We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Ljubljana”
Review of Hotel Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galleria
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Ljubljana”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

- Hotel is located in the car-free area so it´s quiet but you have to carry your luggage by your own and by foot
- it would be better if the hotel would give the information about the nearest parking lot with the confirmation (it´s five minutes away and cost 11 - 12 Euro a day)
- our room (with balcony in wintergarden -style) was surprisingly nice
- we enjoyed our stay and recommend the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    150
    58
    27
    12
See reviews for
52
176
52
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a double deluxe room (#8) which was huge with a bathroom (and tub) to match. The hotel website has excellent pictures of the rooms and floorplans, so look carefully. The town of Ljubjana (pronounced "lu-be-ya-na) is a fantastic place to visit. Reminded me a bit of Amsterdam and Paris - very beautiful, lots of cafes, a great outdoor market, cafes on the river, plenty to keep one occupied for a few days.

Room Tip: There are cafes near the hotel, so a weekend night could be noisy if you are in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARLYE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The last two nights of our stay in Slovenia were at Antiq Hotel a small, historic facility in the walking district. Our room was very clean with an excellent, comfortable bed. Access to a patio was a nice added feature. The buffet breakfast was superb with seating in an elegant breakfast seating area. The hotel is also very well situated for walking access to the attractions on both sides of the Ljubljana River as well as Castle Hill and many good restaurants. There is no elevator so those with mobility issues should ask for a room on the first floor..

Room Tip: Be aware that there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GratefulCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Antiq for three nights in May, 2013 and couldn't recommend it enough for those that want the true old town experience. The hotel is perfectly located in old town on a quiet and quaint corner. Only a few steps to cafe, gourmet dinner, the best sites in Llubljana and just off the river. The staff was wonderful! Niko, Gregor, Barbara and Antja all helped to make our stay a terrific experience. The rooms are reminiscent of early 1900 decor with heavy velvet and brocade. The bathroom was very modern. Breakfast which was included had good variety. We will stay here again on our next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3rd floor room overlooking the fountain and cobblestone street. It was large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTErving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

A colleague and I stayed here recently on business. The hotel was recommended by university colleagues. It is a great location, close to many excellent eateries and tourist hot spots, so from that point of view, highly recommended. I was on the 2nd floor, no lifts, although chap at receptionist very happy to help with my luggage. My room itself was a 'business suite', it contained a double bed in a smallish room, closet next to it converted into a shower en suite, and separated by glass, and running along a large window passage complete with desk. The windows opened out onto the back, as it was still chilly at night, there were no outside guests. However I did have an Alsatian dog barking most evenings (4 nights). It never got to the point of complaining but at times close. My threshold for barking pooches is low.....I was not really impressed with breakfast. It was ok. Having recently stayed in Hotel Colombus in Krakow where the breakfasts were marvellous, this breakfast spread was a poor relation! On our last morning we were leaving really early and as instructed in the hotel bumf, we could request an early breakfast. We duly did this the day before and therefore just before we left the following morning, I was looking forward to starting the day with a fresh croissant, or even a heated up one from yesterday, or even a cup of coffee, or even milk for some cereal, but it was not to be!!!! No one had told the overnight receptionist and so he was totally unprepared! I was not a happy bunny, flying from Ljubljana to Zurich on local airlines was not going to provide a breakfast - all we got was a bottle of water!!!!!
My colleague had a fairly nice room facing the front. It was however, noisy, so she had to sleep all night with the aircon on, which in itself was noisy. As a number of reviewers have indicated, it is a quirky building. However my room was clean, lots of toiletries and FREE WIFI! The staff are friendly and helpful. I personally wouldn't stay here again. Love it or hate it? You decide!!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LCB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I went with a group of friends to Ljubljana and we stayed in this great little place in the centre of town, just under the castle.

It's a very traditional looking hotel and its location is a perfect base for getting around the city.

The staff were excellent and arranged our mountain biking tour and an afternoon of white-water rafting too. They gave us great recommendations for hotels and going out and really made the stay what it was... awesome.

I'd highly recommend the hotel and will no doubt go back here one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimplis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

It's all a matter of what works for you. This hotel is a labyrinth of old apartments and quirky space. My sister's room had a wonderful glass enclosed two story sun porch, and roomy bedroom and bath. My bed space was a small cell that barely contained the bed and a bathroom tucked into a former closet - the two connected by a corridor with desk. Dragged our duffles up two steep flights...... Rooms were off the street but conversation in the courtyard went well into the night, not to mention the large dog who lives in the courtyard and barks regularly to let everyone know he's in charge. Location could not be better - castle up the hill, pedestrian Old Town at the door with cafes and boutiques by the dozen. So....... It's unique but somewhat challenging. You'll probably love it or you'll hate it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#22 of 31 in Ljubljana
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
839 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mrak
Hotel Mrak
#17 of 31 in Ljubljana
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galleria

Property: Hotel Galleria
Address: Gornji trg 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Antiq Hotel)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic town centre of Ljubljana, the Antiq Hotel offers 16 charming guest rooms with views of the magnificent Ljubljana Castle or the romantic Gornji Trg square, this cosy boutique hotel is a peaceful haven just a stone-throw away from the busy cobble-stoned streets of the Old Town with its numerous cafes, restaurants and boutique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing