We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style with a Smile”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Style with a Smile”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is a stylish hotel in a beautiful small city. I had an excellent large room in perfect condition. The buffet breakfast was extensive. Of particular note was the very friendly staff -- one in particular at the front desk had a smile so wide you'd think he'd hit the jackpot by getting a job there. The hotel was located in the centre, very close to the river walk restaurant area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    574
    116
    31
    13
See reviews for
225
556
98
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Paris, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was a wonderful hotel in a beautiful city! Everyone and everything was exceptional! The friendliness, the helpfulness, the cleanliness! It was beyond my expectations! It got cold while we were there and I asked for a place to purchase a jacket. The front desk staff were wonderful with the names of several stores in the area. LOVED our stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

we stayed here twice and both times service was excellent, the rooms were huge and luxurious and we would go back without hesitation.

Breakfast was ace and the hotel handily looked after our gear for a week whilst we went climbing in the Kaminske alps.

The swimming pool is small but was a lovely way to cool off from the Ljubliana heat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeatFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

i am in union now. poor and sad room, 7 floor. sad hotel, common part hall .
the personell is normal. they was very interesting only for parking my car(17 euro plus).
when i asked for a restaurant, they indicated me one CLOSE. bad experience

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giulio m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The location is definitely excellent! It is only about 100m from the triple bridge and information centre. It is easy to get to from the train station if you dont mind a short walk.

Considering Queen Elizabeth II stays here when she comes to Ljubljana, we were surprised at the strange smell in the common areas in the hotel and the state of our room. Our door chain latch was broken and the hairdryer (a hot air hose more like) had a huge hole near the end which meant all the hot air escaped onto your hand rather than out the end to your hair. Some of the powerpoints were not properly fixed to the walls and we did not dare use them. The cleaning lady took one of our room cards that we had left in our room on the first day and we could hear in the early morning, the sound of the vacuum cleaner hitting the walls abutting our room. Items of clothing left in the room were also thrown onto various pieces of furniture and we never received hand towels for the bathroom until our 3rd day. We were also advised that a kettle for boiling tea was definitely not available.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auspoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I've been to Grand Hotel Union Executive in October 2011. That was the second time i was there.
The location is great: exactly in the middle of downtown; you can forget your car in the underground parking (around 15euro/day) and you can easily reach all the attraction simply walking.
The hotel is in line with the architecture of the city center (the building is old but absolutely up to date). The rooms are large, cleaned and well equipped.
In every room there is free wireless connection.
At the top floor (9th) there is the pool, sauna, massage center and a small fitness room. The access is free for all the guests. The price for the massages is 50 euro/hour.
The breakfast was included and the level is high for whom love mediterranean, continental, US breakfast. There are many meeting rooms so the hotel is suggested also for business stays.
The staff is gentle and always ready to help.
The price was around 120euro/night breakfast included.
I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo_Yle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Really a nice hotel, just a block from the river and the main old town square. Staff was very attentive and room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast had great variety and was served in a lovely room. Price was good for this level of service and hotel. We even got a bucket of ice from the bar downstairs!

Room Tip: Street is very quiet at night, so doesn't really matter which way your room faces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandBOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Property: Grand Hotel Union
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing