We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average street food”
Review of Social Club - CLOSED

Social Club
Cuisines: Street Food
Description: Social Club is about affordable, time efficient, healthy certified Street Food and equaly important liquid offer with Audio&Video mood engineering. We would like to share with our customers the best ever, full package of entertaining elements: STREET FOOD, LIQUID GOODS, and MUSIC FOR THE MOOD.
Restaurant details
Description: Social Club is about affordable, time efficient, healthy certified Street Food and equaly important liquid offer with Audio&Video mood engineering. We would like to share with our customers the best ever, full package of entertaining elements: STREET FOOD, LIQUID GOODS, and MUSIC FOR THE MOOD.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average street food”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I went there for lunch with coworkers, just to try it out, since it's quite new, and wasn't too impressed. We ate some of their tortillas and some pizza-style thingys. It was all street food, eaten with hands. Everything was decent, but nothing special. The food also cost an euro or two more than similar kinds of street food you can get around (falafel, kebab, burek etc.) for the same amount.

I have to admit I never went here in the evening, so this review is mostly about the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzgajner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I randomly wandered in here because of the mural of Nicolai Tesla outside. The weather was terrible, and I was having a bad day trying to get my work done in town. I was warmly welcomed by the proprietor who as busy cooking some of the best smelling things I had yet encountered in Slovenia. Popping in and out of the kitchen, he and I had a god old chat over some tea (and coffee).

The place has a great vibe to it, there is always something to see or someone to talk to here. If you're in the city on your own this is an absolute oasis, if you've come with someone then this is just a great place to go! The chefs have been inspired by their travels and do things in their own way - but boy, does it work! This place is well worth seeking out - just carry on walking along the river until you see Tesla!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing!!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Wow, what an amazing surprise this newly opened place got it all what makes it the place to be!!! The lovely outdors terrace is was inviting on a sunny autumn day and menu looked good and not expensive. the waitress came and we asked about some of the choices and her enthuasiastic, friendly explanation in good English with all the juicy details of this home made creations really made our mouth watery. Although we meant to order just a pizza to share but we could not resist the temptation to try the other dish I cannot remember the name now, so we ordered both to share to try. That was a treat - a super thin galette like dough of the pizza with some amazing homemade spread, some cheese, veggies and fresh rucola and sun dried tomatoes was a combination made in heaven. I have never tasted anything like this before! Another dish with cheese caramelized onions and tomato salsa in the special home made deep fried bread was just as good as the first dish we tried. The service was outstanding, relaxed and super friendly, the place is really an amazing addition to the small city with so many nice cafes to go. Seriously it's a win win choice - you must try as place like this you won't find anywhere. Thumbs up! Compliment to the chef and big thank you to the happy friendly waitress!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience it”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Every now and then you have the opportunity to experience something special. Call it the urgent refrain for the moment. Call it community in action. Call it the Social Club.
Try not to have expectations - about the food, the music, the owners and their passionate commitment to redefine the edges of your familiarities.
Just turn up. Experience it. Support this extraordinary enterprise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank withyouinspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place was great! It's a stone's throw away from the major pedestrian area so a little bit calmer but still just beside the river. The staff was also fantastic and I really liked the laid back atmosphere (at lunch) where you can just have a good chat, listen to some good music and savour the food. The chicken gordita was amazing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Club also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing