We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and salat”
Review of Pizzeria FoculuS

Pizzeria FoculuS
Ranked #21 of 585 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the middle of Ljubljana, only two steps away from all the tourist attractions, there is one of the most visited places in the city - pizzeria FoculuS. The name of the pizzeria is a tribute to exceptional history of the location - the Latin word "foculus" means "a metal container for burning coal, wood, etc.". In the past, ancient Romans used to gather here, and today, it is a place for everybody to enjoy. The location of the pizzeria is still one of those magical places from which a 5-minute walk will take you to the greatest cultural, historical and artistic attractions of Ljubljana. Only from here, you will be able to follow the steps of the ancient Romans, the great Slovene architect Joze Plecnik or the latest hits of world-famous musicians. The selection of pizzas we are offering is almost unlimited and all of them get this delicious brownish crust in our wood-fired beech pizza oven. There are 66 different types of pizzas including the tempting vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, wholewheat and even sweet ones. In addition to pizzas, we also offer our guests 14 different kinds of delicious fresh salads. All pizza dough is prepared with organic flour (BIO certificate).
Neustadt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great pizza and salat”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We only can confirm the reviews of the previous reviewers. Best Pizza and very good salat, which we ever had in Ljubljana. the first indication came from a very nice receptionist in our Hotel. We must say thank you for the ladies recommodation. We just can tell please try it your selve and get own experience. Wolfgang and Colleagues

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wobue59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    195
    45
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pizza the action”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Atmospheric pizzeria with a trendy vibe and young clientele, presumably students as near Jože Plečnik's University library. Friendly, efficient service. Huge, excellent pizzas; great variety of toppings. Meat feast included tasty local Carolian sausage. Large pizza just under eight euros - of sufficient size to give a sense of achievement on completion. Great lunch spot to fuel more exploring of this lovely city.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely restaurant with a nice atmosphere. There is a large choice of Pizzas available....can take a while to decide which one to choose!!
I really enjoyed my pizza...very tasty! My pizza was around 8 euros, which I thought was very reasonable for the size(a large pizza is huge!!))! Drinks are priced very reasonably, with a large beer being about 2.60.
Overall a nice, relaxed restaurant with good service! Worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachsue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Every pizza you could name”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This restaurant is just round the corner from the Antiq Palace hotel and there are over 50 pizzas on the menu. If there isn't one you like they will make one to your specific requirements and they are beautifully crisp and baked in a wood oven. They do sizes and unless you are really hungry the small one would easily feed two people. There didn't seem to be any other pasta dishes on the menu so if you don't like pizza this isn't the place for you. Service was good and the drinks were very reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patbhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great pizzeria!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I have been coming here for the past 5 years when we come over and visit my parents in Ljubljana. There is always a great, bustling atmosphere in here, predominantly made up of students during the day and mixed bunch in the evening. We've always loved the menu as it always offers fantastic choice at a great price. Beware of the salads, they certainly aren't side dishes, they're a full blown meal in themselves and delicious to boot! We've always found the pizzas yummy and for the price they're a good size. Throw in the friendly service and interesting decor, it makes for a great place to fuel up whilst taking in the sights and sounds of this beautiful city! Highly recommended! It's a shame that the other reviewer had a bad experience and felt it had gone down hill as we don't feel it has!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria FoculuS also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Pizzeria FoculuS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing