We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very design oriented hotel + great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vander Urbani Resort
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

a quick advise: the hotel is very well located, I guess the best location to enjoy the city,
but if you are driving a car you definitely need to check before the parking facilities nearby since you cannot reach the hotel with your car.
calling the hotel they can arrange for you a lift with a buggy

Room Tip: the suite is simple amazing
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank serenyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana P, General Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Serenyab

We would like to thank you for your time to share your thoughts about Vander Urbani Resort. Ljubljana is becoming more and more eco oriented, which is the reason the large part of the old town is a pedestrian zone. It can be an advantage to our guest to walk around the hotel in a safe and calm area.
Please have in mind for next time, that we have a special arrangement with a garage very close to the hotel. The special rate is 20€ per day. And a buggy car can pick you up there as well and drive you directly in front of the hotel, which is free of charge from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
You are kindly invited to come back and enjoy our fantastic River Front suite again!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Vander Urbani Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 332 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Beautiful hotel, great staff.
I stayed in the hotel three times this past month, in three different rooms.
All rooms were beautiful.
The staff at every time was very helpful and pleasant.
On my last stay I checked out very early in the morning, before breakfast time, and to my surprise I was offered a breakfast box to go,which was perfect.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms may be a bit more costly, but it is worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gilad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

In no special order: The large, beautiful room with the view of the river and the pedestrian promenade; the fantastic shower with the huge heads that let the water cascade over you; the breakfast service with quality and presentation all wrapped up into a great day-starting experience. The infinity pool is small, but offers a quiet place for relaxation. The location couldn't be better and the most difficult choice of being there is which of the many restaurants in the area to choose from. One of the best value for cost hotels we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alpinista44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, General Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Loring

Thank you so much for taking your time and write such a nice review on us. We could not have described all these unique parts of Vander ourselves 
We are truly happy to see that you have noticed all this but above all that your experience here was a wonderful experience. we hope this will give you motivation to
Come back to Ljubljana and of course we would very much appreciate to have you here again.

Kindest regards,
The Vander team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Loved the roof Terrace with a pool, modern design. Beautiful views over the City Centre + Ljubljanica River. Great night atmosphere, nice stuff, good Wine. Good central location, taxi droped us on Krekov trg, which only takes 3-5 minutes of walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank vfp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, General Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

On behalf of our Vander team, we would like to thank you for all the positive remarks you have dedicated to us.
We are glad to have been able to show you all the advantages you get when staying in Vander Urbani resort.
Please kindly know, that you are always welcome to stay with us in the near future.

Hope to see you soon again.
All the best.
The Vander team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We originally picked this hotel because I loved the idea of having a tiny infinity pool on the roof of a hotel in the middle of the city. When we arrived it was raining and then they also told us the tiny pool is under maintenance and therefore closed. I however still think it looked great even though it wouldn't have been fit to actually swim in due to its size. I loved the hotel even with the pool being closed, the rooms very smaller than tiny but they were very modern, stylish and clean. The Molton Brown bath products wee also a nice touch. The breakfast wasn't huge and they were running out of stuff quite early, but everything they had was delicious. The staff was very helpful throughout the stay. The location is very nice as it is right next to the river and in the city centre so very close to all the shopping and restaurants and within walking distance from the Ljubljana castle. The only downside is that there is no way of getting very close to the hotel by car. We parked our car in the garage recommended by the hotel and decided to walk from there. We didn't think that the distance sounded so bad, but there are stairs and then there was some road work so that we had to take a detour to reach the hotel. I recommend you taking them up on the offer to come and help you with the luggage, then you only have to do one set of stairs and then they will drive you to the hotel with a little cart. We learned that the hard way and were more than happy to use this service after checking out. The hotel has a deal with the parking garage so you get it for a bit cheaper (for 15€) than you'd get it otherwise.

I highly recommend this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay in Ljubljana and the Vander Urbani Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Linda

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. One of the main priorities of Vander is its location, such as we couldn’t be more in the centre but unfortunately also true that it is a pedestrian zone not available to reach it with a car directly.
However guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! And with help such as yours we are motivated to improve ourselves even more.
We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay!
We really hope you will come back to visit us and next time enjoy our lovely terrace and the pool of course.

With kindest regards,
The Vander team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at Vander Urbani over the Christmas period in 2013, and I neglected to post this review sooner.

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Ljubljana, which makes it very convenient for walking to the open-air market, shops, town square, and cafés and restaurants. It's situated in a pedestrian zone, so the nearest that a taxi or car can get to the hotel is a few blocks away. This is only a minor inconvenience and should not affect a decision to choose this wonderful boutique hotel.

The rooms are efficient, modern, and clean--everything one could ask for in a boutique property but it's not a full-service hotel, so if you're looking for a huge fitness center, business services, etc., that's not what the Vander Urbani is all about.

What sets this hotel apart is the amazing staff. For English-speaking travellers, the language proficiency is excellent (as I found it to be throughout Ljubljana). Furthermore, they all seem to want to go above and beyond to take care of their guests. I found myself there on Christmas Eve and despite the best efforts of the concierge, we could not find a restaurant that would be open for dinner that evening.

No worries--the staff decided to keep the restaurant open well beyond what was planned, so that they could serve dinner to me and a couple of other guests in the same situation. I am still amazed that several of the kitchen and waitstaff stayed at work for this--when they should have been at home with their families--just to make sure that we had a nice meal on Christmas Eve. What a truly remarkable gift!

I'm planning another visit to Ljubljana this summer and I've already booked my room at the Vander Urbani. While I can't promise that the staff will go so far out of their way for every guest, anything--truly--is possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We truly appreciate your kind words about our comfy and modern rooms and especially our lovely staff. We work really hard to serve the best food in a great environment and also we are trying our best to make our guest feel like home. We are more than glad to see those efforts pay off on your last visit. We will make sure that the staff gets the right recognition they deserve.
We are very happy that you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
With kindest regards,

The Vander team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

It's the fourth time we go to the vander. The atmosphere is there really design and cosy. The rooms are very comfortable and modern. Having a lunch outside is a real pleasure. It's very well situated. We'll come back certainly very soon. I feel there like home.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gregorydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Allow us to thank you sincerely on your wonderful remarks. Since we are a small boutique hotel our main goal is to let our guest experience the local energy at its full charm and feel like home. So, in your case we are proud to have achieved and shared this experience with you.
We truly are looking forward to continue to share these moments with you in the near future.

On behalf of Vander family, we give you our best regards.
Vander team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#21 of 31 in Ljubljana
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vander Urbani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vander Urbani Resort

Address: Krojaska ulica 6-8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range: $140 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vander Urbani Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first member of Design Hotels in Slovenia.Vander lies on the river bank of the River Ljubljanica in the lively centre of the old town. Vander's heart beats with the Old part of Ljubljana, where old and new co-exist in a passionate embrace. Everyone can find a place at Vander. Whoever comes to Vander, will leave with the feeling as a local - "Ljubljancan". The external and internal renovation was designed by SADAR + VUGA architects. 16 exeptionally designed rooms are available. All bathrooms offer Molton Brown cosmetics. We offer a perfect sleep with Frette bedding, Moroso armchairs, Diesel and Floss lightening. A roof top terrace with an infinity pool deck is offering a special sensation. All kind of events can be organized on a terrace. The hotel has also wine cellar, restaurant and wine bar. The most exquisite ingredients from Slovenia are used by the Benjamina Launay, our Chef de Cuisine and his endless inspiration. Ecological awareness is not just a fashion statement for us. It's a way of life and business. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Vander Urbani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing