We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Time at Antiq”
Review of Hotel Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galleria
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous Time at Antiq”
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights at Antiq as a part of our honeymoon. We booked room #12 (at $153 euro) and were quite pleased--a king bed, wardrobe & desk in a spacious room; a charming glassed, heated porch; and an updated (but small!) bathroom. Just what one would expect from a small cozy inn. The location is superb for taking in the sights and dining--just on the edge of the pedestrian zone. (We did not have a car, so I'm not sure what the accomodations would be in that regard.) The staff was very helpful with suggestions on dining, car rentals, trains, etc. Breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide variety of foods. We loved Slovenia and Ljubjlana! We will definitely be back at Antiq!

  • Liked — Great value for accomodations/location.
  • Disliked — Size of bathroom-very,very small!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Go4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    149
    58
    27
    12
See reviews for
52
175
52
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

Very nice hotel in a perfect location. Nice room, great breakfast, very helpful staff. The only reason I don't give this 5 stars is because it's a boutique (and I tend to reserve 5 stars for really extraordinary places). But this looked like the best place to stay in Ljubjana to me.

Helpful?
2 Thank DevansSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

If you want a hotel in the old city of Ljubljana, Antiq Hotel is perfect.
It is near everything you will need to do.
The rooms are very clean, nice decorated, and overall the hotel is beautiful.
The breakfast was excellent in terms of quantity and quality.
Staff is very helpfull, especially Matjaz.
If you are going to choose one of the economy rooms (2,9), absolutely choose room 9. The shower and the toilet are more spacious, and not just above the front desk.
For the other rooms, you have to ask if a wall separates the room from the bathroom, because at rooms 5 and 11 for example, you will have the experience to see and be seen where even a king goes alone. In those rooms, a glass (and a window with view to the bed) separates the bathroom.
Generally, maybe the perfect choise at Ljubljana.

  • Liked — Everything was great.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Kostmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We were disappointed with this hotel, and it did not live to the opinions we had prevously read. We stayed in room 7. An average size, but the bathroom was tiny and the door would not close easily. We had this problem with the door to the room aswell. The decorations of the room looked slightly unfinished with a wire going across the ceiling for the chandelier.

Breakfast was enjoyable, but the room was crowded at times, and the childrens chairs/table sets werent the comfiest.

Staff were friendly and helpful with parking.

  • Liked — Location was perfect
  • Disliked — Overpriced.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank backtoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claygate, Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Touring Italy and Slovenia, we spent one night at the Antiq Hotel in July. It is a charming little hotel and very comfortable. When booking online, you are invited to choose your room from the list of all those available, each of which has its floor plan and details displayed. This is possibly one decision too many for the armchair trip planner to have to make! However we were very happy with the room we chose (number 5, overlooking the garden). One quaint feature of the room was that one wall of the bathroom is clear glass, so that whoever is in the bath or on the toilet can see (and be seen by) not only the other occupant of the room but also, if the curtains are open, whoever is in the garden. This was not a problem for us, but others might like to be warned. Despite large numbers of tourists in the town, our room was very quiet and peaceful, and we were able to park close to and within sight of the hotel. It was, however, very hot outside and the absence of air conditioning in our room was a bit of a drawback. Temperatures in Ljubljana rarely make air con a real necessity, though. Breakfast was tasty and copious, with the usual array of meat, cheese, eggs, cereal, fruit, bread, croissants and the slightly less usual squeeze-your-own orange juice. Daniel and Matjaz at reception were very helpful, and fed the parking meter for us in the morning. Lots of good places to eat within a couple of minutes walk.

We would warmly recommend the Hotel Antiq and would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — Central location, small size and value for money
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mystery mole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2007

Antiq is a sweet, small and cosy little hotel tucked into a corner of the old town in Ljubljana. It is very well located from a tourist's point of view. The hotel is clean and fairly well decorated. We stayed for 3 nights and the entire staff was exceptionally hospitable. We had lost our bags and they did their best to accomodate us and help make new travel reservations, contact the airline, translate and do much more than one might expect at a larger establishment. Up the alley outside the hotel are many restaurants, I recommend Julija.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Some of the fittings
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank K_M_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed in room 2 - one of the budget/economy rooms for 70 euros per night. The website is slightly misleading as it says the bathroom
is across the corridor, in actual fact the cupboard-cum-shower cubicle is just down the corridor and the cupboard-cum-toilet is round teh corner and down a few steps. The shower room is so tiny it is difficult to dry manouvre to dry yourself and brush your teeth.

The website says the room overlooks an atrium, in reality it has a large window looking out onto a large section of corridor containing the free internet access and a small window looking down to the brekfast buffet. This means the room is hot and stuffy and the portable air conditioning unit is not very effective. This room, and probably the other budget room, feel a bit like somebody just trying to squeeze as much money as they can out of a poorly designed space.

Apart from our room, the hotel is lovely. The comunal areas are attractive. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was adaquate although it is supposed to be available from 7 to 11 but the buffet did not seem to be restocked ofter about 9.30 as each time we went there were no pastries and bowls and cutlery were running very low.

I would pay for at least a standard room if I were to go back here, I
think it is worth the extra 30euros.

  • Liked — Location - right in teh heart of teh old town
  • Disliked — Hot and stuffy budget room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimbo1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#22 of 31 in Ljubljana
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galleria

Property: Hotel Galleria
Address: Gornji trg 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Antiq Hotel)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic town centre of Ljubljana, the Antiq Hotel offers 16 charming guest rooms with views of the magnificent Ljubljana Castle or the romantic Gornji Trg square, this cosy boutique hotel is a peaceful haven just a stone-throw away from the busy cobble-stoned streets of the Old Town with its numerous cafes, restaurants and boutique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing