We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With a view on the Croatian coast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Portoroz
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“With a view on the Croatian coast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent a couple of nights at the hotel as I was attending a conference in October, which is pretty
much 'off-season'.

A pity the pool was under maintenance, but then again, the sea was still available for a swim. Just at the back of the hotel, you have a particular area for sunbathing and swimming. Dressing gowns and slippers were available in the room.
I didn't try the spa inside of the hotel either, so I can't comment on that. A colleague was quite surprised (in the positive way) of the gym-area, so I guess that was fine as well.

Breakfast times are from 7 till 11 and there's a wide variety in offered food. However, my 'english' breakfast never got completed and the same sausages did taste a wee bit different the day after. I didn't have other lunches or meals in the hotel, as there are plenty of restaurants in the area offering something for everyone.

The service was good as well, I only had to contact a few times the staff and they were happy to help me out.

Wifi was pretty stable as well.

There's a bus-stop nearby to the north if you want to go and visit Piran (close enough to go on foot as well) which is a free navette and there's another one nearby eastwards, from the public bus transport, if you want to go whichever direction.

Going further down to the south, there are some bicycle rentals, in case you'd want to cross the border with Croatia, which is less than 10 km away. I didn't find one really close to the hotel, but I guess that's just because it's off-season.

Room Tip: Try not to having a room located on the first floors as the only thing you'll see are people pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessie3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    214
    76
    28
    11
See reviews for
107
166
12
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Came here for a conference and although in need of a little updating, it is fine for a holiday. Having said that it seems that the majority of visitors were either there for conferences or as part of a coach/holiday tour.

Lovely spa, nice swimming area in the sea in front of the hotel and the indoor pool was good too. The fitness centre was a little too small. It needs more equipment.

The room I had was clean and tidy, just a little too warm - the air conditioning wasn't terribly efficient, but as I visited not in the height off the summer, it was bearable.

The balcony is very nice, and lovely to sit on in the afternoon with a long, tall cold drink.

The room could do with tea making facilities and more English channels on the TV. At least BBC World News or one of the American news channels apart from just CNN.

Love the dressing gowns and slippers, essential as you have to leave the hotel to go to swim in the sea.

The restaurants are rather overpriced and the buffet for 22 euros is terrible value for the quality of the food. You would be better off coming out of the hotel turning left towards Portoroz and eating at the "News Cafe" (about 5 mins walk away) - cheap and edible!

The breakfast buffet needs a lift. It looks and tastes old fashioned as if it was cooked in the 1970s!
Choices for breakfast are a lot, but they are the same every day. I was only there for 7 nights, and I got bored of the food. Really? - 4 different types of sausages? How about baked beans and fried potatoes for a change? Waffles? Sautéed mushrooms? It's great to have 4 different types of strawberry yogurt, but at the end of the day they are still just strawberry yogurt!!

On the plus side there are lots of different types of sliced cold meat and ham, and cheese and there is a person who makes pancakes for you whilst you wait - brilliant! Maple syrup would be good though.

The hotel is almost equidistant between Piran and Portoroz. I prefer Piran; quaint and not so touristy. Portoroz appeared to me to be a little too "chavvy" ! You can get to Piran by the free bus, but the walk will only take about 15 mins. Nice restaurants, particularly "Pavels".

Overall, the hotel is lovely and if you like hotel based holidays it's the place for you. No sandy beaches but good swimming. Hell of a long way from Ljubljana but worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigblueballoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I spent four nights at this hotel in October 2013, attending a conference. Consequently, my review will be a little different since I wasn't here during the tourist season and didn't really experience many of the hotel amenities. However, what I did see and enjoy was well done. I could see this would be a great location to vacation - swimming and sunning right at the base of the hotel, lots of restaurants and some diversions within a few kilometers (the hotel is between Piran and Portoroz, but one can walk to both in about 15 minutes). There is a full-service spa at the hotel and although I wasn't there it seemed to be of a high standard (but expect also to pay the market price for the services). Hotel staff were professional and accommodating, although one day I did have to contact housekeeping as the room had not been made up. The room was typical but came with quite a few little extras and had a great balcony overlooking the 'concrete beach' and water. The breakfast was very good with plenty of variety. I took no other meals in the restaurant and frankly it seemed a little 'cold' or formal for such a seaside resort. I believe they try to make a five-star hotel out of one that is four-star. It isn't the former but certainly is the latter.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony that faces the water. It is desirable to be located as high up as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent hotel. Located between Portoroz and Piran. Beautiful sea views from all rooms. Excellent spacious balconies. Private beach, free sunbeds and umbrellas. Indoor pool is very nice. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetoslav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel , probably the best in Portoroz - Piran for a beach holiday . Private beach with towels , umbrellas and sun beds (Go pedestrian street )
All rooms with sea view, excellent spacious balconies . Good breakfast , lots of parking priotele . excellent wireless internet signal. The center of Piran, 15 minutes on foot

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

One of only a few great hotels of Slovenian Riviera. Located between Portorose (casinos, sandy beach, not so existing nightlife) and charming old town of Piran - both about 15 mins walk away. Hotel in need of update, but still with good, clean rooms and very good service. Sea view is simply spectacular. Breakfast with plenty of choice, but nit very tasteful. Hotel concrete beach is probably the most luxurious you can find in this part of Adriatic, especially premium sector which is charged at 15 euros. Indoor pool very nice but too small and often over-crowded.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hefnerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

A large hotel in an ideal location between Piran and Portoroz. All the rooms look out to sea, but you might want to request a higher floor beforehand to get the best views. The reception and restaurant staff were all very helpful. The rooms are good quality without being spectacular. If you have the half-board package you'll find there's a wide range of good quality food. The hotel is part of quite a large complex including several swimming pools, bars and shops which makes for some extra options if you don't wish to go further afield all the time.

It's a bit of a shame, given that there are several pools that one of them couldn't be adult only (they're all quite busy). The indoor pool in the hotel itself is very nice, but quite small. The 'beach' is mainly a concrete promenade, but is actually quite good with spaces always available and access to swimming in the sea.

Although officially part of Portoroz, the hotel is closer to Piran (15 minutes very pleasant and flat walk along the seafront). The walk to Portoroz in the opposite direction is about 20 minutes again flat and along the seafront. There is a 'land train' that runs past the hotel and to Piran / Portoroz at regular intervals, though the ride is a little bumpy. Alternatively, there's regular bus services close to the hotel and if you want to cut short your walk to Piran there's a free shuttle bus from a car park five minutes from the hotel to the square at Piran. Whichever way you cut it there's plenty of options to get to both resorts (including hiring cycles) and unless you really want to be in either resort, I think this hotel is the ideal and best location.

If you have time you should really consider trips to the capital Ljubjana and both large lakes Bled and Bohinj. All were really good. The only problem we had was actually finding organised trips, especially to the lakes where we had to accompany a Russian trip (although luckily we did get some commentary in English). Unfortunately, there's not a lot of long distance public transport - not many trains and the buses are very slow. So if you do want to visit the above you'll probably need to find organised trips or hire a car. If you have more time Venice, Trieste and Rovinj (highly recommended) are all within easy reach. I'd suggest that if you wanted to visit all of the above places and still have time to relax in the hotel and locally, then 10-14 days would be ideal.

Piran and Portoroz are very different but make for a very nice contrast. Piran is a small Venetian town with winding alleyways and lots of bars and restaurants. It is very small but makes for a very relaxing place to wander around. As you'd expect there are lots of fish and seafood restaurants mostly offering similar fare (we had a warm welcome and good value food at the Pirat). One tip is to go to the rooftop bar terrace at the art deco interior-styled Hotel Tartini (you don't need to be a guest). At night this gives a lovely view over Piran.

Portoroz is bigger and more modern, but not without charm. You can happily walk along the seafront and take a drink in one of the many bars. When we were there we luckily found the men's Wimbledon final on at the tennis club at the far end of the town, which made for a very enjoyable afternoon. All the locals we met were very friendly and mostly speak very good English - the same goes for the tour guides and hotel staff.

Slovenia has a bit of everything, whether you want Mediterranean sunshine, alpine lakes or a cultural small capital city. It's a small country with a lot to offer and Piran / Portoroz offer a great base to explore both the rest of the country and neighbouring Italy and Croatia. And I think the Bernardin offers a very good place to relax and take advantage of both the local environment and the attractions further afield.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UkOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portoroz hotels
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#6 of 25 in Portoroz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Histrion
Hotel Histrion
#10 of 25 in Portoroz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bernardin

Property: Grand Hotel Bernardin
Address: Obala 2, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portoroz
#3 Family Hotel in Portoroz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Portoroz
#4 Spa Hotel in Portoroz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Bernardin 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Bernardin forms a part of a prestigious St. Bernardin hotel complex with a private beach, situated between Piran and Portorož. The services exceed the quality of 5 stars in many aspects. The hotel and its surroundings is an ideal place for a perfect holiday on the Slovenian coast. Surrounded by peaceful, green surroundings and overlooking the sea, Grand Hotel Bernardin is the largest convention hotel in Slovenia.Grand Hotel Bernardin has 241 comfortably furnished rooms with balconies overlooking the sea. There are 10 luxury executive suites, 9 deluxe rooms and 7 mini suites. Furthermore, the hotel boasts a swimming pool with heated sea water, Paradise Spa Wellness Centre, two restaurants, Pečina Restaurant and Sunset Restaurant, Grand Café and a Cocktail Lounge with piano, Grand Garden Covered Terrace and Laguna Bernardin Water Park.Grand Hotel Bernardin is the largest convention centre in Slovenia. Situated in one of the most beautiful parts of the Slovenian coast, it is suitable for holding various events. The largest hall Europe accepts up to 1,100 participants.Thanks to its multi-purpose design, Bernardin Congress Centre can host various events: congresses, seminars, workshops, presentations, press conferences, business meetings, as well as banquets, fashion shows and gala dinners.Situated at an outstanding location just off the coast, Grand Hotel Bernardin is an ideal place for a memorable wedding of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bernardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Portoroz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing