We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels”
Review of Kenda Manor

Kenda Manor
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kenda Manor
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had two nights here while we toured the area and loved the hotel. It was elegant, had very lovely grounds and the hotel itself was beautifully furnished. The waiter in the breakfast room was one of the most helpful and kind we'd met. Unfortunately, after a full day of touring, we weren't in the mood for the 5-course gourmet meal they offer. I think that would have been really nice, though, to sit out in their lovely garden patio and enjoy their special dinner. Breakfasts were fabulous.

There's not much to do in the town and not many restaurant alternatives, but for us it was a nice place to stay and feel special in the middle of our travels. (We don't usually stay in 5-star hotels.) We loved this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0M0H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

It takes a bit of time to drive down the roads to Idrija but that was worth it. We did a two week round trip in Slovenia and this was one of (if not the) best stay. The biggest plus are food (all self-made or locally sourced) and wine (all Slovenian) as well as service. The waiter was excellent, all much more sophisticated than I was expecting to be honest for a somewhat rural location. Go for the wine pairings as well. I am spoilt and can tell you this was really good.

For those interested in the property and surroundings: Rooms are nice, wooden furniture, bed not most comfortable as antiques, wonderful terrace, all very well maintained and clean. You can do day trips in the area mostly involving the outdoors or wine. For all of them, you need a car.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A luxurious hotel on beautiful private grounds. We were impressed with the helpful staff and the well appointed room. Our dinner was served in the garden and even though the menu was limited (no choice for first course and only trout and beef for the main course) it was well prepared and elegantly served. The only draw back to the hotel is its location... in a previously industrial area with limited cultural sites.

Room Tip: This is not a budget hotel...luxury says it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyncrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
605 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at many Relais & Chateaux properties in many countries, and spent two nights here, apparently upgraded to the largest room, though that was never stated. Most impressive was the excellent service at dinner, as well as the quality of the cuisine … virtually flawless. We enjoyed both the food and the wine pairings immensely, and left better educated about Slovenian wines as a result. Our only complaint about the entire experience was the lack of a formal check-in to confirm our arrangements, as well as the lack of a tour so we could understand the property. Hopefully, that was simply the result of being short-staffed in early April.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rijeka
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Nice relais et chateau. May be a little bit asleep/rigid. Good restaurant with tipical food. Nice place if you consider flyfishing on Idrijca.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnerijeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murren, Switzerland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The staff were great and made the stay. My room was small but the suites looked very good. The food was excellent and the kitchen was very flexible if the menu didn't suit. Parking was easy and the general atmosphere in the hotel was relaxing and good.
As it promotes fishing as a pursuit, it would be good to have a drying room. 9 of the 15 guests during our four day stay were fishers. We tried very hard to enjoy the local wine but failed. We tested the best value up to the top of the range and failed to find anything that our palette appreciated. In this circumstance the wine list needs to be expanded to cater for all visitors local and international. My room had no drawers so struggled to unpack which is frustrating living out of a suitcase. The others had a similar experience. The bath was delightfully large but the shower set up ensured that you sprayed the walls and floor. A curtain would be good. Free Internet is so good given that we travelled to Venice to over night and fly home and the hotel charged €10 per half hour. If the hotel can iron some of these issues out then its a great place. In fact its a great place already but these smaller matters are easily dealt with and will make this a must stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frechen
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

This was one example, how a small hotel can be better than a large one. We were greeted by the manager personnaly and shown our room, which was even better than expected. We stayed there for 10 nights exploring the surrounding areas. The food, consisting only of fresh local food was good at a reasonable pricing.

  • Liked — Nearly everything
  • Disliked — The beds were a little stiff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AndyJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spodnja Idrija
23.4 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#3 of 23 in Bled
409 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jozef
Hotel Jozef
#1 of 2 in Idrija
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Na Kluk Bed & Breakfast
Na Kluk Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Spodnja Idrija
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kmecki Hram Fortuna
Kmecki Hram Fortuna
#4 of 4 in Spodnja Idrija
7 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Zlata Ribica
Hotel Zlata Ribica
#3 of 4 in Spodnja Idrija
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenda Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenda Manor

Property: Kenda Manor
Address: Na Grichu 2, Spodnja Idrija 5281, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Spodnja Idrija
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Spodnja Idrija
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kenda Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kenda Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenda Manor Slovenia/Spodnja Idrija

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing