We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Portoroz
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at Riviera hotel for 1 night in the end of Dedember 2012 with family and group of friends. This hotel is a seafront property in Potoroz on the Istrian Peninsula with a great location on the promenade.We did not have seaview room,which would have been wonderful.The rooms are small but clean.Hotel reception staff very helpful.Superb spa: Massage services and a heated, saltwater swimming pool,salon, fitness area and children's pool area. Just few min.walk from the most beautiful town on the Slovenian coast Piran.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank massimomanilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 431 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel has a very good potential, but there are some very annoying issues that could damage your vacation.

Pros:
The breakfast is rich, with fresh fruits and vegetables (quite rare in Slovenia) and quality coffee.
Location is nice
If you're lucky to get a sea view room, you'll enjoy it.
Internet is free (Wifi and a public computer near reception)

Cons:
Let's start with the room. If you're not lucky enough to get a sea view room, like we did, you are destined to see the parking lot, garbage bins, and a close by apartment hotel. I added a picture showing you the view from our room, so you won't be disappointed like we did.

What made us furious was the greediness and stinginess of hotel management and owners. Here are just a few examples:

If you want to use the bathrobe, you have to pay for it.
If you want to use the sun umbrellas in the hotel pool(!), you have to pay for it!
If you want a beach towel for the beach or the pool, you have to pay extra.
If you want a baby cot, you have to pay extra (unlike many hotels, including hotels in Bled)
Don't have high expectations for hotel beach as well. It's just concrete pavement and then deep water. Defiantly not child friendly. Plus, as you'd expect from this hotel, you have to pay for a the bed and the sun umbrella, and it's not private, and people keep walking near you.

Because we traveled with a child and an infant, and we didn't want them to mess with the minibar, we kindly asked the receptionist to empty the minibar. It took them 2 days(!) and then they wanted to charge me for that, saying I'll use it as a fridge. So I had to tell them to take the minibar itself out.

Though we were 2 adults, 1 child and a baby, we only got 2 towels for our room (and 2 hand towels). When we asked for another towel, well, we were kindly asked to pay extra.

At checkout the receptionist wanted to charge us for parking in the Hotel parking. Only After I refused to pay claiming that their website says parking is free-of-charge, he made a few phone calls and canceled the charge.

During our 5 day stay, the receptionists failed to tell us that there were special activities for the kids. We only found them by an accident.

I strongly recommend you think twice before checking in Hotel Riviera.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank travellingfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifeClass, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear guests,

to begin with, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as a guest in our hotel in Portorož. We are delighted to read of your well-being and appreciate your having forwarded to us your negative observations regarding our services. Because of a misunderstanding, there was some dissatisfaction with your extra charges. We regret you didn’t react before you left the hotel which would have given us an opportunity to solve the matter to your satisfaction. We apologize for this and we thank you for your understanding.
We would be pleased if you contacted us directly on booking@lifeclass.net, as we would like to give you more detailed answer concerning your stay.
We hope to be able to greet you again in our hotels in the future giving us also the opportunity to correct your impression.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed 4 nights mid Sepember in a sea view balcony room on the 5th floor. We were part of a group doing a tour of Slovenia, the Riviera was our second stop.

Our room had a wonderful view over the harbour and out to sea, with a balcony and two chairs. Excellent evenings sitting with a bottle of wine watching the world (at least the Portoroz world )go by . Some of our group were disapointed as they had rooms at the back , looking at a brick wall, so it is worth paying the extra for a sea view.


There was slight problem with traffic noise because our wooden double glazed balcony doors didn't fit at the top so let noise in. Also the room though comfortable was in need of an refurbishment.The screen over the bath did not fit,consquently when the shower was used, the bathroom flooded and had to be mopped up everytime with the bath mat !!!!!!!

On the plus side, the food was good and varied, both at dinner and breakfast time.The house wine was good and inexpensive, and the coffee shop just outside the hotel served gorgeous cakes and coffee.

Transport is inexpensive and a visit to Piran is a "must do".

All in all the Riviera is a good bet for a stay in Portoroz

Room Tip: High floor sea view - essential !!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Four day break as part of a tour. This was expected to be a time to relax., Our room was very small; no balcony; only one dining type chair in double room. We had to lift the chair over the bed if anyone wanted to cross the room. Nowhere outside to sit and sunbathe except by the pool which had many rules and regulations and charged for sun shade; was entered by way of chip card, which had to be returned on leaving, if lost a fine levied. There were charges for bathrobe (I told the receptionist that I didn't want to buy it, but she failed to see the humour and wanted six euros for the use of).
There was a garden beneath our room in which I could have relaxed but this was closed for some reason.
The food was quite good but I will not return to this hotel as it did not meet my needs

Room Tip: Ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StaffordBarbaraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly staff, food at breakfast and dinner very good. We enjoyed the fact that you could use the nearby Hotel Grand swimming pool facilities, the only bizarre things was on a Tuesday our hotel swimming pool was closed until 14:00hrs and the same for the Hotel Grand on a Thursday, but at least you could use the other hotels facilities. Room nice with 26" Philips flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi in the room, if not a bit slow 300kb. There was a shower and no bath. Would have been nice to have a sea view, as our room was at the back facing a concrete wall.
No a great deal to do in the resort, the local buses are cheep if you buy the tickets from the news agent first for 60 cent each way to Piran. 2.70€ each way to Koper on local bus, buying the tickets on the bus.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank AndrewCM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Exquisite hotel with marvelous Spa and huge fantastic indoor pool, serves delicious food and has spacious rooms. Experienced courteous personnel who even made the effort to prepare for my friends (who were arriving late at night and would miss dinner) some cold platter, how thoughtful! The convenience of having your car parked by the valet and retrieved from the garage is one fine service. Altogether, nothing to complain about... merely praises... KUDOS!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDP-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights here and we had an amazing view on the seventh floor were you could see a beautiful view of the area and the sea. We had a clean room and a great service from the stuff. Fantastic place to stay in Portoroz

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kachrico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portoroz hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
0 mi away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apollo - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Lucija
Remisens Hotel Lucija
#13 of 24 in Portoroz
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neptun - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa

Address: Obala 33, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Portoroz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Portoroz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range: $111 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a modern hotel with a magnificent view of the Bay of Piran. The hotel is located in the immediate vicinity of the hotel beach and features outdoor and indoor swimming pools with heated water, the Wai Thai Centre of traditional Thai massage and the magic Mediterranean Mystica terrace. That makes the hotel ideal for complete relaxation and regeneration of the body and soul, summer gatherings, events and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Portoroz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing