We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best you can do in Piran”
Review of Hotel Piran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Piran
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Piran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The location is perfect if you want to stay in the incredible Piran. But the hotel is not that good, the bed was the worst I've ever slept in, and the staff is...well... they have a long way to go...
There are lots of hotels in the nearby Portorose, so next time Ill probably go there to sleep and spend the days in Piran.

Room Tip: Go for the suites!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EpicureansBGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Piran
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 873 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

On the Plus side: You just can't think of a better location for this hotel in Piran. I loved the possibility to swim in the Adriatic a few feet away from the lobby of the hotel. Hotel Piran has a great restaurant (which our guidebook did not mention) where we had the best meal of our whole trip, and breakfast was also delicious.

Somewhere between Plus and Minus: Service was very uneven. We had some of the best people, like the bus driver taking us back and forth to the parking lot who was very helpful, the manager of the front desk we met in the morning, our waiter at dinner etc. But we also had to deal with a person at the front desk who is way too laid back and incapable and does not deserve the job. More information available if necessary

To be improved: like every other place we visited in Slovenia, the AC was a little sluggish, and this can be a problem on a hot summer day.

Room Tip: We had a room without a view, and that means a room on the street. We kept our shutters closed the w...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Recently returned from a week here. Would certainly recommend this hotel, right on the sea in this great little town with its Venetian style buildings and Italian atmosphere. Room was comfortable and clean although more shelf/clothes storage space would have been useful. We found staff to be friendly and a problem with a loose and non working socket was sorted out quickly. Food is good and there is a terrace right by the sea which was great for eating, drinking and watching the passing scene. The waiters were particularly attentive and friendly. Piran itself is a warren of little streets and alleyways - climb the bell tower for a wonderful view over the town and the surrounding coast. Some earlier comments going back a couple of years don't seem very complimentary but I think the hotel has been refurbished and We certainly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Possibly a room on the sea facing side would be quieter but you'll pay more...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiljo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

“Piran and its best Hotel”
Recensione in attesa Should you want to experience a magical weekend in a old Venetian Village, swim in the sea at the hotel door steps, enjoy the many restaurants nearby, forget about the car, the busy traffic, the mass tourism, well, the best bet would be to spend your long weekend in PIRAN. And the Hotel Piran is the right choice. Newly rennovated, perfectly located in the centre and practically on the shore. Service is friendly and always with a smile. Breakfast buffet complete of everything you need: hot scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt, granolas, fresh fruits, 5 tipes of bread, croissants, honey, marmelades, selections of teas, coffee, milk. try to get a table outside close to the sea.
Piran has a car-free- traffic policy and all the village is pedestrianised. Restarurant: Trattoria Fontana. Try the Sea Bass, Spaghetti alla Buzara, cold starters, gilled calòamari, average bill is € 30, a bargain!. Bars: try Cafè Teather on the corner of the harbour. Live music, good wine list, cocktails. Try the Malvasia White Wine! will definetely go back!

Room Tip: Get the Suite with the balcony!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a 10 day holiday here in July and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel has been refurbished, and our sea view balcony room,was spacious and very clean. Its lovely to get up in the morning and look out to sea, or watch the local fitness group doing their routine. The staff were all very helpful and friendly at all times, including our waiter friend Saso. The food for breakfast and evening meal was buffet style, but the hot food wasn't topped up enough, so we mentioned this and they decided because there was so few of us eating bufftet style in the evening they would offer us a set 4 course meal of either fish or meat whchwas excellent. Piran is so beautiful, with is cobbled streets and quaint squares where little bars and restuarants are hidden away. The sea is beautiful clear and clean, but do take good beach shoes, and a mat as they are very rocky

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is the best hotel in Piran. Nice decoration and furniture, great terrace and view. The stuff is exellent. Waiters are nice, always smiling, quick and funny. The food is perfect! Thank you all for nice holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel has just been renovated so the rooms were pretty good but the beds and pillows are very hard. There was a chemical smell in the room maybe from the new carpets and furniture. It Smelled unhealthy due to new furnishings/carpets. The air conditioning worked adequately. Our room over looked the beach area but the balconies are arranged so that people from the other rooms can see right into your room so not a lot of privacy. Our balcony was concrete so hard to see the water unless you were standing up but like I said there was no privacy in the room so we had the curtains closed and then you cant enjoy the view. The staff were helpful and even found me one soft pillow. The breakfast was just OK. Coffee not very good. This hotel is located right on the water and in the evenings there is a lot of noise. There was pounding music until 1 am. That isn't the hotels fault that is just the way it is in Piran. If you like to party this is the place for you. Internet worked OK. Parking is in a lot about 15 minute walk away but the hotel will take you there or pick you up.

Room Tip: If you want quiet try the back of the hotel away from the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiss_ladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piran
0.8 mi away
Barbara Piran Beach Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tartini
Hotel Tartini
#2 of 4 in Piran
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#6 of 24 in Portoroz
526 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#5 of 24 in Portoroz
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piran

Address: Stjenkova ulica 1, Piran 6330, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Piran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Piran
Price Range: $77 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piran 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piran was renovated for the 100 years anniversary in 2013 with an upgrade to 4*.The hotel design is based on the cultaral heritage of the building with chic decoartion.Hotel Piran offers you 15 spacious suites and 74 modern 4* rooms. After a day at the beach which is located at the doorsteps of the hotel lobby, you may enjoy a sundowner on the roof top terrace and taste the mediterranean culinaric experience at the hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Piran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing