We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great but okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of AdHoc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AdHoc Hostel
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not great but okay”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hostel is okay, location is very near to the main square but about 20 minutes to train station. The room was okay, but doesnt look like there is someone who clean it on daily basis. Other things are okay but I was a little bit surprised to find they don't have kitchen. It would also be better if they give key for the room, even its a dorm, its better for security.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niantiaulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    18
    29
    40
See reviews for
4
29
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

So we didn't plan well and did not book a hostel for Ljubljana. So we were desperate, and settled here. So the hostel was gross. We got a private room, and the bed was nasty. There was crumbs all over the bed and carpet. Looked like someone just left and it wasn't cleaned before we got in. Its very loud as there is a bar right outside. The showers were horrible, there was mold all over the ceiling and the shower curtains were slimey, and they smelled of urine. The girl at the front desk was just miserable, we were waiting to see if they had a room for us, and they way she was talking to the people ahead was terrible. No breakfast included, but free computers. This would def be an absolute last resort place, and only for 1 night. The only thing it has going for it was the location.

Room Tip: Great location, close to train and bus station...thats it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We wanted to stay with my wife and 2 kids an overnight at Ljubljana Sept-2011 and have booked a night at perfectly located Alibi Hostel. Nice pictures in internet, nice expectations., but turns out the pictures have nothing to do with reality. The hostel is perfectly located and building is old style and nice but: surprisingly weared out rooms and extremely dirty inside, maybe not cleaned for months! The hostel staff is absolutely careless and arogant, first asking you pay the room, before seen it, well later if you like - stay.
This hostel is a shame for this lovely country, how they allow it exist.
Ljubljana is real nice place to stay and better choose another even little more expensive hotel, not to spoil your impression.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hostel has the best setting zou can ask for, it is situated in the verz verz heart of everything, overlooking the river, with the entrance on the hippiest street of Ljubljana packed with charming cofffee places and winehouses. You are exactly one minute from the Main place and our room was also with nice balcony. Staff was bit slow but I think it was just because they did not speak English well. PRices very reasonable and everyhting was clean!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniDinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eiken
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hostel was a disappointment. It was dirty, the facilities smelling like urine and the staff was little helpful. Despite the bad experience at the hostel Ljubljana was a wonderful city and we'll come back! (Staying at another hostel)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I'm not one of these people who picks at little things, I know a hostel is a hostel and to expect that but Alibi hostel did not provide the basic requirements I expect from a hostel. This was not conveyed in any reviews I looked at so I really felt I needed to share my experience.

First impressions were quite good, the first stairs you come to have a nice stain glass window behind it. There it ends - I was on the top floor and had to walk all the stairs up (that part doesn't really bother me) but the stairs had graffiti art which I would normally like but some of it was really quite offensive which I found surprising considering there were families around.
Couldn't believe we weren't given a key for the room for 8 people - it was completely open. It does not cost a lot to get keys cut and would vastly improve the security of the place (the only security I felt we had was that we were on the top floor!) and I do not understand why they don't have keys. Further to this, the lockers are completely useless. Long and thin like school lockers, they couldn't even fit my friend's very compact suitcase never mind my standard travellers' size backpack. It was the only place where I had to pay a deposit (20 euros or passport) for a locker which was not useful.
In addition to this, there is no kitchen which I think hostels really should all have.
Final bad point, the directions they give from the train station are awful so look it up clearly on a map before you go, and the directions to supermarkets provided inside the hostel are also bad so make sure you get these clarified before you try to find it! It is only 15 euros but I don't think that's an excuse, I stayed in cheaper places that I would rate much higher.

Of course as with everywhere, there are some good points! The location is excellent, right on the river on a really lovely street, and they do provide you with clean sheets when you arrive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
505 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hostel is located right on the river, in the centre of everything, which is brilliant!
I stayed in an 8 dorm which was fine, it was clean and so were the sheets! There were lockers in the room so security was not a problem!
The showers and bathrooms were very clean.
There was 3 computers with free high speed internet, very handy. There is also a hang out area with a few couches.
The only draw back of the hostel is there is no kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.0 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emona Luxury Rooms
Emona Luxury Rooms
#35 of 55 in Ljubljana
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Tresor
Hostel Tresor
#9 of 70 in Ljubljana
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartments Vega
Apartments Vega
#41 of 70 in Ljubljana
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fluxus Hostel
Fluxus Hostel
#35 of 70 in Ljubljana
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cacao Rooms
Cacao Rooms
#13 of 70 in Ljubljana
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AdHoc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AdHoc Hostel

Property: AdHoc Hostel
Address: Cankarjevo nabrezhje 27, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Alibi Hostel)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — AdHoc Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful Ljubljana from the very heart of the Old Town for an affordable price. Many attractions are just a step away from our AdHoc Hostel. Whether you stay in an 8-bed dorm, a private room with 4 beds or a double room, you will get a cosy hostel atmosphere for affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your AdHoc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibi Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing