We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and very good service”
Review of Julija

Julija
Ranked #9 of 575 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Slovenian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and very good service”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were in Ljubljana for 6 nights and we visited Julija 3 times and we were not dissapointed at any time. We had different kinds of pasta and veal, swordfish and there biffsteak. Everything was just so tasteful and quite cheap. I really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,115
    785
    156
    43
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

An excellent restaurant that offers a fine selection of choices that includes traditional Slovenian options. I would strongly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

On our first night in Ljubljana, my boyfriend and I turned to trip advisor to give us some restaurant ideas. Julija had excellent reviews so we thought we should see for ourselves. We were not disappointed!

The restaurant is located on one of the pedestrianised roads behind the riverside path and feels a bit less touristy than the places on the riverside path itself. The place was packed when we arrived at 8:30 on a Saturday night but we were happy to wait for a table and the front of house was happy to reserve us a table for 45 mins later. The atmosphere is quite romantic in an unassuming way, which made for a very pleasant evening indeed. We were given Slovenien wine recommendations based on the type of wine we normally drink which whilst not the best wine I've ever tasted, were distinctly drinkable! For starter we shared the tuna tartar, which was particularly good when eaten with the lemon juice, salt and pepper provided. For main I had the rump steak, which was a very generous size, surprisingly lean and perfectly cooked to my taste. The accompanying dumplings and red wine jus were also excellent. My boyfriend had the sea bass with mashed potato and wild truffle sauce. He is quite fussy about how his fish is cooked and was very impressed. The wild truffle sauce was an excellent accompaniment. As the mains were so generously sized we could unfortunately not fit a pudding in, so we had an extra glass of wine instead. All in all, lovely atmosphere, great food and attentive service to top it all off. Make sure you visit this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LNeedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best in town”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This Resturant was recommended by hotel cubo
We had an exc lent lunch there and came back for dinner
Both the food , service and atmosphere were "10" very good value !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Winsome Julija for Seafood & Slovenian Traditions”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Located on a quiet corner off the main street in Ljubljana's Old Town, Julija Restaurant is all rustic charm - with large vases of flowers, baroque mirrors, blue-plaid tablecloths and a delightfully warm and friendly staff. Al fresco dining is available on a stretch of cobblestone street in front of the restaurant.

Julija serves native Slovenian dishes: Štruklji, a kind of dumpling filled with cottage cheese, and Idrijski Žikrofi ravioli filled with potatoes and herbs from Idrija in western Slovenia. Traditional soups and dishes using local Mangold (a kind of Chard) are specialties at Julija.

the expansive menu also includes beautifully-prepared Italian dishes, such as: Gnocchi, Risotto, several Pastas, Beef Carpaccio with Truffles, Tomato with Buffalo Mozzarella and Goat Cheese with Truffles on Olive Ciabatta Bread.

We loved the fresh seafood, generously garnished with truffles -- incredible!! Dishes included Grilled Octopus and Porcini with Prawns. Sea Bass with Truffles and Mashed Potatoes is a dream. Mediterranean Lamb and Beef Fillet garnished with Truffles are also available.

Desserts are special standouts. Try to save room for the Chocolate Soufflé or Crème Brûlée with Strawberries, Torta di Mandorle (Almond Cake), Panna Cotta with Wild Berries.

The wine list is restricted to Slovenian selections, but because there are so many Slovenian wineries, the choices are broad and the prices, as is the case with the entire menu, are excellent!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julija also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Julija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing