We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was my first visit to Ljubljana, I choosed this hotel due to what people said about this hotel i.e. on this website,and I don´t regret my choice!Nice,clean,very very friendly staff,The location of the hotel was excellent, near to everything!I will surely recommend this hotel! WiFi was working excellent in your room, without any problem!I was very pleased with the arrangement of getting a taxi from/to airport!If I come back to Ljubljana I will sure choose this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Perhaps I was over impressed , we do not normally stay in a hotel of this class .I picked it because of location and bedroom size , in a place with variable weather always good to have space .I booked in October to stay in Easter and got a great deal for upgraded room in the executive portion ( the old part ) of €120 per night including breakfast . Breakfast was pretty amazing , every type of bread you can imagine and bacon ,eggs of every type ( a dedicated chef to make omelettes etc ) sparking wine with orange and apple juice ,they even had Turkish coffee which I love , hell of a way to start the day .Staff very friendly and helpful .Nothing bad to report but then again I like hearing bells ....and you do , probably everywhere in this city .You probably have to book early to get a good deal .When we go back we will stay here .

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Travellingirish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Perfect hotel, both for business and holiday trips. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms at an excellent spot in the city, Ljubljana being a friendly and interestind city. I've stayed already many times in the hotel, but love to come back every time agian.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

First time in hotel Grand Union in Ljubljana. Nice hotel, in an excellent location (centre of Ljubljana) and just a couple of minutes walk from the Old Town. Room 152 (standard, single-bad), in the corner view to a main street; very nice, stylish and with enough space No noice. Sleeping quality good. Sanitary facilities clean and working. Possibility to work as ok table available. Breakfast is with a good variety of food, nice and fresh, lots of warm dishes, fried mushrooms etc. Quality-price ratio is very good.




Room Tip: Standard, single-bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevenka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

i loved the 2 nights in union executive .
nice hotel , big rooms , and you only hear the bells from the church near by.
i asked for an umbrella and they gave me a good one , in my country israel you cant find a good umbrella they all break in the first wind .
so i asked the reception if i could buy it.
they said : its all yours you can keep it.
the internet was also free .
the hotel is close to all museums and attractions in the city ,and a lot of great restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: 626 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaby n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Best hotel in Ljubljana. I have stayed at this hotel with my friends for 2 nights in March 2014. It”s my second time in this hotel and it was fabulous. Great services, wondeful position in town centre and very friendly staff. For sure at my nest trip in Ljubliana I will stay in Grand Hotel Union

Room Tip: Get the superior double/twin rooms. Wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipovsek_Bogdan, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Mr. Dan D,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your visit in Grand hotel Union Executive.
I am delighted to hear how highly you appreciate our services and hotel staff. It will be my pleasure to share your opinion with everyone in the hotel.
We are delighted to hear that we have won you over as one of our many returning guests and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Mr. Bogdan Lipovsek
General Manager
Grand hotel Union d.d.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Lying in bed at 2.14 am with no chance of ever getting to sleep because of the bells ringing every hour. Also the air con dosen't work until April and the room is so hot. Counting down the hours until check out. Was supposed to be staying until Sunday but couldn't take another two nights of this.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Puertobanus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipovsek_Bogdan, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear “Puertobanus1”,
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Grand hotel Union Ljubljana and your feedback.
I am very sorry to hear about your disappointment in our hotel. Grand hotel Union Executive is located in the heart of the city centre, right next to many sights: Three bridges, historical part of Ljubljana and among them also Franciscan church. For some guests the bells are a pleasure, for some rather not. Hotel offers 194 rooms some of them are located far away from church bells and offering a wonderful view.
The changeable weather is lately causing as quite a lot of problems. For the example in March we have experienced the highest measured temperature since 1977. We are fully aware of this problem and we are looking for an appropriate and the easiest solution which will comply with the hotel under the national heritage.
At the Grand hotel Union, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Mr. Bogdan Lipovsek
General Manager
Grand hotel Union d.d.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,125 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
790 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Ljubljana
InterContinental Ljubljana
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: $128 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing