location. On the other hand, I have learned with sadness that you left the hotel with bad feelings due to the "mattress type" issue and an unprofessional set down service provided by an outsource company.
So far we did not receive complaints regarding the type of our mattresses, but I understand your point and will invest into some new "double" type very soon.
Regarding the noisy set down work - after a great theatre performance - one night, please accept my apologies. Certainly the timing was not agreed with the hotel. I am convinced that the readers of Tripadvisor will understand that your complaint is mainly about an unprofessional service provided by an outsource company which is - we agree - unacceptable. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the discussed problem and prevent it's future occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balatonfured
0.3 mi away
Silverine Lake Resort
Silverine Lake Resort
#2 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ipoly Residence - Executive Hotel Suites
8.4 mi away
Mala Garden Hotel
Mala Garden Hotel
#1 of 41 in Siofok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Annabella
Hotel Annabella
#10 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#8 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital

Property: Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Address: Gyogy ter 1, Balatonfured 8230, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Balatonfured
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balatonfured
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Anna Grand Hotel**** Wine & Vital building complex is located onthe northern shore of Lake Balaton, a 100 meters away from the famous Tagore Promenade, in the middle of the historical district of Balatonfüred Füred Small Forest (with tennis courts all year long) on the north. The Anna Grand Hotel**** Wine & Vital is awaiting its guests in the heart of the historical district of Balatonfüred in a more than 200-year old, renovated building with 100 rooms, with luxury suites at Ipoly Residence wing, wellness department on 1200 m2 4-lane bowling alley, minigolf, confectionary, Biomed cure room,Beauty farm, wine bar, dential clinique and a unique Wine Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital Balatonfured, Somogy County, Hungary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing