We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location in Ljubiana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
Ranked #5 of 57 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, California
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“The perfect location in Ljubiana”
Reviewed October 19, 2008

On a 2 week vacation in Slovenia, we wanted a place to stay right in the middle of Ljubiana that was not a big hotel. Petra Varl B&B was the perfect spot. It's not more than 5 minutes walk to anywhere in town. We just loved spending 3 days roaming around the most wonderful city and also being able to stop off at our hotel to drop off things and pick up things or to get food for a picnic from our little refrigerator in the room. The outdoor market is right in front of you, the walk up to the castle is right behind you, and all of the sights and restaurants are right within 5 minutes too. The room is comfortable, has wireless access if you want it, and a small kitchenette in a closet (but it's just fine and it's all there!). When you check in, food for your breakfasts in already in your room in your refrigerator. If you have jet lag it's really nice to be able to eat breakfast when you want, rather than on anyone's schedule. If I went back to Ljubiana, I would not stay anywhere else!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    64
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
125
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcs, UK
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Petra Varl has a great central location, right by the market, near the castle & short walk to all the bars & cafes by the river. I was really impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the room - the chocolates on the pillow a nice touch. THere was also a DVD player & some DVD's if you fancied watching a film - though why you would want to in such a beautiful city beats me.
Breakfast was perfect - it was a nice change to be able to make it yourself & eat in your room.

Would definitely stay here next time we come to Ljubljana!

  • Liked — Cleanliness. Central location.
  • Disliked — Stairs to the room could be problem for senior travellers & travellers with disabilities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bearebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Just back from a short trip to Ljubljana/Bovec and stayed two nights at B&B Petra Varl. I have been to Ljubljana many times and this B&B was perfect for our short stay. Clean and pretty room with balcony was compact but comfortable and well equipped. Excellent value for the super central location in the old town. We will not hesitate to book again on our next trip to Ljubljana.

  • Liked — location, decor, price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — not a problem personally but staircase may inhibit less able guests - no lift
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIrelandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at B&B Petra Varl at the start of August and had a great time. Our room was great with fresh fruit left out for us and a great sized bathroom and facilities.

The location was excellent, once we found it! Beware when you arrive, most cars are not allowed into the lovely cobbled street, so you may have to walk for a minute or so to find the b&b. It is through a lovely courtyard in front of the market. The market was brilliant, right on our doorstep and Ljubljana is a small city, so everything was within walking distance. The B&B is right beside the funicular up to the castle which was quite handy!

It felt more like a private apartment than a b&b, as we had our own small kitchenette, which was stocked with bread, milk, jam, butter etc., and we never encountered any other residents or staff during our stay. It would have been nice to maybe have got to talk to other guests and I dont think we actually met Petra, but it wasnt a big deal as we are quite independent travellers anyway!

If you get a chance, try to see some of Petra's art. We stumbled upon her big exhibition when we were in Tivoli park, and It was great! Well worth a visit.

Overall, a great experience in Ljubljana. We couldn't see very many hotels or hostels in Ljubljana, which makes this little place even more of a hidden gem.

  • Liked — Superb location
  • Disliked — There were a few flights of stairs up to the rooms, so it probably wouldnt suit disabled travellers
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fawnio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Ok, I'm one of those that clicks and clicks and researches and reads all my options before committing. Let me save you the trouble. This is a great location, great price, and a great place. Really! It is best, however, if you avoid the temptation to stay in one of the rooms with the little balconies for 2 reasons. If it is hot, you won't want to be out anyway, AND the market directly across the street starts at 6am and stores its flowers directly below your room (noisey as they rattle the carts out). Ask for the red room. It is more spacious and more peaceful. Katya has a very nice little closet that she has made into a self serve kitchen stocked with muesli, bread, butter & jams, coffee & teas, milk and juice. There are trays for you to take the meal into bed or in the giant tub. Plus it is clean. We loved Ljubljana (& I'm very finicky)!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jojoagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

No doubt B&B Petra is the most comfortable room with good value that you can find in Ljubljana. For Euro 55 per night with basic breakfast, you hardly can find such a good place with this price in Ljubljana. Even the hostels in the city could be more expensive than B&B Petra.
Our room is located on the second floor, the window overlooking to partial view of the castle on the hill. The owner Petra & her family are very friendly, they are just staying on the 1st floor. You can easily find them when you need any asisstant. Love this place and the city, you can't miss it when you travel to Ljubljana.

  • Liked — Very nice & clean room, location at city center
  • Disliked — No
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkle_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Petra Varl's B&B in April this year. The location was superb, and each morning I went across to the market for fresh fruit to compliment the breakfast.

Our room was immaculate and the little touches including chocolates on our pillow and a plate of homemade cake when we paid our bill on the last night were particularly appreciated.

We would highly recommend a stay at this B&B. We would also encourage you to take a trip to Lake Bled - fantastic place!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — My husband would have found breakfast a bit light had we not topped it up with something from the market, but it was great fun having a daily visit there, so I didn't mind!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish_Pink_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Property: Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
Address: Vodnikov trg 5a, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Petra Varl
Bed And Breakfast Petra Varl Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing