We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but expensive”
Review of Zlata Ribica

Zlata Ribica
Ranked #69 of 592 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Price range: $12 - $58
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Slovenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In one of the oldest houses in Ljubljana, the former engraved with the year 1578 which is above the front door wiping out time is already extractor wine in 1790.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were attracted by the outside table setting that we sat down for dinner. It was right to the river with people strolling along the street. We ordered the mixed shellfish and roasted lamb with beer. The food was very good but pricey. Total was 64.9 Eur. That was our most expensive meal so far in the Balkan Peninsula. Anyway they offered a dessert wine for the bill. Service was generally acceptable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thyik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    192
    109
    58
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brabourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was ok, food good, service poor”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We thought we'd try one of the classic riverside restaurants but were a little disappointed. The food was very nice and the beefsteak cooked perfectly rare. We had to wait a long time for any service even once it was clear that our plates were empty along with more importantly our wine bottle!! In the end having asked for the dessert menu quite some time before we finally gave up and asked for the bill. The waiter then perked up a bit and talked us into a dessert and Dissarono (was too late by then to start another bottle of wine). The chocolate souffle with the liquid centre was very dry - although I guess the centrer was marginally more moist. At 160 euro's for the three course meal plus a bottle of local white and 2 Dissarono's each really wasn't great value - especially compared to the other food we had over the weekend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikkiJackson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Solid riverside choice”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I am always surprised to see negative ratings outweigh positive ones for eateries where we had no problems and even chose to return to the next day. We enjoyed the food and also the wine. The service was fine and the waitstaff remembered us. Obviously this restaurant is trading on its excellent watewrside location, with some of the best views in town. I am done. The end.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“nice food on the river bank”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good international food with a choice of local meals. You can eat on the river bank with scenic view. Service is good. Prices could be lower

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overpriced place”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Sitting at the outdoor table in the sunny day we ordered first mushroom soup,which was really nice-prepared fm the mix of fresh mushrooms.After,we ordered fried calamares,which were overdry a bit.lookinf for the prices of fish,find it greatly overpriced,keeping in mind,tt it not fresh of course.With bill were serviced 2 blueberry liquores(Slovenian speciality).service was ok.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank admirerItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zlata Ribica also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Zlata Ribica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing