We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Open today: 10:45 AM - 11:00 AM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Postojna Cave
from $96.85
More Info
from $50.66
More Info
from $106.15
More Info
from $54.28
More Info
Reviews (6,291)
Filter reviews
6,291 results
Traveler rating
4,437
1,394
321
91
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,437
1,394
321
91
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride small train stalactites and stalagmites electric train tour guide large group walking tour on foot non slip concert hall human fish degrees celsius language groups spaghetti rock formations mini train natural beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 6,291 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2019 via mobile

Wow what a great place to visit. Great half a day activity with the family. Amazing set up and guides.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank stevepA3741HQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2019

We went with our tour, I was so looking forward to this and it did not disappoint. You ride on a tram for the first part fo the tour than you walk on a trail thru the caves for about a mile.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

These caves are remarkable. A train takes you into the caves a distance of approximately 4 km and then you walk approximately 1.2 km through the most stunning caves and tunnels. The walk has some steep points, but the ground is level and easy to walk upon.
The guide was informative, explaining the history of the caves and some of the creatures that dwell there and demonstrating the acoustics in nature’s most stunning cathedral with a beautiful song!
Be warned, it’s a bit chilly down there, but well worth the visit. Adults and kids agreed it was a fantastic trip.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank annamgolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

It was a solid downpour in Lake Bled on our last full day in Slovenia so we decided to drive to the Postojna Caves. We are so glad we did! Perfect for a rainy fall day, we got in the English speaking line (they have audio headsets in other languages) and boarded an open car train. IT IS COLD! Make sure you where gloves and a jacket or you might not appreciate the incredible magnitude and vision of these caves. There is a 1.5 (?) km walk that is a bit steep so if you have mobility issues you can take a shorter version I think. Words cannot express the beauty. The stalagmites and Stalactites are magical and the ceilings high above. The guide was there to answer questions when we got out of the train. There was adequate time to take pictures. Yes, you can take pictures but NO Flash. Don't miss these caves! (Eat a Black Cave Burger when you get out at the cafe. Delicious!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank jay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2019

Some say they are, but to our estimation they are the largest we have ever visited around the world. The layout and guided tours are excellent ambling at a good pace from cavern to cavern to witness the most elemental of nature's creations and yet some of its most spectacular. The place is simply (pun) "cavernous," and includes room after room. We walked, climbed, ambled down slopes and even took an open tram through parts of the caverns, and at tour's end had a look at one of the creatures discovered in the waters of the caves, colorless newts. It is a must see if you're in Slovenia. Beats Luray Caverns in Virginia and even the grottos in one of the karst "mountains" out in Halong Bay, Vietnam!

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews