We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Restavracija Strelec
Ranked #2 of 592 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Slovenian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
“Great food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

It was my second time dinning in this restaurant. The location is truly wonderful, the view is astonishing, the decor is a great mixture of modern and traditional.
Again the food was great, can speak about it only in superlatives. Unforgettable.
The aspact I want to forget is the service, where there is still place to improvement: the waiter was not helpful, at moments even rude.
Still it did not ruin this great experience and I would definitly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GastroGre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    74
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pristina, Kosovo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gastronomic golden arrow”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

It was difficult to find reliable information about this relatively new restaurant; it does not feature in the current 'Ljubljana in your Pocket', for example. It is a pity that Slovenia is off the Michelin radar, however, as our two and a half hour dining experience on Saturday evening was simply up there among the metaphorical stars.

We walked up the well lit path to the castle from our beautiful boutique Hotel Lesar Angel in the old town and took the lift to the top floor of the 16th century semi-circular Archer's Tower which has been recently restored and its murals conserved.The Christmas lights from the city spangled below outside our window table and we admired the stylish contemporary interior furniture and furnishings.

The service was both knowledgeable and discreet and my partner thoroughly enjoyed all the sommelier's recommendations of Slovenian wines by the glass to accompany the set six course tasting menu, though our glasses of sparkling rose pinot noir to start were not local. The food was exceptional throughout and I will attempt to do justice here to chef Igor Jagodic's thematic creations.

Our amuse bouches comprised exquisite smoked trout mousse with trout caviar and truffle shavings, served with warm bread and salted butter.
The first course was cold poached trout with horseradish snow with quail's yoke and tiny salad leaves with a light cucumber dressing and mousse accompanied by a glass of tokai blazic sauvignonasse.
For the soup course I had a deliciously delicate ravioli pumpkin and potato puree and my partner chose ravioli oxtail consomee.
For the third course we enjoyed a chervil topped fine potato lamelle case concealing a perfectly soft egg yolk which spilled out onto the truffle sauce tempura, accompanied by a glass of pinot blanc.
Next came filet of seabass with pumpkin gnocchi, a scampi tartare covered in lightly fried panko with carrot and ginger puree and scampi butter accompanied by al dente courgette balls and green cauliflower florette. Divine.
The main course was two fabulous fingers of venison filet on white beetroot and red beetroot crumble, next to their purees, and set off with pine needle milk emulsion and an arc of picked walnut. This was also served with a buckwheat envelope stuffed with foie gras, and accompanied by a glass of merlot.
I then had panna cotta, mango sorbet with dentelle of mango sponge and roast pineapple all arranged in the form of a kebab.My partner had coffee ice cream on chocolate cookie shavings with a mini chocolate bombe and milk ice, accompanied by a twenty year old glass of port.
We had a thoroughly gastronomic experience of the highest quality, and were able to personally compliment the chef as he came to our table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“By Far the Best View-Quality Combination in Ljubljana”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A truly major contribution to Ljubljana fine dining. Wonderful location on the very top of the old castle overviewing Ljubljana, parking in front of the castle more or less feasible except for the ever busy weekend.

The top level restaurant has only been opened recently, capacity of approx. 50 guests. Jewel in the crown of the largest local restaurant chain. Perfect setting, marvellous decoration, lovely view. Toilets four stories below (lift, of course,) could have been conceived with some more thought.

Service impeccable. Wine list Slovenia only (except for bubbles), not bad at all, but honestly not up to the standard of the entire experience, especially on the red side – the most attractive two of the listed items were not available. Markups definitely not low, especially compared to the other restaurant in the castle, but neither appalling nor prohibitive. The chef prepared a truly delicious haute cuisine 6-course tasting menu (changed often, I was told). Except for the second main course (meat), which was perhaps a bit too generous on the taste range, the sequence was remarkable from amouse-bouche to desert. Certainly within half a year of its existence, the kitchen and its young chef have reached the level of hitherto unchallenged Ljubljana leaders, JB and Maxim. 16 points on 1-20 scale. Pehaps pralines at the end would make a difference…

Additionally, the pricing for such a gourmet feat is very acceptable. I will be back and I heartily recommend the place to the hungry gourmet staying (or living) in Ljubljana. Beware - NOT for backpackers and bus tourists - these should kindly proceed eighty meters further into the castle to a very good restaurant one notch below, but at great prices, Gostilna na Gradu.

FInally, dear reader, and as an afterthought reading previous comments on this restaurant, beware of the one-show-only "experts" giving marks either one or five to a restaurant...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZahtevniGost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,898 reviews
821 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“A lovely experience inside the castle”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Another great dining experience in Ljubljana. Dining inside the castle with great views and great food. Only thing that spoil it a bit is that there where other activities in the castle ( outdoor cinema) and it was a bit noisy and crowded. Otherwise lovely

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb place to dine with great view over Ljubljana”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Perfect from start to the very end. Superb service. Amazing atmosphere inspired by excellent food. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cigi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restavracija Strelec also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Restavracija Strelec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing