We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pleasent and imposing"”
Review of Hotel Marko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marko
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Portoroz
Certificate of Excellence
Oulu, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Pleasent and imposing"”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent nearly a week with my husband in Hotel Marko. Hotel is quiet and very nice. Location is perfect. The restaurant has excellent food, it was very nice to have dinner in the garden. Staff is very helpful and service was very good. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Old town Piran is also near, you can walk there, or take a bus. Beach is just across the street, if you want to swim. As a whole, the city Portoroz is worth seeing. I remember that vacation with warm and I'm sure we'll return Portoroz and Hotel Marko.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maarit I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    115
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
122
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Spent 2 night at Marko with a bigger group of bikers and found the hotel great. This is a place where the shower works the room in immaculate, the breakfast nice (and you can have it on the terrace/garden) and even the restaurant food is nice. We had couple of meals served on the terrace and both the food and the service were spotless.
The location of the hotel couldn't be better, the beach is across the road. Everything within walking distance and the staff very helpful. All in all: I would happily return there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odenisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a long week end at the beggining of July 2013. The hotel is in front of the sea, in the quiet side of the town but still in the center. The room were extremely clean and confortable, staff was so friendly and helpful and they could speak many languages. I liked the breakfast the most because it was served outside (as well as inside), next to the garden and facing the sea. It is not that type of breakfast you can find in big hotels (luckly!) but a healthy breakfast with fresh local bread, fresh fruit, and everything else one need to start the day. There are two beaches nearby, one just crossed the street, the other one just 2 minutes walk distance from the hotel. You can park your car in the garage underneath (7 euros/day) or for free on top of the covered garagae. We were looking for a relaxing weekend and we had it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaritissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent a weekend at hotel Marko last month and we had whale of a time, hotel is well situated so you can take a long walk both towards Piran or Portoroz and Lucija, staff was friendly and very helpfull, rooms are clean and comfy..overall,we enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plavusicalolica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A nice place to stay. One weekend of pleasure and the location is very pleasing. The room was very comfortable and clean. For the food we decided to go in restaurant a few minutes away.
Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
punta gorda
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Hotel Marko toward the end of last month during a cold spell. Check-in went very well and the male desk clerk was so incredibly polite and helpful. We had room #226 with a water view and private balcony. The room was moderately spacious and had a couch and desk in addition to a large bed with 2 nightstands and a wardrobe for clothes. The bathroom was not very clean, with mold in the shower, dark hairs in the sink and on the toilet seat, and a dirty trash bin top which I ended up washing myself just to not have to deal with it during our stay. We had some trouble with the safe but this problem was rectified immediately. Also, we were cold and the thermostat either didn't work or the heat wasn't turned on, so they brought up a space heater for us. But the overall charm and atmosphere of the hotel itself made up for these minor problems. The lobby is really pretty as is the dining area. The outdoor gardens were very well kept and added to the beautiful view. I didn't see many other hotel guests, and I don't think the rooms on either side of ours were occupied, and this probably contributed to incredibly quiet restful nights. We took a chance and ate at the hotel restaurant one night and were very pleased with our meals. I didn't see the cook, and the bartender apparently doubles as the server and he was so interesting and fun to talk with as we were the only patrons in the restaurant. The office staff made phone calls on our behalf to the local car rental agency and arranged for a pick-up and made copies of all our paperwork for us. The breakfast area was large and clean with a good selection of different foods including cooked eggs & breakfast meats, cereals, yogurt, fruit, rolls, cheeses & meats. The hotel is directly across the road from the water and close to town. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empress1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Definitely one of the best hotels on the Slovenian coast.
They are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, light and very clean, only the equipment may be outdated but quality manufactured and excellent maintained. I had a nice view from my room to the beach and Portorož, the surroundings are quiet and so green as the hotel is right on the edge of town events and markets. I'm sure we'll come back soon :D Definitely i recommend that for U.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoroz
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#5 of 24 in Portoroz
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apollo - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marko

Property: Hotel Marko
Address: Obala 28, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portoroz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Portoroz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marko 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Hotel Marko is located directly in the centre of Portoroz, only a few steps from the beach, and offers magnificent views of the sea. It also features free Wi-Fi access. Family-run for 3 generations, the Marko hotel features fully air-conditioned rooms surrounded by a picturesque park. The guest rooms, all accessible by elevator, offer views of the beautiful bay of Portoroz or of the green park from the balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Marko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marko Hotel Portoroz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing