We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Conference at Grand Hotel Bernardin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Portoroz
Reviewed May 21, 2014

It's one of the few hotels where you enter the hotel on the Top floor and go down to your rooms.
Excellent Conference rooms, fantastic view of the Mediterranean sea. very good rooms and very good staff.
Unique experience for our conference group was a grand welcome by traditional dance by senior couples while we were registering!
Location of this hotel is unique.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing. Higher floor may give better view of sea.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajiv1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Bernardin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 526 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

we came there for a conference, not sightseeing. The rooms remember the communist times, but they don't miss anything important. We had a view on the bay and that was breathtaking. Restaurant was cosy due to the low season, we enjoyed the food. the pool is tiny with a great view and salty water! conference facilities are very practical

Room Tip: take as high floor as possible, as the reception is on the top one!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asmigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in one of the nicest location! Amazing view from the rooms with balcony. You feel like cruising in a sea. We stay with half board and breakfast was usual with many choices of cheese and cold meat, omelet and veggies, fruits and Slovenian fresh yogurt with homemade jam. We went for dinner at 9 and they serve us from the menu not buffet style dinner. It was really nice dinner with delicious traditional dishes. Spa was great! Tea room after treatments " must do " ! Very nice bar downstairs. Friendly staff. Very quick service! Recommend for two because there is nothing to do for kids. Total relaxing 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zatakovaia Alla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This Hotel is located just at the point of a peninsula, nearly isolated. No road between seashore and Hotel building. It is a huge complex-11 floors high leaning on a steep hill. You enter right on top Level, where the reception is located and then move downward by Elevator to your assigned floor and room. The rooms are of medium size, quite nice. Bed is good and the Environment is very calm and natural - good sleep garanted. What is really spectacular- when you sit on the balcony high directly above the seashore . The bathroom is fine, nothing special to be reported.
What is really excellent: the Food. We had dinner buffet and selection and taste were definitely above expectation. Same is true about breakfast: good coffee and excellent offer in quantity and Quality. Very interesting: Fonda's bio-fishfarm for seabass nearby and salt mines.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

While being settled in a marvelous location the hotel is unfortunately tired. It had better times and needs a thorough renovation.

Nevertheless I'd share some details:
1) Before going do review the price offers (eg, via booking.com the price was better than directly with the hotel) even if you visit a conference there.
2) Reception is attentive and helpful.
3) Rooms outdated with the very small bathroom (no separate shower cabin). It is advisable to ask rooms on higher floors (due to pleasant view) and to avoid a sewage smell from outside (my colleague complained about that).
4) Restaurant is fine, but decoration is rather old-fashionable. Breakfast is good (coffee not).
5) Parking is free for guests. Be aware that you have to take a card from reception to exit parking (no sign, no info when arrived from reception unfortunately, made an empty run to take a car).
6) It is less than 5 mins walk from the ground floor (which is on a seaside) till free bus to Piran city centre (goes frequently 7am-11pm as I remember).

All in all the hotel is acceptable for conferences (due to good conference facilities and enough space) but I'd give a thought if going there privately.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rower1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent a couple of nights at the hotel as I was attending a conference in October, which is pretty
much 'off-season'.

A pity the pool was under maintenance, but then again, the sea was still available for a swim. Just at the back of the hotel, you have a particular area for sunbathing and swimming. Dressing gowns and slippers were available in the room.
I didn't try the spa inside of the hotel either, so I can't comment on that. A colleague was quite surprised (in the positive way) of the gym-area, so I guess that was fine as well.

Breakfast times are from 7 till 11 and there's a wide variety in offered food. However, my 'english' breakfast never got completed and the same sausages did taste a wee bit different the day after. I didn't have other lunches or meals in the hotel, as there are plenty of restaurants in the area offering something for everyone.

The service was good as well, I only had to contact a few times the staff and they were happy to help me out.

Wifi was pretty stable as well.

There's a bus-stop nearby to the north if you want to go and visit Piran (close enough to go on foot as well) which is a free navette and there's another one nearby eastwards, from the public bus transport, if you want to go whichever direction.

Going further down to the south, there are some bicycle rentals, in case you'd want to cross the border with Croatia, which is less than 10 km away. I didn't find one really close to the hotel, but I guess that's just because it's off-season.

Room Tip: Try not to having a room located on the first floors as the only thing you'll see are people pas...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessie3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Came here for a conference and although in need of a little updating, it is fine for a holiday. Having said that it seems that the majority of visitors were either there for conferences or as part of a coach/holiday tour.

Lovely spa, nice swimming area in the sea in front of the hotel and the indoor pool was good too. The fitness centre was a little too small. It needs more equipment.

The room I had was clean and tidy, just a little too warm - the air conditioning wasn't terribly efficient, but as I visited not in the height off the summer, it was bearable.

The balcony is very nice, and lovely to sit on in the afternoon with a long, tall cold drink.

The room could do with tea making facilities and more English channels on the TV. At least BBC World News or one of the American news channels apart from just CNN.

Love the dressing gowns and slippers, essential as you have to leave the hotel to go to swim in the sea.

The restaurants are rather overpriced and the buffet for 22 euros is terrible value for the quality of the food. You would be better off coming out of the hotel turning left towards Portoroz and eating at the "News Cafe" (about 5 mins walk away) - cheap and edible!

The breakfast buffet needs a lift. It looks and tastes old fashioned as if it was cooked in the 1970s!
Choices for breakfast are a lot, but they are the same every day. I was only there for 7 nights, and I got bored of the food. Really? - 4 different types of sausages? How about baked beans and fried potatoes for a change? Waffles? Sautéed mushrooms? It's great to have 4 different types of strawberry yogurt, but at the end of the day they are still just strawberry yogurt!!

On the plus side there are lots of different types of sliced cold meat and ham, and cheese and there is a person who makes pancakes for you whilst you wait - brilliant! Maple syrup would be good though.

The hotel is almost equidistant between Piran and Portoroz. I prefer Piran; quaint and not so touristy. Portoroz appeared to me to be a little too "chavvy" ! You can get to Piran by the free bus, but the walk will only take about 15 mins. Nice restaurants, particularly "Pavels".

Overall, the hotel is lovely and if you like hotel based holidays it's the place for you. No sandy beaches but good swimming. Hell of a long way from Ljubljana but worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are best.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigblueballoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoroz
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Histrion
Hotel Histrion
#15 of 24 in Portoroz
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bernardin

Address: Obala 2, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portoroz
#3 Family Hotel in Portoroz
#5 Spa Hotel in Portoroz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Portoroz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portoroz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range: $162 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bernardin 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Bernardin forms a part of a prestigious St. Bernardin hotel complex with a private beach, situated between Piran and Portorož. The services exceed the quality of 5 stars in many aspects. The hotel and its surroundings is an ideal place for a perfect holiday on the Slovenian coast. Surrounded by peaceful, green surroundings and overlooking the sea, Grand Hotel Bernardin is the largest convention hotel in Slovenia.Grand Hotel Bernardin has 241 comfortably furnished rooms with balconies overlooking the sea. There are 10 luxury executive suites, 9 deluxe rooms and 7 mini suites. Furthermore, the hotel boasts a swimming pool with heated sea water, Paradise Spa Wellness Centre, two restaurants, Pečina Restaurant and Sunset Restaurant, Grand Café and a Cocktail Lounge with piano, Grand Garden Covered Terrace and Laguna Bernardin Water Park.Grand Hotel Bernardin is the largest convention centre in Slovenia. Situated in one of the most beautiful parts of the Slovenian coast, it is suitable for holding various events. The largest hall Europe accepts up to 1,100 participants.Thanks to its multi-purpose design, Bernardin Congress Centre can host various events: congresses, seminars, workshops, presentations, press conferences, business meetings, as well as banquets, fashion shows and gala dinners.Situated at an outstanding location just off the coast, Grand Hotel Bernardin is an ideal place for a memorable wedding of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bernardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Portoroz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing