We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular building”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spectacular building”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The building is one of the most beautiful art nouveau buildings in Ljubljana. My room had a fantastic view over the rooftops to the castle and the cathedral. Breakfast was superb, and we also had a wonderful meal in the garden restaurant one night when it was raining too hard to go out. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the rooftop views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    558
    115
    30
    12
See reviews for
218
544
94
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Bled, where I was before Ljubljana, is much lovelier, and this hotel was fine, but not spectacular. Room a little dated-feeling, but bed was comfortable. There are nice art-deco details throughout the "executive" part of the hotel.

But there aren't enough elevators, the breakfast was a little overcrowded (and not very special), and I don't think it was great value. I enjoyed it, but it was pretty standard.

Tip for breakfast: the tea is suprisingly good, particularly the "youthful" tea, which tastes of lavender.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are a family with grown up children and have traveled extensively with our car through out Europe, staying in 4* and 5* hotels. We visited Ljubljana for the first time last year, it was just a stopover in a city we had not visited before, on our way from Ancona to Wien . We loved the hotel and the city so much, that this year we made a detour on our way from Kroatia to Muenchen just to visit the city and stay at the hotel Union again.
The hotel has everything a visitor would want. A beautiful building, very comfortable and big rooms, very good and friendly service with everyone speaking fluent english, a garage for our car and a location at the edge of the old city, so we could arrive by car at the doorstep and visit the old city on foot. The room had all the amenities we needed, bathrobes and slippers for all guests, unlike some 5* hotels in Europe, huge beds and as we were staying on an upper floor, a view of the old city. Breakfast buffet was very rich, a disaster for my diet!
This year when we arrived a nice surprise was awaiting us: our rooms had been upgraded. We stayed at the new building in even bigger and more comfortable rooms than last year.
The only thing that was not available was triple rooms, despite the fact that there is plenty of room for an extra bed even in the standard double room.
We have the best opinion about hotel Union, we recommend it and we will visit it again whenever we find ourselves in Slovenia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent three nights at Grand Hotel Executive. The rooms are spacious, most of them with a balcony. The location is excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is the best buffet breakfast I've ever had. A delightful place.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwaantje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The rooms were lovely and spacious, the swimming pool was mainly empty and great for relaxing and reading on the sunbeds and the breakfast featured a wide selection of worldwide food. The location was great for you could walk straight into the great centre where there is loads of cute cafes! I had a really enjoyable and comfatable stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McBrienTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed just for 1 night in a nice room with a really big bathroom. Everything is clean and new looking, a big flat-screen provided. Bed were good, mattress not very soft, no noise from the streets.
Right in the center of the town, maybe a bit expensive.
Very rich breakfast buffet is to be mentioned, which leaves nothing to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
447 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I spent three comfortable nights at Grand Hotel Union Executive, located just a few hundred meters from the main square in Ljubljana. My executive single room was nicely decorated with wood paneling and sufficient closets and drawers for my personal belongings. The bed was just a little smaller than a double bed and it was comfortable. The linens were okay, though not top quality and the bed was fitted with a lightweight comforter as a blanket.

The room was clean and featured a large flat screen television with numerous channels available in several languages. There were adequate electrical outlets near the desk for charging my PC and other electoral equipment. The bathroom was equipped with a tub/shower combination and all the amenities one would expect to find in a hotel of this class. The bath towel was of low quality, small and rough on the skin.

The swimming pool and fitness center were small and located on the 9th floor of the adjacent hotel, the Grand Union Business Hotel. I would have enjoyed a massage treatment, however, this service is provided very close to the pool where noise would ruin any relax time.

The check-in/check-out process was efficient and the entire staff I encountered were courteous and helpful. Grand Union Executive Hotel has an amazing, well stocked, breakfast buffets; one of the best I have found around Europe. I utilized the hotel's underground garage for a daily fee of 17 euro.

I will return to Grand Union Executive on future trips to Ljubljana and I will recommend this hotel to friends and business associates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirto56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Property: Grand Hotel Union
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing