We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ljubljana
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,550)
Filter reviews
2,550 results
Traveler rating
1,430
852
188
55
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,430
852
188
55
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location art nouveau old town triple bridge the main square swimming pool three bridges excellent hotel business hotel the river breakfast buffet is top floor the heart of the city church bells room was large few steps preseren square
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,550 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although I always stay there for business, I would recommend this hotel for tourist visits as well first of all because of it`s location. The location is great, just a few steps from Prešeren Square, river Ljubljanica, the Old town and other atractions... and is perfect starting point for sightseeing in Ljubljana.
The Hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious, beds are perfect (I always get a great sleep) and the breakfast is superb, I just can`t stop eating.
I would reccomend this Hotel any time!

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank 186ivanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnionHotelsDomen, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 186ivanap,

Thank you for your nice feedback and that you have taken the time to write it. It is nice to read that you made a good experience with us! We forwarded your positive review to our entire team and have been delighted by your words of praise.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Tomaž Turk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is probably the best in the city, 50 m from main square but it is also very quiet place due to traffic restriction and most of bars are on the other side of the river (150 m). Hotel is beautiful, luxury, old fashioned but not outdated. Breakfast is truly a feast for kings, excellent. Rooms are big and nice. Only little minus is wellness area, pool is too cold, there is no jacuzzi. But don't let it stop tou from enjoying wellness because it is beautiful and calm space, pool beds are awesome to relax, and you also have saunas.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ivona Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnionHotelsDomen, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ivona Z,

We are delighted to read that you found the Grand hotel Union to be a good base for your few days in Ljubljana. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay and we look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Tomaž Turk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Excellent Hotel and location. Will definitely stay at the Grand Hotel Union again. We arrived Christmas Eve and had booked a suite and were upgraded to the Presidential Suite. Nice Christmas Present:) Thank you.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank annette20192020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnionHotelsDomen, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear annette20192020,

It has been a pleasure reading your kind sentiments on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed room upgrade. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Tomaž Turk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

We caught the bus into town and were pleased to find out the Hotel was a 5 minute walk. Located right next to the Old Town it provided a great base to explore. The breakfast was sensational ... plenty of variety. The staff were excellent and happy to help and answer all our questions. It was also a nice surprise that we found a lovely chocolate mousse cake in our room when we arrived back after exploring the city. It was for my wife’s birthday. We had a great time in Ljubljana helped greatly by the Grand Hotel!

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank 661stephene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnionHotelsDomen, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Dear 661stephene,

Thank you for your 5-star review and for recognizing our staff's top-notch service! We are truly glad to hear that you were satisfied with your overall experience. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Tomaž Turk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

A beautiful hotel, the Grand Hotel Union is positioned right in the center of the capital Ljubljana , with excellent restaurants, coffee stores and bars near it : we had lovely dinners and lunches at the restaurant Altrokè.
The rooms are very comfortable, full of natural light and the breakfast is excellent!
The view towards the city citadel is astonishing!
We had an excellent staying and we hope to visit it very soon
Plus: a great team and pet friendly ♥️

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 1lucianailenei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnionHotelsDomen, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Dear 1lucianailenei,

Thank you for your review of Grand hotel Union. It has been a pleasure accommodating you and always will be. The team will certainly appreciate your compliments, thank you for the kind words! We are really grateful you have chosen Grand hotel Union as your preferred Hotel to stay in Ljubljana. Always a pleasure welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Tomaž Turk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews