We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely spot, but not well advertised”

Radovljica Old Town
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Radovljica
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A lovely spot, but not well advertised”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We took the tourist hop-on hop-off bus to Radovlica from Bled, but there are lots of ordinary buses from Bled to the town. It's a very pretty little place, with small museums, nice houses and good views. We didn't eat there, but the restaurants look good too. We did the guided tour (which is lkinked into the tourist bus) and our guide was enthusiastic and coped remarkably well with the heat and the fact that the church was locked!

It took me a bit of research to discover this town when looking up things to do in Bled, and I'm clearly not alone in finding it well-hidden since the tourist bus was almost deserted all day. A real shame, as the villages it links are all worth seeing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carpentr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    89
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Picturesque & Historic”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here with another couple and really enjoyed our stay. There was a local band on Friday night and a medieval and small antique fair on Sunday. The local church is beautiful. Ideal place for a short stroll and a treat at one of the little cafes that dot the square.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoreenMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radovljica
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Old Square”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Living in the square it is easy to become blaze about it,but I remember first entering over the moat and seeing the striking buildings and thinking "Yes! "I had found after many years, searching many countries, the place where I want to retire.
Radovljica was fortunate to be a wealthy town in16/17th century, on an important trade route, then it was by-passed and left frozen over 4/5 centurys. Many of the merchants houses were occupied by tradespeople often with animals. (We had a cow byre in our spare bedroom)
EU monies have helped to renovate the church and manor house to a high standard.
In the summer many concerts are held in the square, although it is often difficult to find what and when. Like so many things in this beautiful country the Slovenes seem determined to be secretive about their attractions.
The two restaurants in the square are Lectars, which is a little more expensive and caters more for tourists, with waiters in traditional costume, and Augustin- with Gregor an excentric giant of a man-and a beautiful outside terrace looking overlooking the mountains.
The food is good and substantial. If you have eaten in Slovenia before you will know you never leave a Gostilna hungry.Unfortunately they seldom do ambience.
One tip : around lunchtime 11-15.00ish most restaurants offer a malice (maleetse)
A 'workmans' two course lunch about 4-5 euro. With choice of 2 or 3 main courses.
This is not often advertised and tourist are usually given the a la carte menu.
Opposite Augustin is a coffee bar with fantastic cakes and icecream. An ideal place to sit in the sun and people-watch. If it is too hot (36C at the moment ) the bar on the right, towards the church is in shade with good beer or 'Radler",a refreshing mix of beer and grapefruit.
Please wander round the square slowly- (there is an organised tour ,check with info office at entrance to square.)
The small museum on right is interesting with english speaking guide, and of course the Bee museum and music school in the manor on the left has many interesting features to explore.
The Church is striking -- watching the workmen renovating the spire was inspiring !!! And frightening.
We find almost all our neighbours are friendly and most speak English.Ask them and they will always say "A little" and turn out to be fluent. Only the older people struggle and are more likely to know German. But they are helpful and interested in foreigners and unlike in some countries their friendliness is genuine.
Why have I not given 5 stars? Still work to be done on properties in square and still lack of energy in promotion and organisation and the making the most of the truly fantastic history, climate, views and ambience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JayRadovljica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ok I'm biased because I live here, but Radovljica's old town really is beautiful. It's only small but it is one of the 3 best preserved medieval old town centres in Slovenia and full of interesting features as well as the fantastic views across to the Jelovica plateau, the Sava river and Triglav. Lots of people miss Radovljica and just head to Bled but it's worth making the short detour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeleinSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A charming place to visit or to stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I love this place. I'm fortunate to have friends who live in Radovljica and have stayed here many times. It's a great place to stay if you want to experience the real Slovenia, away from the tourist bustle in Bled.

The Old Town is especially charming and quiet, being pedestrianised, and has several restaurants ( my favourites being the Lectar and the Augustine) plus a small café bar at the bottom of Linhartov Square. There are also other restaurants and cafe's in the modern part of town which is a short walk from the Old Town.

It's a relatively quick (approx 20 minute) drive from Bled and there are regular buses to and from Bled so if you are staying in Bled then it's well worth taking a trip to Radovljica. As well as a bus station, there is a train station situated below the Old Town so it's easy to get to Ljubljana as well. It's a good place to stay as a base for visiting other parts of the Gorenjska region of Slovenia.

There is a tourist information office at the entrance to the town with very helpful (english speaking) staff. They also sell so very good quality souvenirs (unlike some of the stuff on sale in Bled). There is also car parking available adjacent to the Old town and in the main part of town which is currently free of charge.

It's a peaceful place with some nice sights to see including the Museum of Apiculture (Beekeeping), the Šivec House, the Thurn Manor and the Church of St Peter. There are also some spectacular views to be had across the Sava valley.

On the first Sunday in the month they have a flea market in the Old Town which can be fun to browse around and every August the the town hosts a classical music festival which attracts musicians from around the world.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Radovljica Old Town also viewed

Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 
Slovenia, Europe
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Radovljica Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing