We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of AdHoc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AdHoc Hostel
San Francisco
1 review
“Don't stay here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

This place advertises itself as fun and funky. The funky part about staying here is that they never clean. Stayed here for 2 nights and never saw the bathrooms being cleaned. I am not even sure if the trash was ever emptied. In fact, I never saw anyone even working here except for the front desk person. If you're a university student and don't mind staying in a hostel that's more filthy than you dorm floor after a frat party, go for it. Otherwise, stay at "the other Alibi hostel", the M14. It's newer with much better facilities (i.e. a kitchen) and much more clean. There are several other Alibi hostel in Llubjana but I didn't visit them.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fotogiraffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    18
    29
    39
See reviews for
3
28
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA/ Kauai, Hi
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

this hostel was alright. we (my girlfriend and I) got put into the 12 person room and there were some seriously offensive smells and awkward times. The people working at Alibi were nice. And its in a great location right downtown by the river. For the price i am torn whether or not to recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryancharlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stayed in both this hostel and the one in Piran. The one in Piran is absolutely beautiful and the staff are so friendly. The hostel here in Ljubljana is really really bad. not joking when i say its the worst hostel i have stayed in. was there for 3 nights and didnt have a hot shower once. plus the drains are blocked so the floor in the shower is flooded and stinks. The window in our room was smashed and they never fixed it even though they had been aware of it before we got there. Staff were distant and felt like we were bothering them anytime we asked them something. only good thing about this hostel is the location but thats it. Trust me!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowtippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We have stayed at a lot of hostels, and this is the worst one ever. The location is great, right in the heart of the coffee shops next to the river. But the hostel is not kept up. There is rotting wood, pealing paint, mold all over the shower room, windows that do not open, and it was really dirty. The staff were young, friendly, and somewhat helpful but certainly did not make up for the terrible condition of the place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moveinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangkokJoey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

Girl at reception very friendly, provides a few scraps of linen and directs you to your room, which has no external key, and she couldn't find the key to my locker so she said i could just use on e of the flimsy lockers in the common room.

Very VERY basic rooms with no fan or air con and very hot, and of course at 4am six drunken geezers who'd been quite friendly at 4pm before they went out on their pub crawl come into the room and proceed to turn on all the lights, fall over on the floor, have very long loud conversations, and so on.

When they could see I'd woken up, they asked me how my night had been, "dude"! Then, they started wrestling on the floor. I asked them to be quiet only to be told I was a crybaby and should have booked a single room if I wanted peace and quiet and that they "didn't care".

I went down to reception and asked that they intervene, they said they weren't prepared to do anything, I ended up sleeping a few hours on a couch near a toilet where a flourescent light automotically flicked on every time anything moved and activated it.

I had paid for two nights in advance but naturally checked out after the first, and of course, despite asking for a refund for the second night given the circumstances, was offered no refund on the second night. So, whatever poor soul gets my reserved bed is indirectly giving 40 euro to the hostel.

This hostel needs to hang a PARTY HOSTEL sign out the front, to avoid any false advertising that you can go to sleep in a dorm and sleep the night through.

Insufficient and dirty toilets, filthy and decrepit common room, I could go on and on.

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in hundreds all over the world.

The Hostel ALIBI is PITIFUL and attracts party crowds on long weekends from England and other places in Europe who want to party on, in the dorm, at 4am right through.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS, OR STAY AT YOUR PERIL.

Mark

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Every minute I was on the premises
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BangkokJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

Awful place. Not enough showers, they werent clean. We planned to stay 4 nights, but eventually spend only 1 in this hostel.

The only good thing was the friendly girl at the reception, who was happy to give us the directions to go to BTC.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoisonedIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
244 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

I agree with the other reviewer. This hostel is terrible. It's the worst one I have ever stayed in. It smells and is dirty. You are given a wafer thing sheet and towel at reception. I could not wait to leave. It's noisy and has loads of stairs and doors banging all night.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank lmelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#15 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Town Rooms and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Cacao Rooms
Cacao Rooms
#13 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Emona Luxury Rooms
Emona Luxury Rooms
#30 of 55 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#9 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Vega
Apartments Vega
#40 of 70 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AdHoc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AdHoc Hostel

Property: AdHoc Hostel
Address: Cankarjevo nabrezhje 27, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Alibi Hostel)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — AdHoc Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful Ljubljana from the very heart of the Old Town for an affordable price. Many attractions are just a step away from our AdHoc Hostel. Whether you stay in an 8-bed dorm, a private room with 4 beds or a double room, you will get a cosy hostel atmosphere for affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your AdHoc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibi Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing