We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Portoroz
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Just had a 3 day stay at The hotel Riviera, rooms were large, if you can upgrade go for a room with a sea view. Every meal time was very crowded and busy. Food was O.K. Great location right on the sea front.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 427 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Riviera out of the five LifeClass hotels next to each other. We stayed at a room overlooking the sea which is across the main street so it was a bit too loud. An outside pool belongs to the hotel, which is pretty small, so we went to the public beach instead. There are many sun beds there that you have to pay for, but it is cheaper for hotel guests. The beach at Riviera is not sandy, there is actually a concrete walkway along the sea and you can go into the water on steps, but a little further there is also a sandy beach.
The hotel room was good altogether, cleaned and towels changed every day (they provide an extra towel for the swimming pool). The food was not so fine, I would rather recommend to eat at local restaurants, there are many on the main street. The staff was quite unfriendly, but they speak English and can help if you're trying hard. There was a really well equipped fitness room at another LifeClass hotel that you can use for free. We did not try the inside wellness bath but it looked very nice.
The location is great, there is a bus stop next to the hotel, where you can catch the bus to Piran.

Room Tip: The sea-view room is a bit too loud but you might not need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JZsuzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We are returning guests, it is our fifth consecutive summer at Riviera. And that tells already everything.
You cannot beat the view from this hotel, and yes, it is beautiful.
Our only issue with the room was that the bed was way too hard for us. Luckily there is a thai massage center in the hotel so we could let our backpain caused by the bed disappear by them.
The breakfast was really generous, as well as the dinner.
We also loved the pool area.
The hotel beach is very close, it is like 50 meters.

The only issue we had during our stay was in the hotel beach restaurant "Medusa".The table cloth was dirty, and the waitress was a joke. She looked bored when she took our order, taking no notes on it. Then I though oh, what a good memory she has. But, after a few minutes she came back and asked us again what did we order...
When we finally got the food, we got only two of the three items ordered. So she was not a memory master, as I originally thought, she just hated her job and was totally disinterested in doing it well.

So I can recommend the Riviera, but avoid its beach restaurant "Medusa".

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelmutHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I spent a week here recently, having booked it as part of a 2 centre holiday in Slovenia ( the 2nd week was in Lake Bled). We booked the holiday through Crystal Travel and took their advice re which hotels to use.
We loved the Hotel Riviera-beautiful location, great facilities and lovely evening meals each day. We never once felt inclined to eat out as food was so good and varied.
My only complaint was having to pay for the use of pool towels -a charge of 3 euro a day each. I never take beach towels with me when going to a hotel as any other hotel I ever stayed in would have had complimentary towels for pool use.

Having said that, we were thrilled with everything else. We had a lovely room with balcony on the top floor with fabulous views over the sea ( room 506). Not all rooms have a balcony so maybe we were just fortunate. I was glad the hotel (and travel agent) took note of my request for a high floor.
(I should say my husband was a little put out by music which was played a lot of nights in a bar/club across the road-it went on quite late, into the early hours of the morning, but it was a relatively small inconvenience when we were so happy with everything else).

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Spent almost a week at the Riviera with my partner and our experience was good.

Our double room had a big balcony facing the sea. Some of the rooms have only small french balcony. Hotel has couple of pools and one of them is outside. The sea is only a 50 metres away. They also have some spa treatments but we didn't try them. Hotel guests can use the swimming pools for free. Guests don't have to pay an entrance fee to the beach but the deck chairs cost a little.

Breakfast was included with the price and there were plenty to choose from. I especially loved their fresh fruits.

The room itself wasn't anything special but satisfactory to our needs. There was AC, safe and a minibar. Everyone at the hotel were friendly and polite. Hotel has a free WiFi but the signal wasn't very good at the farthest rooms. Also there was a limit for 1 hour per day.

Hotel is situated at the center of Portoroz and there are lots of restaurants nearby. On the weekend there were people partying and the noise from the bars came through. If you're a light sleeper, I recommend you bring earplugs with you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

LifeClass hotel in Portoroz is a good place for a SPA holiday. If you enjoy massages, you are at the right place. The hotel has 4 different SPA centers: thalasso (Vichy type), thai, indian and beauty. Each center offers a big variety of treatments at a good quality/price ratio. The centers are all clean and each has a special atmosphere. It is definetly a nice place to relax. The hotel also has a set of pools, where you can relax and get hydro massages at different temperatures. Rooms are very simple for a 4 stars hotel, do not expect a big luxurious place. Rooms are clean though, and the hotel is conveniently located on the sea side. The best thing about the hotel, apart from the SPA centers, is the bar on the ground floor. It has a fantastic choice of cakes, and they are all excellent! Food in general was good (buffet on half board) and presented a variety of dishes, cold and hot, that were all nice and fresh. Again, it is not luxurious but it is quite simple and nice, and the buffet is pretty big so anyone will find something to their taste.
From Portoroz, you can enjoy a nice walk to Piran, a beautiful village that stands out on the sea. You can also rent a car (the guy who runs the AVIS office is really nice) for a day or two and explore Slovenia. Ljubljana, a beautiful city, and Lake Bled would be the highlights of our own day-trip.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orange_man6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Spent a week at the Riviera on half board. The hotel was of fairly modern design and situated in the heart of the small coastal resort of Portoroz, just across the road from the sea. Positive: unlike other reviewers we did not experience any of the noise from the nearby bar as the season had just ended. The room was spacious and comfortable, but only had a shower. Negative: the evening meal was split into two sittings, and when the doors opened it was like the first day of the sales! The food itself was generally on the cool side, and not particularly varied. With a selection of good nearby restaurants I would suggest, where possible, to stick to B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Molesey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portoroz hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apollo - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Lucija
Remisens Hotel Lucija
#13 of 24 in Portoroz
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#5 of 24 in Portoroz
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa

Address: Obala 33, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Portoroz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Portoroz
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range: $117 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a modern hotel with a magnificent view of the Bay of Piran. The hotel is located in the immediate vicinity of the hotel beach and features outdoor and indoor swimming pools with heated water, the Wai Thai Centre of traditional Thai massage and the magic Mediterranean Mystica terrace. That makes the hotel ideal for complete relaxation and regeneration of the body and soul, summer gatherings, events and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Portoroz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing