We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot, but just average hotel”
Review of Hotel Histrion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Histrion
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Portoroz
Bled, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good spot, but just average hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel was build in 80', but this seems not the be the biggest problem. Rooms are OK, sea view is spectacular, location is the best in Portorož. The most disappointing was food. There is a big choice of food, but the taste of it is not as you would expect for this kind of hotel (4 star). All is based on lot's of oil, greasy souses, overcooked pasta... I think the hotel will have to bring the food on higher level. Means more tasty and also healthier.
Otherwise...I can't complain about the stay there and the personal is super nice.The only thing what I was missing was the gym. Guests are allowed to use the gym from Grand Hotel Bernardin (next door), but it only opens at 9am, which is pretty late for a gym.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fr34k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    134
    81
    45
    16
See reviews for
114
112
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I spent a long weekend with my family in the hotel. Stayed in an apartment room with sea view. I think the hotel needs some renewal, maybe it was 4star quality 5-7 years ago, but today it a 3 minus... Worn carpet, uncomfortable bed. However the wellness area is great: pools with salty water, pools for children etc, this part is highly recommended. The area is quiet, for a strange reason the lights on the balcony can not be switched off from the room, but they switch them off centrally at 22.30. This was a bit embarassing, when our child gone to bed at 9.30 and could not sleep cis if the light
All in all: Ok for a short stay, but do not expect high comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gebhardt1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to this hotel as nearby Grand Hotel Bernardin was fully booked, and the location is actually very good - close to the nice Piran town, and not far from Portoroz. But that turns to be the only plus of the hotel.

Having read some reviews and trying to make some safety cushion we went for studio type of room, hoping and will be better. Alas, it was only bigger. Room design is a marvel to behold if you're into weird things. Had 2 bathrooms, one extremely narrow, and one extremely big (it had a toilet and a set of bathing things like shampoo or head cap, but no sight of shower). Furniture is old and weary, and carpet on the floor had plenty of dirty spots from previous visitors. No things like slippers or robe. A safe, small enough to hardly accomodate an iPad, if you're travelling with something bigger (maybe a laptop?) - it won't fit in. Balconies had lamps, but we failed to figure how to switch them on.

Hotel itself is another designer's masterpiece, if you manage to get the room numbered in x80s-x90s you're bound to have a very long walk from the entrance to your room.

Breakfast is not impressive at all, same things every day, and not very tempting too, good thing there are a lot of good places to have dinners and you could settle just for some light snack.

Hotel personnel seemed to be playing the "I don't see you" game, we were hardly getting any welcoming words or smiles, they preferred to instantly turn away once catching your sight on them. The only person who could not avoid that was the guy on reception, he maybe even greeted us once in a week time.

Hotel "beach" is something we went to check once, it has only staired entrances into the sea, so if you're not a good swimmer (like my wife) this place is not for you. Instead we went to nearby Grand Hotel Bernardin beach, which you can use either for free withour having a deck-chair and umbrella (because, frankly, in Slovenia sea cannot be privately owned and thus no access restrictions can apply), or with those things for a fee.

All in all, a very badly maintained hotel, not a place we will return to by any means.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndreiMoscow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portoroz hotels

Eagle River, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This year was our second stay at the hotel Historian, great hotel. We came twice, with no room reservation, the staff at the reception was wonderful they always find rooms for us at the hotel. We will return next year again.The only thing I would not recommend is the garden restaurant at the Hotel Historian down stars, service was terrible, waiters didn't care, we waited for our drinks for about twenty minutes , we asked if they can bring us our drinks. The waiter told us we are not the only ones waiting. After that I was even more shocked the waiter and the Manager started to make fun of us , "Stupid American, Those Idiots, Who do they think they are, They can stay home if they don't like it here," They didn't know that I understood Slovenian. So I do recommend the hotel , not the garden restaurant. In Portoroz they have great restaurants with great service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innsbruck
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

A good time to be there! Also al the different things are verry well. The Beach is at the Sunnysite of this Hotel with friendly people around all the time. Near of this Hotel is the beautiful village PIRAN.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine with air conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpeninfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We have been visiting this hotel for about 20 years now, and can recommend it very highly. It is visually stunning, located on a beautiful stretch of coastline about 1 mile south of the charming old town of Piran that can be easily reached by following a coastal promenade past the lovely harbour of Piran, and a similar distance from the resort of Portoroz. The hotel is well kept and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There are several restaurants in and around the hotel and the food is always excellent and reasonably priced. The hotel is quiet and popular with both both couples and families. The one drawback [for some] might be that there is little in the the way of entertainment or sports facilities, althought there is an indoor pool and tennis courts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daylesfordians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, OH
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

While this is a very beautiful hotel, I can't begin to describe the "hands off" feeling you get about everything there. I don't recall ever seeing the lounge open during the day. You have to unload your car about a 1/4 mile from the front of the hotel. If you're lucky, you can find a bellman there. If not, you lug the stuff yourself. The staff is not friendly. It is hard to navigate thru the hotel. For some strange reason, when you get off the elevator on your floor, you have to go down about 8 steps to actually get to your floor. Carrying suitcases?! How user friendly is that? Lots of public areas that are closed. Very strange. I just go a very unwelcome feeling about the whole experience there.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank aragornsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portoroz hotels
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#5 of 24 in Portoroz
519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Remisens Hotel Lucija
Remisens Hotel Lucija
#11 of 24 in Portoroz
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vile Park
Vile Park
#21 of 24 in Portoroz
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Histrion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Histrion

Property: Hotel Histrion
Address: Obala 2, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Portoroz
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Histrion 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Histrion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Histrion Hotel Portoroz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing