We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is another place to avoid, but good location anyway.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of AdHoc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AdHoc Hostel
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
2,492 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,107 helpful votes
“This is another place to avoid, but good location anyway.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night and fortunately only for 1 night.
The only thing that saves this hostel is its location near the river that places him in the city center, surrounded by nightclubs and restaurants.
Unfortunately, this hostel does not match with the minimum standards of accommodation, very messy, poorly maintained, dirty and unorganized, I opted for a double bed room, at the time of check-in I have been given the keys to the room and the sheets in my hands , maybe not even in a military barracks.
My room on the top floor, I think on the 3rd or 4th floor without elevator, the room was in an attic very small, bare and with a lamp hanging from the ceiling, a horror, I was hoping that the night passed quickly and leave this place as soon as I could.
Unfortunately, I got in this place by accident but certainly understand why the reviews are not favorable about it, I think in general that the hostel is not synonymous with slum but an informal place where to stay, meet people young and recreate an atmosphere a little 'home , so some facilities like this should make a nice restyling to align to the standard enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    18
    29
    39
See reviews for
3
28
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late - and not did they just mixed up our order, they gave us a really nasty dirty room... The showers where horrible, toilets dirty and there was loude work just outside the window. The location was good, but everything else make this a terrible experience. Choose something else

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose this place as it appeared to be a bargain in a great location. It cost 290 euros for a private room for 6 nights with a shared bathroom. Although this seems like a real bargain, it kind of wasn't even worth that much. The room had no real curtains so it was always bright, they couldn't rent us any towels which is pretty rubbish for a hostel. The wifi only worked in the common room (which had no facilities such as a fridge). The bathrooms however were the low point. The toilets smelled of stale urine and the shower had a 4 inch spy hole in the door, forcing you to stuff a towel in.

I would NOT stay here again, despite the great location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights in this hostel. The reception is at the ground floor, but the hostel is the first & second floors. There was an issue with one of the shower rooms but overall the hostel was clean. Guests and staff friendly. There was no kitchen, but drinks and snacks are available in the common room and anyway there are plenty of bars and cafes a short walk away. The hostel also offered free internet & wi-fi

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cybertraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

No lights in the loos, or showers, and few on the blackout stairs. I had to use the loo with the door open - nice. NO hot water (and was lied to, saying someone had used up all the hot water in the tank, and there was no one else there). Towels not provided - but then, I didn't want a freezing shower - hand held, the fitting was broken. The beds were reasonably comfortable, but the mattresses smelt of mouldy old dusty guests - I didn't quite like to think how old the mattresses were and what the stuffing now consisted of. Obscene graffitti on the walls.

I've had far better in remote Africa.

Two nights - booked and paid for - otherwise I'd have moved.

Great shame - it's central in Ljubljana, which is a lovely city.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susyrosy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hostel cannot be better. The bedding is clean and for the price I wouldnt expect more. The most annoying thing for us was that there were no curtains in the room, therefore, we were woken up at about 6am.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanuaryLorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed for one night at Alibi hostel and it was very disappointing, the one good thing about it is the location, it's located in the middle of Ljubljana city center.
The room was depressing, the hostel was very noisy, there was no Kitchen in the common room and that was for me a shock because I was flying from the Middle East and I was carrying food that needed a fridge !! there was no breakfast, I waited till 1:00 pm to check in, no elevator so I didn't even bother to carry my luggage to the room, I decided to leave my luggage in their basement.
The toilets are dirty, and there was no soap in the toilets and sometimes no toilet paper.
In my room, somebody wrote on the wall "feeling like a fridge? This is the worst hostel ever", and that made me laugh, I thought to myself ok, it seems I am not the only one that is disappointed with this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abukarark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#15 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Town Rooms and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Cacao Rooms
Cacao Rooms
#13 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Emona Luxury Rooms
Emona Luxury Rooms
#33 of 55 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#9 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Vega
Apartments Vega
#40 of 70 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AdHoc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AdHoc Hostel

Property: AdHoc Hostel
Address: Cankarjevo nabrezhje 27, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Alibi Hostel)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — AdHoc Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful Ljubljana from the very heart of the Old Town for an affordable price. Many attractions are just a step away from our AdHoc Hostel. Whether you stay in an 8-bed dorm, a private room with 4 beds or a double room, you will get a cosy hostel atmosphere for affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your AdHoc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibi Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing