We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second stay - still lovely”
Review of Hotel Marko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marko
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Portoroz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our second stay and it was just as nice as the first one. This time I found the staff was nicer. You can't beat the location and the lovely view from the balcony. Especially at night when having a drink on your balcony you can listen to the music coming from then distance. The breakfast was delicious. As a guest of the hotel you have acces to the Meduza beach - 4 stars (for Meduza 5 stars you have to pay 20 eur per person), when you're obliged to buy a sun lounger (6 eur). 2 sun longers and an umbrella cost 12 eur. I didn't mind that though as it looks more orderly that way than if people bring their own towels and beach tents. But there is always a sand beach nearby which is completely free.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someone1Ljubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 271 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

The type of the rooms are old fashion , the location is good and the beach meduza close to the hotel is nice but you need to pay 6€ per chair so it is not free as it written in the hotel reservation

Room Tip: Ask for see view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

the view and the balcony were great. the room was very clean and comfortable. It also had air conditioner as we were there in July with 33 C temperatures. The hotel is located right across from the ocean and very close to the city center.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meli50meli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was a lovely hotel in Portoroz, the decor is old fashioned, but I found it very cosy. The biggest asset to our room was the balcony overlooking the sea. The breakfast buffet offered a varied choice, however, I wasn't too keen on their scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon (very far from gourmet!) and I would have liked more fresh fruit instead of the tinned fruit.

We also enjoyed an evening meal on the terrace at the hotel. The starter (spaghetti with garlic and herbs) was wonderful, the main course (chicken) a bit boring and the dessert (tiramisu) was good. Prices at the hotel are very reasonable and the parking garage works really well and costs 7 euro per day. Be careful if you park in the main parking area while checking in as the parking attendants are extremely strict if you don't have a ticket - so either get a ticket or one person stay at the car.

We were very pleased with our one night at this hotel, and can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPHDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have very good memories about our stay at Marko's. The rooms were very clean and spacious with an awesome sea view to wake up to every morning. We especially miss their brekky which always was delicious and diverse. Their staff is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank Helga718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I went to this hotel because of recommendations on tripadvisor and other booking sites. I really dont see the reason why this hotel is so good written on these sites. I cant say that it is bad, but i was hoping to be much better. For instance, the bathroom needs a refurbishment and the breakfast was below expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iztok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

It took us 15 minutes to get to the Hotel from the airport by taxi (23 Euro each way). We had a 2-night stay at Markos. The hotel has a nice garden next to the main entrance.
Our room had a sea view and I would recommend the same choice for anyone who is planning to stay at Markos. It really looks nice even though there is a main road between the hotel and the sea. Noise is not a factor, especially with windows closed. Balcony is cozy, has chairs, table and thick walls on both sides so you can experience PRIVACY while outside. Our friends where sitting and talking on a balcony just next to ours and there was not a single sound we could hear. Hotels with balconies tend to have no or only thin walls where everyone sees everything - I hate it hence the reason I mention it.
Room itself was tidy and OK. Bathroom could use refurbishing though. I would have put less points for room if it wasn't for the view and the fact that the whole hotel is a little bit old fashioned (which isn't necessarily a bad thing).
We had a dinner at the small restaurant inside the hotel. Very good sea food. Breakfast was average on the other hand.
The location may be a problem. It is about 30 minute walk along the sea to get to an oldtown Piran (must see). My guess is If you don't have to be at Piran on every day of your stay you will be satisfied with Marko.

Room Tip: View from the sea view rooms is worth a higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilotnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoroz
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
649 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
0.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Marita
Boutique Hotel Marita
#18 of 24 in Portoroz
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Remisens Hotel Lucija
Remisens Hotel Lucija
#14 of 24 in Portoroz
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marko

Address: Obala 28, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portoroz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portoroz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Portoroz
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range: $86 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marko 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Hotel Marko is located directly in the centre of Portoroz, only a few steps from the beach, and offers magnificent views of the sea. It also features free Wi-Fi access. Family-run for 3 generations, the Marko hotel features fully air-conditioned rooms surrounded by a picturesque park. The guest rooms, all accessible by elevator, offer views of the beautiful bay of Portoroz or of the green park from the balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Marko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marko Hotel Portoroz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing