We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Accommodation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
Ranked #6 of 55 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Accommodation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2008

We had a great stay here, and given that we booked it sight-unseen over the internet, we were delighted! The location is perfect - a 2 minute walk right into the heart of old Ljubljana. Lots of good restaurants, bars, shopping & markets right there. There are 2 tourist offices with internet nearby. As soon as we realized what a lovely spot it was, we booked another night for when we passed through town again.

It is in an old building, set back from the street, so it has character & is quiet. Our room was very comfortable and was decorated in a simple, natural, yet pretty design. It had hardwood floors, it was very clean and the private bathroom was small, though spotless. The room had a TV and sitting small sitting area. It had 2 small windows, which looked onto the forest, so the chirping birds were lovely in the morning - a peaceful setting.

This is not a typical B&B, but rather a private room, or apartment, with self-serve breakfast. In the room is a closet kitchenette, which has a small fridge and sink, and is stocked with fixings for a light breakfast. There are so many delicious & inexpensive options for food around town - go drink cappuccinos by the river! Lots of vegie-friendly options around town too.

Petra, the owner, is pleasant and fluent in English.

The price was significantly lower than other accommodation options and it is certainly more charming than a lot of those places.

We would certainly stay here again and easily recommend it for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JabaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    60
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
117
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wavre, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

We have stayed at Petra Varl 2 nights in December. I did a lot of internet research before finding this place : it was not easy to find a nice B&B for only €50!!! Even a private room in a hostel costs more...
The room we stayed in was very cosy eventhough pretty small, and had a big terrace, which must be very nice in the summer. I would definitely recommend this place!
2 things though : for those who like to have a filling breakfast, don't go there : you have just bread and jam, along with juice and tea or coffe (and you have to prepare it yourself). If you are noise sensitive, bring some ear plugs : it is an old building and you hear people coming in and out late at night & early morning.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — The noise but i am very very sensitive so...
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SigiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

This Christmas season I spent a few days at the B&B Petra Varl in Ljubljana. The B&B is conveniently located at the very center of old Ljubljana, quietly tucked away at the foot of the castle hill. My room was very cozy and, for the comfort it offered, very reasonably priced at 55 EUR (60 EUR in high season).
Petra is a well known artist who designed her B&B just as she'd "want to be accommodated somewhere in Provence or Tuscany." My room had a separate entrance, a private bath, a breakfast kitchenette, cable TV, broadband Internet access and A/C.
I highly recommend a stay with Petra!

  • Liked — Very comfortable, great location
  • Disliked — One flight walk-up
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank axjul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

This lovely B&B is located in the old centre of Ljubliana just under the castle and opposite the open air market, where we used to go out each morning to buy a selection of fresh fruit. This place was a real gem as the supply of accomodation in Ljubliana isnt that great.

The B&B is located in a period building but the room and bathroom have been modernised. The bedroom was especially cosy and included TV, air conditioning and broadband Internet access for your laptop. Breakfast was included in the 50 euro price per night, and this was housed in the kitchenette discreetly tucked behind a door. Petra supplies sufficent amount of muesli, bread, jam, butter, cheese, fruit, milk, tea and coffee to last you for the duration of your stay. Breakfast is taken in the room, although i understand that the other room has its own balcony.

All the sights are within a few mins walk of the B&B and a 10 min walk from the Central bus and train station. Given the location and price i would have been hard pushed to have found anything better in Ljubliana.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Indy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Property: Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
Address: Vodnikov trg 5a, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Petra Varl Hotel Ljubljana
b&b Petra Varl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing