We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located,clean and OK for short stay”
Review of Hotel Emonec

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Emonec
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Tucked down a little back street with no imposing frontage - this hotel is so well located for short stay. In pedestrianised area (so dont know what you do if you come by car. WE walked (15 min down hill) from bus station having caught the bus (4.2 Euros) from the Ljubliana airport.

The rooms are fairly spartan and not very large but everything was clean. Shower worked well. Breakfast (7am -10am) down stairs in room without windows toast, meat, cheese, yoghurt, jam, coffee, fruit, fruit juice but nothing fancy - not a room to hang about in but then we didn't want to. A little noise and close to Congress Sq where there was an open air concert playing bu di not find it too bad. Internet free for 15 min and good wifi connection.

Just walk out and you are in thr main square - couldn't be better located. We went on a town walk 11am every day (takes 2 hours in English)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zorrothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 945 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is located minutes from the heart of the city. Very good value for the location. Not a lot of bells and whistles, but it was clean and quiet. Self-service laundry on site was helpful. Breakfast was not awesome, but staff was very nice and helpful with giving good local recommendations and directions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieontheroad_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just stayed here - May 7-9, 2013. I would describe this as a step up from a hostel. It is a big room, but the hotel is kind of old and tired - however, it was clean. Location is good, as it's off the main drag, so nice and quiet for sleeping. Breakfast is okay - yogurt, bread, meats, juices. They have a laundry facility on site - be sure to add extra soap to the "pre-programmed soap". Our clothes didn't smell like they had any soap to them at all (didn't smell clean when they came out.) Biggest complaint about this place, that would keep me from staying again, is that they open all the windows in the lobby/common areas, and the smoking table/tent is right out the front door. All the cigarette smoke comes into the building, under the doors, and into your room. Blecccchhhh. That was awful. Complained about it a few times - staff didn't seem concerned. So, if you don't like cigarette smoke, this isn't the place to stay. At nearly $100 a night, it was expensive - we stayed in a GORGEOUS hotel in Zagreb for the same price, and same on our next stop in Graz. This is more of a $55/night place (or should be)

Room Tip: Insist on towels to stuff under your door when you come and go, to try to keep the cigarette smoke o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy58775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Madam,

at first we would like to thank you for your review.

Smoking in Slovenia is not allowed in public places. We have many requests from guests for non smoking rooms and because of that in high season we do not offer smoking rooms. We arrange place for our smoking guests on hotel courtyard. The place is near reception desk and when many people smoke at the same time it is possible that you could smell a little cigarete smoke at hotel reception desk.
But it is not possible that you could smell the cigarate smoke at the room you were staying, since the room is on the first floor and on the other side of the courtyard. At the same time you where staying in our hotel, we had guests from India who prepared breakfast for themself in the room next to your. Probably smell came from their rooms, but this was not cigarate smoke.

We are able to accept negative reviews for our hotel and try to be better from this critics, but our hotel doesn't smell of cigarete smoke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Room was good size and Clean;
Location of the Hotel is excellent
Breakfast is below average, just cereal and toast (if you can bear the queue for the single toaster)
and slices of processed meat and yoghurts. No eggs of any description.
However the best thing about the Hotel is the recepionist named Primoz;
I hope the Hotel realise his worth as an exceptional ambassador for the Hotel, Whatever they pay him it is not enough;

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your review. We are glad that our staff was helpfull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is located in a perfect place in the middle of the old town. You can walk from the train station 10 minutes. reasonable price. 24 hours reception. The rooms and bathroom was great, clean and confortable. Wifi available for guests. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: any room in the principal building in second or third floor over to the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is in a great location to meander around the small Old Town of Ljubljana. We arrived after traveling around Italy and smelling of Venice. Needless to say, we were tired and dirty. We used the laundry mat next door and for three euro and a very nice lady working there that held our hands helped us make our clothes nice and fresh. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The dollar value for this hotel cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiplynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Madam,

thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you used our self- service laundry which is our new offer for hotel guests and tourist staying in Ljubljana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you want to stay in the heart of Old Town, this is a great location. the staff were veryhelpful and welcoming, and the rooms were very clean. We had two twin beds in our room, as well as what appeared to be a fold- out chair. Our room was small, but we were only in there to sleep at night. The beds felt kind of like sleeping on box springs, but we wereso tired it did not prevent us from being able to sleep.

The breakfast is okay. There is plenty to choose from, and It is included in the price of the room. The coffee is really bad. Get hot tea instead. The last day we were there, we bought strukli at the Franciscan Bakery ( behind the Franciscan church) and ate those instead with some coffee from a local cafe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabricsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,511 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#25 of 31 in Ljubljana
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emonec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emonec

Address: Wolfova ulica 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Spa Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: $71 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emonec 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Emonec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emonec Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing