We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get your hopes up, this is no way 4star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hunguest Hotel Bal Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Balatonalmadi
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't get your hopes up, this is no way 4star!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I read a few reviews about this hotel before I arrived and many make some fair comments.
1. The building, yes it is old and ugly, but to be fair, how long do you actually spend looking at your hotel?
2. Yes the decor is dated. But it's clean.
3. The service, without exception, was very good.
4. The mattresses are lumpy, but the pillows good. The bedroom we had on floor 11 was oppressively warm and even keeping the window open all day didn't help.
5. Lake view is very good indeed.
6. Breakfast is not good. There is plenty of choice, but none of it is appealing. The peach juice is nice.
7. The resort Balatonalmadi isn't very big, so not a lot to do, best get the train to Balatonfured. Only 20 mins.
8. We didn't book on a half board basis but dinner didn't smell good.
9. The swimming pool is excellent and clean. The spa had some good facilities but I didn't use them personally so can't comment on them.
10. The hotel claims to have an environmentally friendly policy re towels etc but the bulbs are not energy saving ones (perhaps a pedantic observation on my part!)
11. We were there out of season but I'd hate to think how it'd be at busy times, with 4 lifts it still took us over ten minutes for a lift to get to our floor when it came to checking out, and we weren't even checking out at prime checking-out time. Frustrating!

Other than that it's a fine hotel, nothing to write home about, and certainly not worthy of four stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz-Vale-of-Belvoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    64
    32
    26
See reviews for
52
83
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just back from a horrible 4day vacation.
Felt like back in time at least by 40 years..interior old, shabby, rooms are small with the most uncomfortable bed ever, food simply terrible bad quality, no variety, stained carpet and chairs in the rooms, mould in the bathroom, no mosquito net on the windows but a little board stating that "if you leave the windows open, bugs can get in" ...in three languages..... Hotel's private beach is not private at all, it is a public beach and takes a minimum of 15 minutes to walk there Reception very unwelcoming, had a Mohito one night at the bar the bartender was busy with everything except the guests, was actually annoyed by our request..and the list could go on and on. Definitely not a 4*
To be fair enough, the view was nice, the air-conditioner worked wonderfully and the safe was large enough for a laptop. Room service and waiters at the restaurant were nice but unfortunately these positive things weren't enough for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cleo1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Balatonalmadi hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent 2 nights, 3 days at this hotel.... It shows its a Ramada, in high standard of rooms and overall apparance of hotel... If I compare it to other Ramadas I have been to (5 in total ) its average...

What is very good :

Wifi in rooms
Quality of breakfast and dinner if you ask half board.
Large car parking facilities
Very nice not crowded beach... It is true that they do allow outsiders in the beach for a fee, however since the public beach is next door, not many people come who are not from hotel.
Free safe use in room.

Weaknesses :

There are 4 modern lifts, but it its busy with 13 floors you have to wait a long time..
If you are disabled and want to go to beach, dont come to this hotel.. The beach is 5-10 minutes walk with stairs, and not accesable by car as not access.

We had a few technical problems in room, called reception , 5 minutes and technical staff in room and solved issues., I seen no sigh of bad management in this hotel mentioned in previous reviews, perhaps its fixed in meantime... ;)) I can only recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for as high as possible... And remember to ask as we where told we did not get a room with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard-M42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Staff very helpful,breakfast below , expected from a 4*, very short of staff at reception , at restaurant , and on the ,,hungarian beach,, what belongs to the hotel - outside guests also allowed , the public areas are not clean, the terrace area also not clean , no staff to make it....etc etc ....it would be very long to continue....but the main problem is the management. This hotel is not managed at all. Every part of the hotel is a chaos, all staff try to help on it, but without a teamleader or well trained staff its a disaster... Must inform the hotel head office in the USA to check this situation and help to solve all the problems. The hotel itself would be a very nice place with a strong and very well trained staff!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Gyorgy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is located a 10 minutes away from the lake, you have to use an overpass to get to Balaton. The building has probably seen great days once in the past, but time has passed - the design and the interior all reminded me of old time. The room was pretty small, more suitable for a short business stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I am currently having my pre-vacation with my family. Chose this hotel because I stayed here before some 5 years ago. I had a sort of okay rating from my previous stay. I wish I had not chosen this place now, cause it has been one of the worst stays ever. Hence the staff is friendly, I think that is all one can say. Rooms are tiny, bed in the room is a joke, no room cleaning during a stay. Dinner and breakfast is another mess, where nobody pays attention to you. If you wanna find a table, the staff does not care, doesn't move, sometimes it feels like guesta should set and clean the tables for themselves. Service tables are not re-filled, so if you wish to get the variety of all available meal you should be there at sharp 6pm when dinner starts. In general it hardly deserves 3 stars. Would never recommend this place not even to my worst enemies. This place is simply an example of anti-customer attitude.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Varazslotanonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We got the last room on the top floor of the building. It was a twin room, but hardly enough space for 1 person. I tried to change the room, they said there isn't any double room that they could give to us, so we tried again, this time attending the reception with luggage. Suddenly they found a room to be cleaned within an hour for us. Carpets are dirty. No change of bed linen in 4 days. Daily cleaning doesn't include wiping the mirror or vacuuming the bathroom floor. Breakfast is the same every day, no change. Coffee at breakfast is just bad. Kind service in the restaurant though. Dinner was also kind of boring, but quality and taste was acceptable. The sunbeds on the beach are dirty, you need to pay for them and carry them by yourself. Limited drinks selection on the beach. Nice view from the room. No mosquito net. Close to the railway which makes it a bit noisy. Spa had an OK capacity and helpful staff. Gym is just stinky, no AC. Water in the pool is cold but clean. The rest area is too cool, not decorated in a way you would expect to look like, not cozy at all. Few hard beds, low temperature.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nerdybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balatonalmadi
7.8 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nereus Park Hotel
Nereus Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Balatonalmadi
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monopoly
Hotel Monopoly
#5 of 9 in Balatonalmadi
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 39 in Siofok
344 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 19 in Balatonfured
123 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alsoors Marina
Alsoors Marina
#1 of 2 in Alsoors
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunguest Hotel Bal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Hotel Bal Resort

Property: Hunguest Hotel Bal Resort
Address: Bajcsy-Zsilinszky ut 14., Balatonalmadi 8220, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Balatonalmadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Balatonalmadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunguest Hotel Bal Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunguest Hotel Bal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel And Resort Lake Balaton
Ramada Balatonalmadi
Balatonalmadi Ramada
Ramada Lake Balaton
Hunguest Hotel Bal Resort Balatonalmadi, Somogy County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing