We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Podvin

Vila Podvin
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Radovljica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $74
Cuisines: European, Soups, Slovenian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The a-la-carte restaurant in Via Podvin is run by one of Slovenia's best chefs - Uros Stefelin. Uros finds challenges in discovering forgotten local ingredients, getting to know them and creating new dishes in his own unique way. With modern techniques and creativity he transforms traditional dishes into culinary delights of Slovene Nouvelle Cuisine. Our restaurant is decorated with local Slovene souvenirs. Each telling a tale of its past and the wealth of Slovenian cultural heritage. We wish to add to this collection by sharing our culinary souvenirs with you; visit us, taste the dishes and when leaving, leave with good memories and the recipes of the dishes you have tasted.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We came here for lunch because we knew the new owner Marcela who made the hotel Triglav a fantastic success previously. Now her new restaurant and Inn is beautiful and delicious. The fish , soup and Vegetable selections were all excellent. Interior and exterior are stunning and peaceful. If staying in bled or other towns near , you should go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mproms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    21
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mojstrana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh and exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The scenery is just brethtaking. Sitting in the garden and enjoying freshly cooked delicacies is just perfect!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Visiting Slovenia for the first time, we didn't anticipate any great culinary experiences in summer, having read of 'traditional' Slovenian cuisine of heavy meat dishes and varieties of sausage.

Thank goodness for the reviews of Vila Podvin which led us to experience contemporary Slovenian cuisine.

Based on these reviews and staying close by in Radovljica, we decided to try the 15 euro three course lunch menu. What can I say? It's a steal! We went back for the 4 course degustation the following evening. In the case of both the lunch and the dinner, the chef uses only locally sourced ingredients, even some foraged in the nearby forest. The chef has returned to his home town after many years in Michelin stared restaurants elsewhere in Europe. Our lunch of a baby leek soup, a variety of fish for main course, all superbly fresh and a dessert of caramelised fruit in a filo pastry parcel with caramel ice cream was excellent and the crisp salad actually made it four courses. As a bonus, the sommelier, Sasha, introduced us to some out of the way 'hipster' Slovenian wines. When we returned the following evening we were warmly welcomed and the four course degustation for 35 euros represented outstanding value. There is also a 6 course degustation. There is no printed menu for the degustation because it changes daily. The dishes ranged from a hot and cold, wild onion soup with yoghurt foam, a fillet of John Dory with a saffron sauce and chanterelle mushrooms, a main dish of a thick veal fillet, rather than the escalopes we're used to in Australia, cooked sous vide. I'm not a great chocolate fan but the chocolate ' egg' filled with fruits of the forest (wild strawberries, redcurrents and raspberries) and served with home made sour cream ice cream was memorable. The chef served and explained each course. Once again Sasha matched each dish with a local wine which perfectly complemented each course. My husband is passionate wine lover so Sasha's encyclopaedic knowledge of wine was much appreciated.

Vila Podvin offers accommodation too which we would have booked had we known about it. Only open since 1st June, it's only 10 minutes drive from Bled and 40 minutes from Ljubljana on the expressway. The restaurant was by no means full and it should be! Perhaps it should appear on the Bled Trip Advisor page.

Outstanding modern Slovenian cuisine in a relaxed and beautiful garden setting, a chef who is committed to interpreting the produce of the local area in a contemporary way and a sommelier who is generous with his knowledge of wine and his hospitality, Vila Podvin is a standout. Don't miss it if you're in the area. This restaurant deserves to succeed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Beautiful place with superb food and excellent service. Pre-set menus change daily, depending on local produce availability. Excellent wine list. If you are unsure of what to choose and how to combine best wine with food, wait staff is happy to help.
There are souvenirs representing Slovenia also available for purchase.
The 7 rooms are nicely furnished, clean and cozy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LBCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excelent cuisine and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is an haute cuisine establishment with great ambiance.
Marsela, the owner is a top host and really makes the difference. Especially in the summer the place is magical. Great wine list too!
You shouldn't miss this place during your visit in Slovenia!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila Podvin also viewed

Radovljica, Upper Carniola Region
Radovljica, Upper Carniola Region
 
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 
Radovljica, Upper Carniola Region
Bled, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Vila Podvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing