We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable & super breakfast”
Review of Hotel Sport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Postojna
Reviewed May 20, 2013

just one night, but we enjoyed our stay: the room was wide and clean, with a comfortable bathroom, free wi-fi in the room. Arriving late and with no booking we had a reduced price.
Excellent choice of buffet breakfast in a lovely, stylish Breakfast Room.The staff was polite, speaking little Italian and English. Private parking on the side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristianadjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights as the result of a coupon purchase. Service was great-everyone very friendly and helpful. Perfect location for visiting Postojna Cave and nearby castle built into cave. We purchased dual tickets at the castle which allowed us to make entry reservation for the cave. This kept us on track time wise, allowing us to return to this hotel before a 45 minute drive to the coast and dinner at Ivo in Pirin. Only downsides were a used shampoo / body wash packet left in shower on our arrival and my husband felt the table busser at breakfast made too much noise clanking dishes (not enough to bother me - he has sensitive ears). Overall I would return as I had a very pleasant experience. They didn't even charge extra for our little dog, which was quite wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean. The receptionist was very friendly . The finnish sauna was included in our package and we had a great time ( the sauna is private for up to 4 people ). Breakfast was very good, lot of choice. We stayed with a dog without any problems ( 8€ per night ). Caves are 5 min with car or approx 10 min of walk. The cave castle is 9km away.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lukaklaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently stayed for one night whilst visiting the Postojna caves which is probably the reason for anyone staying in town. Your choices are few but we chose this hotel from the trip advisor reviews. At first sight, although on a busy junction the hotel looks quite nice, however on entering things go rather down hill. I believe the hotel is described as been furnished in original Slovenian style - I would say it was rather something from the communist 50's. The bedrooms were large but sparse with fixed bedside tables (ledges) which had sharp edges which we covered for fear of hitting during the night. The bathroom was reasonably modern but like all the hotel lacked basic maintainance with rails hanging of the walls and three pieces of soap jammed down the sink because there was no plug. TV is not essential but it is nice to catch up with the news which I could after fixing the areial lead - however full marks for the sheer number of channels available.

On the plus side, the hotel has good undercover parking which was useful for people with motorcycles such as ourselves. The breakfast spread was huge and one of the best we came across, but above all the staff especially the receptionist were really friendly and could not do enough for us.

Loking at other reviews it may have been that we got a bedroom in the original hotel whereas I the rooms may be better in what looked like a newer extension. However, the hotel needs some serious love and attention and money spending on it and it definately NOT 3 star

Room Tip: The hotel seemed to have a new wing, perhaps these bedrooms were better. Ask for room away from busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manonthepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I spend a night in hotel Sport with my girl. We both were suprised how friendly and hospitable staff are in this hotel. Room was clean with big double bed. It's little hotel, but with soul.
It have finnish sauna also. Hotel is 200m from the center and 1 km from the famous cave.
Breakfast was really huge with a wide range of choice. You can rent a mountain bike also and receptionist-young boy was very helpful, he served me with many useful informations about biking around city.
Everything was just perfect and we will return next time for sure.

Room Tip: We had room number 128 which was quiet with big double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandurai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We (2A+1C) had booked a triple suite but were provided one for 2 Adults and 2 Children in late August for 1 night.
Good, quite location with free open unsecure parking in the rear. They also have a secure garage parking, if you want. Room was large with split airconditioner. It had a telephone, hair dryer, TV, free internet wifi, medium sized toilet, 2 chairs, 1 wall counter. The breakfast was a superb buffet spread of hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausages, choice of cheese, butter, juices, breads, cold cuts, yoghurts, fruits, etc.
We had an ordinary street view room, but I doubt any room had a better view. The airconditioner was very slow in cooling and would start only if the windows were closed. There's no fridge or bar or microwave or coffee-maker in the room - items which we did have in some other hotels that we had stayed on this trip. Carpet was old and had a few stains. Dinner/ lunch are served only for group bookings of 20 or more.
At 117€ for the 3 of us, it was good for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was late and we were tired... that is the only excuse I can come up with as to why we stayed here when common sense would have had us running away. We received a 4 bed room, that had a twin bed - where the two beds were rather thin mattresses placed on a wooden frame (no real bed to speak of). On of my kids was given a folding bed that was so lumpy we had to pile two blankets on it so he could sleep. There was no wardrobe, again just a wooden frame. The carpeting was peeling from the walls and you could hear noise from the downstairs cafe till late in the night.
The one poor lady in the hotel in the evening when we arrived was juggling bartending, waiting on the cafe customers and being a receptionist. Service was not speedy...

Stay away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogli43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Postojna
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jama
Hotel Jama
#1 of 2 in Postojna
164 reviews
11.2 mi away
Grc Zapolje
Grc Zapolje
#1 of 1 in Logatec
8 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hudicevec Tourist Farm
Hudicevec Tourist Farm
#1 of 1 in Hrusevje
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Rakov Skocjan Hotel
Rakov Skocjan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rakek
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mondina Guesthouse
Mondina Guesthouse
#4 of 12 in Postojna
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postojna Cave Rooms & Apartments Proteus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sport

Address: Kolodvorska cesta 1, Postojna 6230, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Inner Carniola Region > Postojna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Postojna
Price Range: $83 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sport 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sport offers modern & comfortable accommodation in a 3-star hotel. Together there are 125 beds. It is located near the centre of town and is only 1 km from the natural attraction Postojna cave, which is one of the most famous caves in the world. There is plenty of possibilities in and around Postojna for outdoor activities and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Postojna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing