We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“annoying at the check-in” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emonec

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Emonec
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“annoying at the check-in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

It was positive the position, it is really good because it's in the city centre and you have a lot of restaurants, pub and bars around you.

But I didn't like the check in because I left my ID to the receptionist girl for the registration. When I was coming out to the hotel she kept my ID as guarantee even if I had already given my credit card number and I proposed her to pay cash in advance. But she didn't want it. I found it very strange because I work in hotel too and I told her. It was annoying me, because in some places they asked you the ID. Moreover, I didn't like the chambermaid shouting at 9:30 in the morning. The check out is supposed at 11:00, so why do they shout when the people is sleeping?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefan081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

we received your reservation via Booking.com.

The reservation was secure by creedit card.

We have rights to charge your credit card only in case of no show. We are not allowed to charge

your credit card for your stay. When you arrived in our hotel you had options:

- to gave us ID for qauarantee and pay the next day and pay at check out

- to pay by cash or credit card at check in

- to signature the document that you allowe us to charge the credit card for hotel payment

So, you did not pay at check in, you did not signature the document. You chose the first option.

In the hotel must be quiet from 22.00-7.00. Room mades start every day after 8.30. They must clean rooms was guests with early check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    289
    146
    44
    18
See reviews for
124
223
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gornja Stubica, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Location is great in the strict center of Ljubljana. Staff was friendly.
Room is new and basic: bed, closet, little desk with TV and small bathroom.
Everything was clean.
Breakfast isn't so great, coffee is from coffee machine.
Price is too big for 2* hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikolina612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
659 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Location is ideal here right in the heart of old town. Rooms are everything you need and nothing more no frills. Kind of annoying where the soap/body wash dispenser is located to shower, but results in lower water usage by habit so I can't disapprove of it. If you're driving, they only have 8 parking spots so you'll need to reserve one. If here on the weekend, parking is a cinch since free after 1pm on Sat and all day Sunday on the streets (traffic is LOW). Great experience, but truth be told I would not pay a premium for location in a city like Ljubljana since so much is in walking distance (the price here is quite reasonable)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Rick Steves' tour book brought us to this hotel and we were thrilled! The location was ideal! We walk everywhere so the centralized location made touring Ljubljana easy. We also went on day trips everyday so walking to the bus depot and the train station was incredibly easy from this hotel. The staff was amazing to us! They helped us plan our day trips and gave us tips on how to make the most of our time! They coordinated our shuttle to and from the airport. The rooms are basic. So don't expect luxury but I would not agree that it is a hostel! Our private room and bath worked well for the 7 nights we stayed. Beds were comfortable and the room temp was perfect. We stayed in room 104 which could have been noisy but because of the time of year, we did not have any problems with noise. We did not have a car so parking was not an issue. The wifi worked pretty well in the room but a few times we asked for them to reset it at the front and that seemed to help pick up the speed. I really want to thank the staff for making our trip to Slovenia wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for a hair dryer if you need one. They have some hand soap dispenser in the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WittyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in a dozen hotels on our three week trip and this one is at the bottom. I think it might be okay for backpackers on a budget as the whole atmosphere seemed more like a hostel. Our bathroom seemed to be some kind of modular unit placed into the room with a tiny tiny sink and very little space to move. It really was not suitable for us (traveled with two adult children). Parking was very difficult due to restrictions on travel in the area with streets blocked at certain times of day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

tryon , nc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We loved our stay , primarily due to the fact that the staff was beyond helpful and nice. The room was pretty typical as was the breakfast but certainly great for our budget. Be sure to bring your toiletries as they are not provided but there is a small market less than a mile away so it really isn't a problem. The location was also excellent for our needs and everything was within walking distance. This is a beautiful country with beautiful people and will cherish our time there,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwitTryon_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel has a central location. It's a pedestrian area and a quiet neighbourhood. However, the design of the building and the facility makes the stay really noisy - especially when someone was pulling their trolley luggage in the lobby. The room was not sound-proof; dark with old furnitures. The beds were really uncomfortable. The shower curtain was impractical unable to stop water from flooding the bathroom. I'd say that this is worse than the Hostel Tresor. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuwei42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

our hotel is categorized two stars hotel with all service and equipment in the rooms which are required for 2 stars hotel. We offer even more like sat tv in every room, safe deposit box, wi-fi free of charge, rooms are bigger than required for 2 stars hotel , for breakfast we offer much more then honey, butter and marmelade, hotel reception desk is open 24 hours... All our rooms(single, double, triple, fourbeded and fivebeded rooms) have privat shower and toilet. All rooms are privat rooms, not dormitory rooms.

If you like the furniture in the room is always very personal opinion. Some guests prefer modern style, some of them like english cozy style. We are glad that most of our guests like our rooms.

We respect you opinion about our rooms, but for us is not acceptable that someone compere our hotel with hostel with only shared bathrooms.

Hotels are more for travelars who like to have some privacy. We don't offer fun for travelers who travel alone. Usually becuase of that fact hostels are much more noisy than hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#2 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#13 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emonec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emonec

Property: Hotel Emonec
Address: Wolfova ulica 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emonec 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Emonec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emonec Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing