We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Mexican fare”

Joe Pena's Cantina y Bar
Ranked #108 of 592 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
IRELAND
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Standard Mexican fare”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Billed in one of the guide books I had as "the best Mexican in the former Yugoslavia". We found it to be exactly what you would expect from an average Mexican restaurant - no complaints but nothing amazing either. Would recommend to people who like this type of food but on reflection we would liked to have tried something different. As the day in question was my birthday I chose so I guess I should blame myself!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Waterford-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    55
    25
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious margherita and great athosphere”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Mexican style, margherita, tequila, delicious Mexican food....great restaurant with the best athmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOŽICA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not for the food but for the ambiance”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The food is not really good, everthing on the menu tastes alsmost similar. You should go here for the atmosphere, to see and meet people. Friday evening's this is the place to be.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MPH010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The tastiest margherita in LJubljana!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere and the tastiest margherita in town:-)) the best Mexican music and Mexican food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOŽICA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forde, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Slow but good food and drinks”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The food is good, though the service can be a bit slow at times. The drink menu however almost makes it worth a visit :) Dont come in too big groups as they are not always too good at handling it (we were 35 so its understandable). There is WIFI and the location is very central!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Pena's Cantina y Bar also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Joe Pena's Cantina y Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing